View Poll Results: What to do about the defense?
Replace with individual defenders 4 44.44%
Keep it the way it is 5 55.56%
Do away with defensive options 0 0%
Voters: 9. You may not vote on this poll

Old 09-19-2008, 12:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Flikkin Killa!

IMFF Future Proposal

So I've pondered it quite a bit and I'm curious to hear your thoughts.

I would like to do away with the team defenses and instead we pick individual defenders.

Maybe 1 safety 2 CBs and 2 DPs (DP=defensive player utility covering any defensive position) . I think this way we wont have to depend on having to absolutely have a team def to compete and as well allow us to have more reasonable scoring options.

What do you think?

If this is an acceptable change I would also want to expand the IR to 3 players and the bench to 7. I kinda feel we need it right now but that's a whole next episode.

Last edited by Optimus Prime HD; 09-19-2008 at 12:13 PM.
Old 09-19-2008, 12:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Jamaican Su'Flan

Keep it the way it is , Some ppl drafted they defense with a high pick. I had to take a loss last year because I didn't have a D/ST to play during the bye week some ppl have to feel it this year. Fair is fair! I did miss the playoffs by one game
Old 09-19-2008, 01:26 PM   #3 (permalink)

I kinda like the team defense thing as is now... not opposed to the changes per se, but dunno that I'd change anything.
Old 09-19-2008, 05:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
steups...

I'm not here nor there with changing it. But if we do change it, it has to be next season. People will drop defenses after their bye week has passed and if someone only has one defense, it is only one loss. If someone's team missed the playoffs by one game because their defense had a bye, then I could see changing it.
Old 09-19-2008, 05:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Flikkin Killa!

Originally Posted by Yankee Doodle View Post
I'm not here nor there with changing it. But if we do change it, it has to be next season. People will drop defenses after their bye week has passed and if someone only has one defense, it is only one loss. If someone's team missed the playoffs by one game because their defense had a bye, then I could see changing it.
It's a proposal for next season. I would never suggest something so drastic mid season since most have drafted or set up their teams based on the current standard. I only suggest it because the defense is the only position in our league that gives so many points that it is imposible to play without one. Initially I loaded the points for defenses for exactly that reason, but I do see people seemingly puzzled and unhappy with what their defense scores especially when the defenses yeild only a few points. It doesn't bother me either way, but I do like to offer managers the opportunity to effect change if it can improve our league and competition.
Old 09-19-2008, 06:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
Destra's Harmony

I'm for it, just for what JahPikne touched on....because they account for so much points, when your defense is on a bye, it's basically an automatic loss if you can't get a 2nd defense.

Doesn't really matter if we go all individual or keep the team defense though, either way, I'm happy.
Old 09-19-2008, 07:52 PM   #7 (permalink)
steups...

Originally Posted by Shawn E. Glass View Post
It's a proposal for next season. I would never suggest something so drastic mid season since most have drafted or set up their teams based on the current standard. I only suggest it because the defense is the only position in our league that gives so many points that it is imposible to play without one. Initially I loaded the points for defenses for exactly that reason, but I do see people seemingly puzzled and unhappy with what their defense scores especially when the defenses yeild only a few points. It doesn't bother me either way, but I do like to offer managers the opportunity to effect change if it can improve our league and competition.
I hear you. But defense is more than just points allowed. I like the scoring system because it does take advantage of other stats. Maybe changes in the points allowed scoring will help.
Old 09-19-2008, 08:13 PM   #8 (permalink)
OnE eYe MoNsTeR InC.

I hear you. But defense is more than just points allowed. I like the scoring system because it does take advantage of other stats. Maybe changes in the points allowed scoring will help.
i hear what u sayin but like they said b4 there will be ppl out there who wont get 2 def's becuz of the depth of the league so i feel that what the commish proposed is cool juss for that fact alone.
Old 09-20-2008, 02:28 PM   #9 (permalink)
steups...

Originally Posted by DJ Ringo View Post
i hear what u sayin but like they said b4 there will be ppl out there who wont get 2 def's becuz of the depth of the league so i feel that what the commish proposed is cool juss for that fact alone.
Right. But for example, after my best defense's bye week is done, I drop the weaker one. So it will be available to someone else. But that's just me.

Either way is fine with me, regardless.
Old 09-20-2008, 07:16 PM   #10 (permalink)
OnE eYe MoNsTeR InC.

Right. But for example, after my best defense's bye week is done, I drop the weaker one. So it will be available to someone else. But that's just me.

Either way is fine with me, regardless.
u right but y have to go tru the stress of worryin if someone while drop ah D especially in this league

me personally im for the proposal but we will see what happens
i'll work with it either way
Old 09-22-2008, 02:46 PM   #11 (permalink)
The Black Knight

keep it the way it is