Old 06-10-2008, 07:47 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 9,881
Donaghy said the Sacramento/LA 2002 Series was fixed.

Obvious. NBA fans have known this for years. Soon he'll mention the Dwayne Wade 20 free throw quarters in the 2006 Finals. Rogue-referee my ass.

Report: Donaghy claims NBA pushed refs to fix game, let stars slide
June 10, 2008
CBSSports.com staff and wire reports

Share this page.

NEW YORK -- Former referee Tim Donaghy had a few interesting things to say to the feds, the Daily News reported on its website Tuesday.
Advertisement

According to the Daily News, Donaghy told the feds two referees fixed the outcome of one NBA playoff series in 2002. Donaghy also claimed that officials were told not to eject star players in fear of hurting ticket sales.

The allegations came from a court document filed Tuesday by Donaghy's lawyer, the Daily News reported.

Donaghy, who pleaded guilty in August 2007 to charges of betting on games he officiated, claimed that he was told two officials were "company men" acting in the interest of the league to extend a 2002 playoff series to a seventh game.

Donaghy also said the league reprimanded a referee in 2000 for ejecting an unnamed star player in the first quarter of a game.

The Associated Press reported that Donaghy says his fellow refs broke league rules by routinely fraternizing with players, coaches and team management.

The letter filed on Tuesday in Brooklyn by a lawyer for Donaghy in his federal gambling case alleges the inappropriate relationships influenced the outcomes of games. He claims one general manager in 2004 made a gameday phone call to referees to encourage them to call more personal fouls against an opponent.

The letter doesn't name anyone involved. Donaghy's attorney and prosecutors have declined to comment. The league has denied the scandal goes beyond Donaghy and two co-defendants.

The veteran referee pleaded guilty last year to felony charges alleging he took cash payoffs from gamblers and bet on games. He faces up to 33 months in prison.
1 series in 2002 was extended to a 7th game, you know which one it was.

NBA.com: PLAYOFFS 2002
Old 06-11-2008, 12:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Freedom

Credits: 46,588
i read about that today....those motherfackers! i remember watching that game and i literally cried when sacramento lost(that was my team back in the day)That was so wrong of those officials....
Old 06-11-2008, 02:08 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 698
This series hurt me more than any I could remember in recent years b/c the Kings were playing such beautiful basketball compared to everyone else...Lakers included, who only used to have Shaq bull his way over everyone else.

I particularly remember the elbow Kobe hit Bibby with...and nothing was called. Absolutely disgusting.

And now David ################ing Stern want to just dismiss it as ole talk and grandstanding...everybody knew the officiating in that series was ################ing horrible. Everybody.
Old 06-11-2008, 02:15 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 9,881
Originally Posted by Bake n Shark View Post
This series hurt me more than any I could remember in recent years b/c the Kings were playing such beautiful basketball compared to everyone else...Lakers included, who only used to have Shaq bull his way over everyone else.

I particularly remember the elbow Kobe hit Bibby with...and nothing was called. Absolutely disgusting.

And now David ################ing Stern want to just dismiss it as ole talk and grandstanding...everybody knew the officiating in that series was ################ing horrible. Everybody.
That's where you are wrong, a foul on Bibby was called.

http://i27.tinypic.com/2chuq9e.jpg
Old 06-12-2008, 12:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
GWEH

Credits: 2,830
Donaghy is nothing but a desperate criminal trying to get a lighter sentence or some sort of publicity out of his demise.

1. If the NBA is fixing games then they are doing a poor job. A majority of the teams in the finals are small market teams and the ratings of the NBA finals over the last ten years shows it.

2. Donaghy said that he HEARD that two of the referees that he knows as "company men" were asked by the NBA to make sure there is a game seven. So basically a criminal making baseless allegations... so lets believe him...

