Old 10-01-2008, 03:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
The Captain!!!!!!!

Firing for Cause!!!!

WTF is that!!! The Raiders won't ever be relevant as long as AL Davis is so frigging meddling.

Lane Kiffin i hope you get another job and just give them a serious Cutass.
Old 10-01-2008, 03:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
steups...

Originally Posted by boy wonder View Post
WTF is that!!! The Raiders won't ever be relevant as long as AL Davis is so frigging meddling.

Lane Kiffin i hope you get another job and just give them a serious Cutass.
That franchise will never get back to it's days of dominance. Al Davis can't have his cake and eat it too. His issue is that he's stuck in the 70s. He doesn't understand that football has changed and the coaches have to be given time to do things. I wish John Madden would buy the franchise and turn it around.
Old 10-01-2008, 03:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
Closet Exhibitionist

Originally Posted by Yankee Doodle View Post
That franchise will never get back to it's days of dominance. Al Davis can't have his cake and eat it too. His issue is that he's stuck in the 70s. He doesn't understand that football has changed and the coaches have to be given time to do things. I wish John Madden would buy the franchise and turn it around.
I was listening to his interview yesterday..that mofo sound crazzyy..telling the man business like that...
Old 10-01-2008, 04:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
steups...

Originally Posted by Dancer View Post
I was listening to his interview yesterday..that mofo sound crazzyy..telling the man business like that...
I felt for years that man has Alzheimer's. But, I will give Jack he jacket. That is the first time in a long time he's sounded so strong and passionate about something. Al Davis not to be messed with... From Adam Shefter's blog...

In one of the most stunning news conferences in NFL history, Kiffin had to realize he brought a slingshot to a gunfight. Davis brought down everyone but Pete Rozelle in much the way the Raiders have been brought down in recent seasons.

Davis pontificated that:

* Buccaneers defensive coordinator Monte Kiffin wanted to leave Tampa Bay for Oakland.

* USC head coach Pete Carroll and the senior Kiffin failed to save Lane from himself.

* Packers general manager Ted Thompson didn’t think wide receiver Randy Moss could run anymore.

* The Patriots tampered with Moss, a former Raider.

* Former Raiders executive Michael Lombardi undermined former Raiders coach Art Shell.

* Broncos coach Mike Shanahan should have asterisks next to his two Super Bowl titles for Denver’s salary cap violations leading up to its back-to-back world championships.

* Reporter Chris Mortensen is a professional liar, which is worse than a rumor mongerer.
Still doesn't explain why he fired Art Shell in the first place (yes, that is a sore point with me).
Old 10-01-2008, 04:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
The Captain!!!!!!!

I felt for years that man has Alzheimer's. But, I will give Jack he jacket. That is the first time in a long time he's sounded so strong and passionate about something. Al Davis not to be messed with... From Adam Shefter's blog...

Still doesn't explain why he fired Art Shell in the first place (yes, that is a sore point with me).
It also had to do with Rob Ryan Al Davis' boy who Lane wanted to get rid of when he reached Oakland.
Old 10-01-2008, 04:10 PM   #6 (permalink)

I was watching that live on ESPN yesterday... then caught the tail end of Kiffin's interview a couple hours later.

Just bizarre... Al Davis lives in his own special world.
Old 10-01-2008, 04:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
steups...

Originally Posted by Bake n Shark View Post
I was watching that live on ESPN yesterday... then caught the tail end of Kiffin's interview a couple hours later.

Just bizarre... Al Davis lives in his own special world.
Yeah, he's bizarre. But in this case, he documented everything that Kiffin did and said wrong. The one thing about Al Davis, he doesn't do something without having his data to back him up.
Old 10-01-2008, 04:29 PM   #8 (permalink)
steups...

It also had to do with Rob Ryan Al Davis' boy who Lane wanted to get rid of when he reached Oakland.
Yeah. Rob Ryan been there forever. But it sounding like he (Kiffin) was setting up certain players to fail because he didn't like them.
Old 10-01-2008, 04:35 PM   #9 (permalink)
The Captain!!!!!!!

Yeah, he's bizarre. But in this case, he documented everything that Kiffin did and said wrong. The one thing about Al Davis, he doesn't do something without having his data to back him up.
That nice and everything, but we all know who has the final say in everything on the Raiders. Lane is young and he made the Raiders respectable but to question his coaching schemes is a bit ridiculous. The way Al going like he want to put on the headset and do the play calling.
Old 10-01-2008, 04:38 PM   #10 (permalink)
The Captain!!!!!!!

Yeah. Rob Ryan been there forever. But it sounding like he (Kiffin) was setting up certain players to fail because he didn't like them.
Like who?? I think Al wanted someone in pocket and he didnt get that with Kiffin. Thats why Gruden bolted.
Old 10-01-2008, 04:47 PM   #11 (permalink)
steups...

Like who?? I think Al wanted someone in pocket and he didnt get that with Kiffin. Thats why Gruden bolted.
Well, it is well know amongst Raiders fans that Kiffin did not want to draft Jamarcus Russel.
Old 10-01-2008, 05:02 PM   #12 (permalink)
The Captain!!!!!!!

Well, it is well know amongst Raiders fans that Kiffin did not want to draft Jamarcus Russel.
But Russel has been ok to this point by only throwing 1 int. He just gotta control hisfumbling but Lane tried to make it work.
I hope Lane get every cent in his contract.
Old 10-01-2008, 05:06 PM   #13 (permalink)

Really? What data did he have for firing Art Shell...twice?

What data did he have for firing Shanahan?

What data did he have for blackballing Marcus Allen thru most of the latter part of the 80s into the 90s?

I take everything that man say with a rock-sized grain of salt.
Old 10-01-2008, 05:26 PM   #14 (permalink)
steups...

Originally Posted by Bake n Shark View Post
Really? What data did he have for firing Art Shell...twice?

The first time was because of the Marcus Allen situation. The second time he had no "reason" but he wanted Lane Kiffin there because he felt Kiffin was the "right person"

What data did he have for firing Shanahan?

Shanahan was a young coach with veteran assistants and a poor record (Notice the trend).

What data did he have for blackballing Marcus Allen thru most of the latter part of the 80s into the 90s?

Marcus Allen held out until the last minute for a few years in a row after he won MVP. Allen didn't agree with what he was getting paid (this was before free agency). He consistently held out and Davis told Shell to bench him (which in turn was the beginning of the end of Shell's first reign). Two stubborn egos. Allen and Davis got along real well at first. But the contract issue hurt them both ultimately. Besides, they had Bo Jackson during the time so they didn't HAVE to pay him top dollar.

I take everything that man say with a rock-sized grain of salt.
I agree that Davis isn't the easiest person to work for and definitely his time has passed. But until someone comes with enough money to buy that team, years like this will continue for the Silver and Black.
Old 10-01-2008, 05:29 PM   #15 (permalink)
steups...

But Russel has been ok to this point by only throwing 1 int. He just gotta control hisfumbling but Lane tried to make it work.
I hope Lane get every cent in his contract.
Russel will get better. Especially with the right coaches. I hope he does. I think he has a cannon and if they will actually allow him to throw and make some mistakes that he will be a great QB.

As far as Kiffin, I'm neither here nor there. He reminds me of Spurrier. Always a college coach, never a pro one.