Old 08-13-2009, 09:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
steups...

Credits: 16,332
Michael Vick signs with Eagles

Breaking news!!!! McNabb must be vex!!!
Old 08-13-2009, 10:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Blah!

Credits: 2,388
I feel like they will use him like Pitt used Kordell Stewart -- in a slash type of role -- once he gets reinstated.
Old 08-13-2009, 10:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
steups...

Originally Posted by shortsweetness View Post
I feel like they will use him like Pitt used Kordell Stewart -- in a slash type of role -- once he gets reinstated.
If I was McNabb, I would force a trade. He was never appreciated there. I think McNabb should go to the Vikings. I also feel Vick will be back sooner that we think.
Old 08-13-2009, 10:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Blah!

Vick wasnt that great a QB before he got locked up, flashy as hell but not the best or close to the best. He wont be that great once he gets back.
Old 08-13-2009, 10:35 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 2,993
They should have put him on a team without an Animal Mascot like the 49ers...LOL
Old 08-13-2009, 10:43 PM   #6 (permalink)
Azuuucar!

Credits: 57,266
Originally Posted by mixitup View Post
They should have put him on a team without an Animal Mascot like the 49ers...LOL

-Meh Granny say so.
Old 08-13-2009, 11:08 PM   #7 (permalink)
steups...

Vick wasnt that great a QB before he got locked up, flashy as hell but not the best or close to the best. He wont be that great once he gets back.
Well, the thing about Vick is that he is a "system" QB. If any QB he is similar to, it's McNabb. They are somewhat interchangeable. I agree that he wasn't that great, but he's good enough (especially with the Eagles). There were points last year that McNabb's accuracy put him in the dog house. I don't think that Vick will address that, but apparently the Eagles see something.
Old 08-13-2009, 11:37 PM   #8 (permalink)
Blah!

Originally Posted by Yankee Doodle View Post
Well, the thing about Vick is that he is a "system" QB. If any QB he is similar to, it's McNabb. They are somewhat interchangeable. I agree that he wasn't that great, but he's good enough (especially with the Eagles). There were points last year that McNabb's accuracy put him in the dog house. I don't think that Vick will address that, but apparently the Eagles see something.
Ehhh, I think Vick was similar to McNabb in McNabb's early days. Once McNabb got older he couldnt move like he used to. That;s when he became a better QB in my mind. In my mind, you do not become a great QB until you show accuracy and Vick has not shown a hint at accuracy. Until I see that, I will not he is good enough to lead any team to some type of championship (which McNabb is, even though he is not the most accurate QB, he is way better than Vick).
Old 08-13-2009, 11:49 PM   #9 (permalink)
steups...

Ehhh, I think Vick was similar to McNabb in McNabb's early days. Once McNabb got older he couldnt move like he used to. That;s when he became a better QB in my mind. In my mind, you do not become a great QB until you show accuracy and Vick has not shown a hint at accuracy. Until I see that, I will not he is good enough to lead any team to some type of championship (which McNabb is, even though he is not the most accurate QB, he is way better than Vick).
I agree. McNabb has gotten better as he has gotten less mobile. He's gotten a bad wrap but it's mostly the O-line that has issues. So many times where they couldn't gain inches. Nonetheless, we will see how this all pans out.
Old 08-14-2009, 12:35 AM   #10 (permalink)
steups...

So here's what PETA has to say....

PETA and millions of decent football fans around the world are disappointed that the Philadelphia Eagles have chosen to sign a man who hanged dogs from trees, electrocuted them with jumper cables, held them underwater until they drowned in his swimming pool, and even threw his own family dogs into the fighting pit to be torn to shreds while he laughed. What sort of message does this send to young fans who care about animals and don't want to see them be harmed? PETA certainly hopes that Vick has learned his lesson and feels truly remorseful for his crimes--but since he's given no public indication that that's the case, only time will tell. At this point, all Eagles fans can do is cross their fingers and hope that they won't ever have to explain to their sons and daughters what a "rape rack" is and why their favorite player was using one, as Falcons fans once had to.
Oh the drama. I don't think that PETA even watches football. Give me a break.
Old 08-14-2009, 12:50 AM   #11 (permalink)
Flopic Saver

Credits: 147,870

Well at least they have no planned protests.
Old 08-14-2009, 10:14 AM   #12 (permalink)

Credits: 41,532
Originally Posted by mixitup View Post
Oh shit!
Breaking news!!!! McNabb must be vex!!!
Same thing I thought

Like people from PETA watch any kind of sports? *steups* I'm surprised they didn't protest the names of some of these NFL teams. Names like "Colts", "Eagles" and "Dolphins" must send some of them PETA freaks into a slight heart attack.

Old 08-14-2009, 11:00 AM   #13 (permalink)
Will work for rum

Credits: 57,250
OK let's calm down... McNabb is the starting QB for this season. End of story. Vick is not ready to play QB for a few reasons, few yrs out the game not throwing to pros, McNabb's new contract wasn't signed in vain, depth chart is set, and Reid it's McNabb either way. He talked about wildcat formations and "thinking of something"

I personally say to make Vick an all purpose rusher to get his wheels spinning, while practicing with the QB squad. This way when McNabb goes down as usual, OR Reid feels he's underperforming again, you'll feel much more comfortable bringing in Vick to restablish himself as a QB. After the 2 yrs. now you can see clearler which direction to go.

Either way, I'm glad he's back, glad football is back, and can't wait for the Giants to stop him in his tracks!
Old 08-14-2009, 11:19 AM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 160,124
I glad fuh him.

He did his time now get back to work.

Old 08-14-2009, 11:29 AM   #15 (permalink)
steups...

Originally Posted by Mr. Bean View Post
OK let's calm down... McNabb is the starting QB for this season. End of story. Vick is not ready to play QB for a few reasons, few yrs out the game not throwing to pros, McNabb's new contract wasn't signed in vain, depth chart is set, and Reid it's McNabb either way. He talked about wildcat formations and "thinking of something"

I personally say to make Vick an all purpose rusher to get his wheels spinning, while practicing with the QB squad. This way when McNabb goes down as usual, OR Reid feels he's underperforming again, you'll feel much more comfortable bringing in Vick to restablish himself as a QB. After the 2 yrs. now you can see clearler which direction to go.

Either way, I'm glad he's back, glad football is back, and can't wait for the Giants to stop him in his tracks!
I kinda agree. With Cobb going down, Vick is good insurance. But what if Reid pulls him again like last season. All I'm saying is that McNabb has been the good guy for long enough. Fairweather fans, not enough weapons (until now), no O-line. Even yesterday when they played the Pats, there were more Pats in the Eagles backfield than anything else. He has the stats, but if he wants to shore up getting into HOF, he needs a Super Bowl. And the way things look, I don't think he will get it there. And remember, it's only a 2 year contract for McNabb as well, so I don't think he will be ending his career as an Eagle unless he gets hurt to the point where he can't play anymore.

And Vick running wildcat is ridiculous. I'm sick of hearing about it. That one gimmick play everyone is gonna shut down this year. Just like the Ravens did to the Dolphins in the playoffs last year. A fast defense will always trump the wildcat (or whatever they are calling it this week).