Old 07-17-2008, 01:24 AM   #46 (permalink)
XTREME DOGGY

Originally Posted by Bake n Shark View Post
it's not. Falk just exaggerating.

The player is free to negotiate his own deal even if he is represented by an agent. The agent works at the player's will. If the club was to approach the player behind the agent's back then yes, it would be a violation. From what Dunleavey has said, Brand approached him prior to the signing of BD and told them to sign BD and that he (Brand) would give back some money to make it happen and for them to pursue other free agents. Different situation altogether.

Dunleavey gave enough details and specifics and said he had texts from Brand etc. in support of his claims... haven't read them personally, but all I'm hearing from Camp Brand is vague nothings about 'feeling wanted' and lawyer language and what not. I think Falk was pissed at the club for having the temerity to try to circumvent him and he let his personal feelings get in the way of a good situation for Brand. I'm not optimistics about the Sixers, and the organization is somewhat adrift right now.
But still....if they were out for the dough, why'd the take the lowest offer?
Old 07-17-2008, 02:28 AM   #47 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Mystic Xtremist View Post
But still....if they were out for the dough, why'd the take the lowest offer?
Earlier I said it was for more money... but that was before I heard Dunleavy (whole night I back and forth on how tuh spell dis man name, brain cramp) side.

Dunleavy again, said EB approached him and told him sign BD "I will accept 75mil if that is what it takes to get it done." Dunleavy went to Sterling to make it happen... then *boom* they lost communication with Brand fuh like two days... not coaching staff, not friend, not players could contact him. Falk it turns out had got wind of the 'negotiations' behind his back and put EB on a plane. Within two days he was signed to Philly.

Falk is a very calculating, very ruthless, very vengeful man...I've heard rumors for years...as you know A.I. is the only ex-Hoya not represented (at least at some point) by him. He even have Jeff Green... and Hibbert (whose grandmother was Trini btw...lol) if I'm not mistaken as well.

anyways Falk was miffed like I said that they had the nerve (b/c he obviously wanted more for Brand) to try and cut him out, so he did it to teach them a lesson. This, if you believe (as I do) what the NBA "insiders" are saying. Knowing the little I know of the man, it just all sounds plausible...especially when you consider the opposite side of the coin... Dunleavy.

I think EB really facked up though... the Clippers to me are a better situation than the Sixers...but that could just be my own bias showing.