Old 11-20-2005, 11:20 PM   #16 (permalink)

Credits: 1,271
Originally Posted by VINCYPOWA
Channing Frye was DRAFTED to be the CENTER of the KNICKS and if the KNICKS did not get CURRY he would have been playing that position.

Frye has EXCELLENT LEGNTH and he is an EXCELLENT OFFENSIVE player.

Like MOST young PLAYERS that come into the NBA, it takes time for their BODY to MATURE.

Frye will only get BIGGER and STRONGER, so I could see him playing CENTER if the situation REQUIRES.

I BELIEVE that we're FORGETTING that CENTER was the POSITION he played in COLLEGE. This is why he LOOKS so COMFORTABLE around the BASKET/PAINT in the NBA.

Outside of SHAQ and CURRY, how many NBA teams has a CENTER with that TYPE of BODY?

Moreover, CAMBY is a CENTER and he is HIGHLY PROFICIENT OFFENSIVE and DEFENSIVE, especially DEFENSIVE, around the PAINT.

So yes, FRYE can PLAY CENTER.

He has already PROVEN this in COLLEGE.

Seriously, stick to svg and soca because sports doh seem like yuh thing.

In the east alone outside of Shaq, you have your Haywood, Illgaukas, and even guys like Ben Wallace who are shorter but stronger.

In college it is a lot easier to play center because up until the rule change which goes into effect this season the bigger and more talented centers went straight to the NBA. My college started a center at 6' 5" in 2001-02 and still made the NCAA Tourner in one of the tougher conferences in the country and in 99 they started a 6'7 center and made it to the Elite 8. Sean May played a good number of minutes at the 5 spot last year are you gonna tell me hes gonna be a center in the league at 6'8?

Playing good at a position in good does not translate into NBA sucesss, if that was the case the player of the year every would be the #1 pick.

I am sure everyone in this thread can name a great player in college who did not translate into nba success.

That comment is one of the most absurd statement.
Old 11-21-2005, 09:02 AM   #17 (permalink)

Credits: 90,598
As of late, Frye has been a beast.
Old 11-21-2005, 09:27 AM   #18 (permalink)
Mad Scorpion

Originally Posted by VINCYPOWA
Moreover, CAMBY is a CENTER and he is HIGHLY PROFICIENT OFFENSIVE and DEFENSIVE, especially DEFENSIVE, around the PAINT.
So are you of the belief that Frye can hold his own with the likes of Camby, Garnett, J.O, etc?!
Old 11-21-2005, 10:43 AM   #19 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Star Studded General
So are you of the belief that Frye can hold his own with the likes of Camby, Garnett, J.O, etc?!
Speaking of which...what has that nukka been eatin...he's killin the league right now
Old 11-21-2005, 10:55 AM   #20 (permalink)
Mad Scorpion

Originally Posted by RotiKing2004eva
Speaking of which...what has that nukka been eatin...he's killin the league right now
Camby is finaly playing within a system that utalizes his talent, hustle and athleticism. Had Camby been under George Karl all these years he would be respected and feared in the league. Now teams not only have to account for his defensive abilities but offensively he can be a handful. Remember Camby use to buss nuff people includting the Mighty Tim Duncan ass in UMass. It's not as if he's doing anything that he hasn't shown the potential to do all along.
Old 11-21-2005, 11:09 AM   #21 (permalink)

Camby is finaly playing within a system that utalizes his talent, hustle and athleticism. Had Camby been under George Karl all these years he would be respected and feared in the league. Now teams not only have to account for his defensive abilities but offensively he can be a handful. Remember Camby use to buss nuff people includting the Mighty Tim Duncan ass in UMass. It's not as if he's doing anything that he hasn't shown the potential to do all along.
At Umass, with him and Lou Roe, they killed teams. I remember Camby being skinny but a beast back then. Duncan and him had battles. At that time college BBall was nice. I remember Camby getting dunked on by Iverson though back then...and also Carter two hand dunkin over Duncan as well...
Old 11-21-2005, 11:24 AM   #22 (permalink)
OnE eYe MoNsTeR InC.

Credits: 3,227
Frye Has the potential to be a dangerous 3 man if Isiah can look to get another big man.
Old 11-21-2005, 11:28 AM   #23 (permalink)
Mad Scorpion

Originally Posted by Cook
Frye Has the potential to be a dangerous 3 man if Isiah can look to get another big man.
What 3 can he guard in the NBA?
Old 11-21-2005, 11:38 AM   #24 (permalink)
OnE eYe MoNsTeR InC.

Credits: 3,227
What 3 can he guard in the NBA?

In my opinion I think he can be another tayshaun prince for brown when he was in detroit he has the height he just needs to step up his defense. We all know that's the only way you'll get significant minutes under brown.
Old 11-21-2005, 11:54 AM   #25 (permalink)

Credits: 9,381
Originally Posted by Cook
In my opinion I think he can be another tayshaun prince for brown when he was in detroit he has the height he just needs to step up his defense. We all know that's the only way you'll get significant minutes under brown.
I swear Frye must be the second coming of Jesus himself...de man gone from guarding Shaq to guarding T-Mac and Richard Jefferson.

