#1 (permalink) | |
Destra's Harmony
Daunte Culpepper Retires From The NFL.
ESPN article: ESPN - Culpepper, unable to catch on as free agent, retires at age 31 - NFL Thought he was going to be the biggest thing in the QB position when he first came out. Could throw the ball, could run the ball, and was build like a linebacker! Was excited when we signed him in Miami, but unfortunately my excitement was short lived. Sucks his career was cut so short though UCF alum too ![]() Last edited by Ackee; 09-04-2008 at 06:12 PM. |
That said... I find it hard to believe that there's no room in Chicago for him. They must really like what they see in Orton, Grossman and Chris Leak (maybe Moses Moreno still there too?). |
steups...
Flikkin Killa!
But din de man say he was willin to be Aaron Rogers backup? Maybe allyuh seein something in this article that I miss, but it sounds like he simply wanted to feel like he had an opportunity to be on a team (and possibly compete to start) based on his track record and I can't say I disagree. He has a proven arm and poise as opposed to a lot of these QBs in the game right now. So unless there are legit health issues that isn't being disclosed I agree with his decision. If someone goes down and his phone rings and he want to evaluate it that would be fine but better he save he dignity and walk than have teams stringing him along with the lure of the imminent return call. |
steups...
But there is something weird going on with older players and the NFL. I mean look at the free agents in the past couple of years. Specifically Culpepper, Shaun Alexander (yes he had injuries and is a soft runner but still hasn't really gotten a look), and Dominick Davis (Williams). The win-now phenomenon has really hurt long term longevity in football (if you are not a kicker or your last name is not Favre). These young players really need to take a long look at this. |
Flikkin Killa!
I agree with that. I mean you telling me Alexander can't even get a try out? Yeah he ah lil soft but de man have break away ability and elusive as hell. And DW who was Houston lone bright spot at RB over the years (he wasn't the greatest back ever but still a good one)? I woulda expect Chicago to give a QB like DC a look, even in Washington as a backup (cause I eh sold on JC one bit). |
steups...
I think a lot of coaches don't see that it's the system that really determines how well a player will be. Jason Campbell for example with the Skins. He has the arm, he's mobile, but his brain can't process information fast enough. He would be a good pocket passer. But this "west coast offense" they have will make him look bad. Alexander, when they lost Hutchinson, their O-line went south. Davis/Williams...I don't know what happen to he. Look like he fell off the earth. |
Flikkin Killa!
That aside he's been 'advocating' in the press for the past couple weeks for a job. Add that to his past public comments about both the Vikings and the Dolphins (don't ask me to repeat what he said... can't remember)... it creates an appearance that this is ah fella as soon as things start going south he'll run to the press and start griping. |
steups...
steups...
I agree with everything you said... none moreso that the last part. At the end of the day the NFL is very much an old boys club where ownership and management is concerned. Used to be the case in coaching, but not so much again. Bottomline is you can't go around publicly criticizing your former employers and burning bridges like that... you get tagged with that 'malcontent' label (not saying with absolute certainty that this is what happened with him) and once attached, it's difficult to shake. Acting boldface on top of that can't help but hurt. |