Destra's Harmony
The inaugural season of the CONCACAF Champions League kicks of this coming week.
Our Caribbean representatives are: Joe Public FC (Trinidad & Tobago) Harbour View FC (Jamaica) Puerto Rico Islanders (Puerto Rico) ------------------- First Leg: Tuesday August 26th 2008; Joe Public FC (TRI) v. New England Revolution (USA) (**This match will be LIVE on Fox Soccer Channel at 8pm EST**) Wednesday August 27th 2008; LD Alajuelense (CRC) v. Puerto Rico Islanders (PR) (**This match will be shown on Fox Soccer Channel at 10pm EST**) Thursday August 28th 2008; Harbour View FC (JAM) v. UNAM Pumas (MEX) (**This match will be shown on Fox Soccer Channel at 8pm EST**) ------------------- Second Leg: Tuesday September 2nd 2008; New England Revolution (USA) v. Joe Public FC (TRI) Wednesday September 3rd 2008; Puerto Rico Islanders (PR) v. LD Alajuelense (CRC) Thursday September 4th 2008; UNAM Pumas (MEX) v. Harbour View FC (JAM) (Don't know the TV times of the second leg yet...) ------------------- To set up possible groupings... If Joe Public FC are to advance they join Group C, which consists of: Atlante FC (MEX) CD Olimpia (HON) Montreal Impact (CAN) or Real Esteli (NIC) If Harbour View FC are to advance they join Group B, which consists of: Houston Dynamo (USA) C.D. Luis Angel Firpo (SAL) Deportivo Jalapa (GUA) or San Francisco FC (PAN) If Puerto Rico Islanders are to advance they join Group D, which consists of: Santos Laguna (MEX) CSD Municipal (GUA) Tauro FC (PAN) or Chivas USA (USA) |
Destra's Harmony
Joe Puiblic v New England Revs, live now!!
First 5 mins..Joe Public thus far have been dominating play Last edited by Ackee; 08-26-2008 at 09:10 PM. |
Dey call me Papachunks..
Destra's Harmony
The scoreline doesn't do Joe Public justice....to say JP outplayed The Revs is an understatement.
MOTM had to be Richardson......this man is FAAAAAASTT. He must be on the Soca Warriors starting XI. I was thoroughly impressed with his performance. If Roen Nelson had his finishing boots on, Joe Public could've won 4:0 (The Revs got lucky that Joe Public lost their head and gave up a silly PK) |
not ur friend...
Good game, i really enjoyed watching it. results dont show justice to how JP played.......Richardson from guyana he's not trini as far as i know.........and stop being so nice to your country man, he played good sh!t, him along miss 4 good scoring chance, finishing boots my ass, he play shit and as soon as he got sub and Jamal Gay came on for him he scored....that Dwarika foul in NE box in d first half look like a penalty to me, notice how they didnt show d replay......only part i didnt like in d game was them 2 facking yankee commentators, dem is d reason i does cant watch mls games most times nah, they facking annoying |
Destra's Harmony
)....wicked piece a player still!And being nice to my country man? Hell no....he SUCKED! I said "If Roen Nelson had his finishing boots on, Joe Public could've won 4:0" meaning he couldn't finish...that's not a compliment by any means...saying that a forward can't finish LoL. But yea, I thought that was a penalty as well, I dont think the ref was in position, but I'm pretty sure the linesman had a clear view of it. I also liked how they had that Jamaican lady right near one of the mics ![]() |
not ur friend...
yeah i was laughin with she esp when NE last stopper when down after he went into his keeper, boi get up unno rass, or something so she was yelling lol |
not ur friend...
Ackee hear this.....maybe i looking into this to much or think to much but WHY is puerto rico in this competition as part of the caribbean zone ??? They play there ball in the american USL division, i would understand if they played in a puerto rico pro league, shouldnt they be part of the american teams slot and leave that next caribbean zone spot for another team from either jamiaca or T&T ??
Destra's Harmony
America, Canada, Mexico, Central America, Caribbean. So even though they're part of the USL, they qualify through the CFU. Just like Toronto and Montreal are part of the MLS and USL respectively, they qualify through Canada. San Juan Jabloteh had the chance to be apart of it, but lost out to PRI back in May. As a matter of fact, I'm not even sure how the Puerto Rican Islanders qualify for the CFU Club Championships....and now that Puerto Rico just started their first pro league, I guess we'll have 2 Puerto Rican teams in next years CFU... Will have to ask about that.... : |
Flikkin Killa!
But wid all de talk allyuh talk dey de rell man was Kerry Baptiste. De man send 6 or 7 perfectly accurate low crosses into the box that could have all resulted in goals. He marker down da right flank couldn't stop him nor keep up with him even if his life depend on it. I think he might need some burn on de national team with da speed oui!! I hope the manager find some playing time for him on de squad in the upcoming qualifiers cause if de big team see crosses like dat we go score some goals.
Destra's Harmony
LD Alajuelense (CRC) 1:1 Puerto Rico Islanders (Page Ranking)
GREAT result for the Islanders... Great game as well, with a PK saved to end it! |
Flikkin Killa!
Ah cah lie de guyanese and de yardie (Wolfe) really looked good. I think Dwarika had a tremendous impact on the game as well doh. I eh hear bout he in a decade an was shock to see de man still sweatin an lookin damn good too uoi. I think Baptiste is still my MOTM doh cause despite how good others looked he efficiency and execution was near perfect.

)....wicked piece a player still!
Will have to ask about that....