Frye has displayed neither the quickness, athleticism, ball handling skills, shooting touch or range displayed by Tayshaun Prince (if dat ent the gayest ass name in the history of professional sports...). Prince ent doing nutten different from what he was doing at UK, natural progression. Frye was a college center, and a decent one at that...not even great or dominant, just decent. Maybe he didn't get a chance to shine with talent like Arenas, Stoudamire et al around him, but to say that he's gonna be a great center or a good small forward is a reach. He's gonna be a less athletic, better shooting Antonio McDyess...remember him as a center at Alabama? Righto.
Old 11-21-2005, 01:16 PM   #26 (permalink)

Credits: 4,242
Originally Posted by Jahpikne
Curry is a big man with wiegh that can help to guard agaist Shaq. Frye has been the best Knick pick in years . He should be the start PF with Curry at Center
I agree that Curry should start at center and Frye should soon start at PF. I have been surprised at how well Frye can shoot the ball and he is not soft as many had feared. Channing Frye is also a smart player and will only get better if he stays healthy. As far as trading Curry goes, I would not do that until we get someone better to play center. How often does a great center come along? Not very often. We can count the great centers in the NBA right now on one hand.
Old 11-21-2005, 02:19 PM   #27 (permalink)
Mad Scorpion

Originally Posted by Bake n Shark
I swear Frye must be the second coming of Jesus himself...de man gone from guarding Shaq to guarding T-Mac and Richard Jefferson.

Frye has displayed neither the quickness, athleticism, ball handling skills, shooting touch or range displayed by Tayshaun Prince (if dat ent the gayest ass name in the history of professional sports...). Prince ent doing nutten different from what he was doing at UK, natural progression. Frye was a college center, and a decent one at that...not even great or dominant, just decent. Maybe he didn't get a chance to shine with talent like Arenas, Stoudamire et al around him, but to say that he's gonna be a great center or a good small forward is a reach. He's gonna be a less athletic, better shooting Antonio McDyess...remember him as a center at Alabama? Righto.
Now dat was a fackin beast!!!

Cook u tekin jugs aought?
Old 11-21-2005, 05:26 PM   #28 (permalink)

Credits: 9,381
Now dat was a fackin beast!!!

Cook u tekin jugs aought?
Dice could straight jump out de gym...nice tuh see the finesse aspects of his game come to life following his surgery. I see Frye in the same mold as Kurt Thomas...although not quite the banger that Kurt was, but similar range and rebounding (hopefully).
Old 11-21-2005, 07:32 PM   #29 (permalink)
Registered Member

Credits: 1,177,037
Originally Posted by BajanFyah83
Seriously, stick to svg and soca because sports doh seem like yuh thing.

In the east alone outside of Shaq, you have your Haywood, Illgaukas, and even guys like Ben Wallace who are shorter but stronger.

In college it is a lot easier to play center because up until the rule change which goes into effect this season the bigger and more talented centers went straight to the NBA. My college started a center at 6' 5" in 2001-02 and still made the NCAA Tourner in one of the tougher conferences in the country and in 99 they started a 6'7 center and made it to the Elite 8. Sean May played a good number of minutes at the 5 spot last year are you gonna tell me hes gonna be a center in the league at 6'8?

Playing good at a position in good does not translate into NBA sucesss, if that was the case the player of the year every would be the #1 pick.

I am sure everyone in this thread can name a great player in college who did not translate into nba success.

That comment is one of the most absurd statement.
JED, I have a FANTASTIC RECORD of making ACCURATE ANALYSIS/PREDICTIONS on this SITE.

Obviously you did not COMPREHEND or READ what I said.

Is Marcus Camby 6'8?

Is Frye 6'8??

If they're several INCHES taller, what is the REASON for BRINGING up those names and heights??

Marcus Camry has a LSIGHT FRAME, but he is one of the BEST CENTERS, when HEALTHY, in the GAME.

A person can have a SMALL FRAME and still be VERY STRONG or EFFICIENT in the PAINT.

Remember you hear it here FIRST, Channing Frye will be one of the TOP ROOKIES this year, and he will be CONTENDING for ROOKIE of the YEAR HONORS, and at the end of the year, he will be one of the BETTER YOUNG PLAYERS in the NBA.

You obviously do not RECOGNIZE TALENT when you see it. Frye is a NATURAL around the BASKET. He has the INSIDE touch and his OUTSIDE game is SIMPLY going to get BETTER and BETTER.

He has already DEMONSTRATED that he is a GOOD REBOUNDER and he will only GET BETTER as he get BETTER ADJUSTED to the PHYSICAL CONTACT.

His BODY is only going to get STRONGER and BIGGER.

Frye is going to DEVELOP into PROBABLY the BEST PLAYER on the KNICKS.

Yes, BOLD STATEMENTS....but I TEND to make them, because I KNOW what I am SAYING.

http://vincypowa.com/

http://vincypowaent.com/

Old 11-21-2005, 07:40 PM   #30 (permalink)
Registered Member

Credits: 1,177,037
Frye is a ROOKIE, so OBVIOUSLY GROWING PAINS will be part of his DEVELOPMENT, especially this year.

His BODY still needs to get HARDER, but that will eventually come.

However, I will say that his OFFENSIVE GAME, when compared to the players that you mentioned rookie seaon, is way more ADVANCE.

Frye came out of an EXCELLENT COLLEGE PROGRAM at Arizona....Lute Olsen is a FABULOUS coach and his STAR players TEND to ADAPT to the NBA game moreso than many other PROGRAMS.

By the way, did you guys REMEMBER what JERMAINE O'NEAL looked like when he came in the NBA?

Well, if U do, then there is no NEED for me to ADD to my comments about FRYE.

http://vincypowa.com/

http://vincypowaent.com/