That the officiating was poor in that game and in many others is the real problem.
Old 06-12-2008, 12:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Flopic Saver

Credits: 147,840
^^
Well if that is the case or not of his intent, he surely used some good examples. Cause everyone talked about that game/series as being weird b4 he said anything..up to politicians. When Van Gundy said what he said about Yao being targeted, I believed him right away...now it is being backed up by this guy. I doh know..but I kind of believe him.
Old 06-12-2008, 12:54 PM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 15,000
Why Vlade couldnt just grab that f.uckin rebound instead of tipping it?
Old 06-12-2008, 01:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
Flopic Saver

Originally Posted by boy wonder View Post
Why Vlade couldnt just grab that f.uckin rebound instead of tipping it?
Word right!! He basically passed it.
Old 06-12-2008, 01:39 PM   #9 (permalink)
GWEH

Originally Posted by T-MAKAA View Post
^^
Well if that is the case or not of his intent, he surely used some good examples. Cause everyone talked about that game/series as being weird b4 he said anything..up to politicians. When Van Gundy said what he said about Yao being targeted, I believed him right away...now it is being backed up by this guy. I doh know..but I kind of believe him.
Well yeah... that was one of the worst officiated games ever. No question. But intentional conspiracy to make the Lakers win or send it to seven games? Nah...

As for the Yao thing... well the NBA DID target Yao and they admitted to it. Marc Cuban complained about Yao's moving screens through legitimate channels. The NBA made sure the official new about the illegal moving screens and asked that they clamp down on it. The question now is did Van Gundy and the Rockets organization know that the NBA was going to clamp down on it? Did they warn them? That would be the question...
Old 06-12-2008, 02:13 PM   #10 (permalink)

Originally Posted by RotiKing2004eva View Post
That's where you are wrong, a foul on Bibby was called.

http://i27.tinypic.com/2chuq9e.jpg
Oh yeah... I forgot about that, he fouled Kobe's forearm with his nose.

Originally Posted by Fiyah View Post
Donaghy is nothing but a desperate criminal trying to get a lighter sentence or some sort of publicity out of his demise.

1. If the NBA is fixing games then they are doing a poor job. A majority of the teams in the finals are small market teams and the ratings of the NBA finals over the last ten years shows it.

2. Donaghy said that he HEARD that two of the referees that he knows as "company men" were asked by the NBA to make sure there is a game seven. So basically a criminal making baseless allegations... so lets believe him...

That the officiating was poor in that game and in many others is the real problem.
Stop repeating the same bullshit you hear Stern saying. How is this allegation supposed to help him get an easier sentence??
Old 06-12-2008, 02:47 PM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 18,085
it could be true but i ain buying it. its just speculation to spark conspiracies
Old 06-12-2008, 02:51 PM   #12 (permalink)
Flopic Saver

Originally Posted by Fiyah View Post
Well yeah... that was one of the worst officiated games ever. No question. But intentional conspiracy to make the Lakers win or send it to seven games? Nah...

As for the Yao thing... well the NBA DID target Yao and they admitted to it. Marc Cuban complained about Yao's moving screens through legitimate channels. The NBA made sure the official new about the illegal moving screens and asked that they clamp down on it. The question now is did Van Gundy and the Rockets organization know that the NBA was going to clamp down on it? Did they warn them? That would be the question...
Why Did Van Gundy get fined 100,000 at the time if the league admitted this?
Old 06-12-2008, 02:55 PM   #13 (permalink)

Originally Posted by T-MAKAA View Post
Why Did Van Gundy get fined 100,000 at the time if the league admitted this?
To hear him tell it it was because of the way in which he went about it...going to the press.
Old 06-12-2008, 03:22 PM   #14 (permalink)
Flopic Saver

To hear him tell it it was because of the way in which he went about it...going to the press.
Hmm aight. I thought at the time they wanted him to give up the source that he had that told him this information. So to me they weren't necessarily agreeing to his accusations. Either way..
Old 06-12-2008, 07:09 PM   #15 (permalink)
GWEH

Oh yeah... I forgot about that, he fouled Kobe's forearm with his nose.

Stop repeating the same bullshit you hear Stern saying. How is this allegation supposed to help him get an easier sentence??
Because if he can prove that he was just ONE currupt cog in a system of curruption they will go for the bigger heads.

Lemme ask you this... how is putting the Spurs and Cleveland and New Jersey and leaving the Knicks and Celtics out of any meaningful playoff games in the last ten years helping the NBA? If they are fixing games they are doing the worst job possible.