Above and Beyond
Credits: 43,017
Carlos Tevez Leaves Manchester United for Manchester City
The Argentine Forward Has Signed a 5 Year, £39 Million Deal According to Goal.com, Carlos Tevez has agreed to a switch to Manchester City. The forward was looking at leaving current club Manchester United. Tevez has decided to move across town and play for Manchester City, home to the likes of Robinho, Elano and fellow new Carlos Tevez Leaves Manchester United for Manchester City transfer Gareth Barry, who joined the club on June 2 for £12 million. Tevez agreed to a five-year contract with the club and will sign once he passes a medical. Telegraph.co.uk reported that Tevez will earn £150,000 per week, which translates to about £7.8 million a year. Manchester United were unable to re-sign the electric forward, while Chelsea and Liverpool couldn't get a deal with Tevez and his agent, Kia Joorabchian. TheGuardian.co.uk reported that Joorabcian told Radio del Plata that Tevez "has never asked United for money, he has never complained about his contract. It is not a problem regarding money, but we never talked about that in two years." Joorabciah said "In two years, [Sir Alex] Ferguson always said we were going to sit down to negotiate but we never did so. He sent an offer, but it was too late because they had not offered anything in two years." Tevez, 25, is an Argentine international forward. He started his professional career at Boca Juniors at the age of 17, where he soon became a fan favorite. He moved to Corinthians in 2005, where his £13.7 million transfer became the biggest deal in South America. Soon after Tevez left the club to move to West Ham United after the club paid £24 million to Media Sports Investments for both Tevez and his Corinthians teammate Javier Mascherano. He enjoyed a somewhat successful year at West Ham United, keeping the club from being relegated to the Championship, as well as winning the award for "Hammer of the Year" (the best West Ham player of the year). Tevez joined Manchester United in 2007 on a two year loan from Media Sports Investments. During that time, Manchester United never offered Tevez a contract to make him a permanent player. Now, Tevez is able to leave the club for free and join the crosstown rivals Manchester City. Carlos Tevez Leaves Manchester United for Manchester City - Associated Content
Above and Beyond
Scotland switch almost wrapped up
Trinidad and Tobago striker Jason Scotland will have to wait for a visa and international clearance before his move to Wigan can be completed. Scotland: Agreed a two-year deal The 30-year-old was on Wednesday granted a work permit at an appeal hearing but further paperwork must be received before his transfer from Swansea can be sealed. He has already passed a medical and agreed terms on a two-year contract but could still miss the Latics' pre-season trip to Austria next week if the necessary documents do not come through in time. A fee, believed to be around £2million, was agreed between the two clubs on Friday and will see the player link up with former manager Roberto Martinez. Scotland, who scored 65 goals in 97 matches for Swansea, will be Martinez's third signing after the arrivals of midfielders Jordi Gomez, from Espanyol, and Hendry Thomas from Deportivo Olimpia. "Jason is a natural goalscorer, I can't really put it any other way," said the Latics boss. "Every manager wants a player who has that clinical ability to make something happen in the box, and Jason can do that. "He is strong, very physical, and his feet can produce the magic ingredient every team needs in the box. "This was always going to be a key signing for me. "I have every faith he can make the step up to the Premier League and become a real cult hero at the Latics. "I know from experience how the Wigan fans love a goalscorer. Graeme Jones, Andy Liddell, Nathan Ellington, Jason Roberts. "I am confident Jason can be the next name on that list." Scotland is delighted the move has finally been sealed. "I am so excited to get a chance in the Premier League," he said. "I want to show the manager he has done the right thing by bringing me here. "I loved my time at Swansea and I think I served the club well but a new chapter in my career starts now." Scotland switch almost wrapped up | English League Championship | Football News from TEAMtalk
Last edited by Lieutenant; 07-16-2009 at 03:32 AM.. |
Credits: 627
Proud of Scotland
Representing for T&T He will get more professional exposure and could only become a better player |
Above and Beyond
The deal has been finalised Wigan Athletic | News | Latics News | Latics News | SCOTLAND DELIGHTED TO BE A LATIC ............................................................ ...................................
Last edited by Lieutenant; 07-21-2009 at 02:04 AM.. |
Above and Beyond
Man Utd send injured Neville home
Neville missed most of last season because of injury Manchester United right-back Gary Neville has flown home from the club's Far East tour with a groin strain. The 34-year-old played 62 minutes against a Malaysia XI on Monday but missed Friday's 3-2 win over FC Seoul. United boss Sir Alex Ferguson confirmed that Neville will not be able to train for 10 days, ruling him out of next week's Audi Cup in Munich. Ferguson said: "He'll probably be ready in 10 days. It would have been silly to keep him here so we sent him home." The injury was described as "minor" by United, who play their final tour match against Hangzhou Greentown in China on Sunday, but it will be of concern given Neville's past fitness problems. Ankle ligament damage kept him out for most of the 2007/2008 campaign as he made only one substitute appearance against Roma in a Champions League tie. BBC SPORT | Football | My Club | M | Man Utd | Man Utd send injured Neville home ............................................................ ............................................
Destra's Harmony
Credits: 4,007
I don't know how you go from wanting to play for Pool to going to City.... Don't even know why he wanted to leave Villa, just when they're chipping away at the "big 4".....meh |
Above and Beyond
Scottie beams at Latics debut
wiganlatics.co.uk With a beaming smile and a spring in his step Jason Scotland explained how he felt as though he was on cloud nine, after making an emphatic Latics debut v Preston North End on Tuesday night. The Trinidad & Tobago international netted his first goal as a Wigan Athletic player and set up Michael Brown for another, and he couldn't hide his delight afterwards saying: "I enjoyed the game and it was exciting to finally get out there and play some football with the rest of the boys. "I'm buzzing at the moment to be honest, I'm made up to have got my first game under my belt. "I've got to take things one step at a time, and make sure I get my fitness levels up first and foremost, but deep down I can't wait for the start of the season. "There's going to be competition for places in the team and I'll have to work hard to get a place. But that's what brings out the best in players, striving to do well and be a part of the team, it can only be a good thing. "You've got to be at your very best to get into the starting line-up, and in my mind that creates some healthy competition." The game itself was a joy to watch, with Roberto Martinez's men playing some attractive, clever and deadly football to overpower their opponents, and Scotland highlighted how hard the squad have been working to perfect the gaffer's style of play: "The most important thing of course is to keep hold of the ball, don't give it away needlessly and be patient. "Patience really is the key, as long as you've got possession you have to believe that opportunities will come, and if you work hard enough they will. It's up to us to take them at that point which we certainly did. "We've been working hard on that aspect of the game and obviously the plan is to transfer this style of play into the Premier League. "I've not played in the Premier League but from what I've seen there is a more patient build up from defence to attack, and you seem to get closed down more and marked tighter, so hopefully this style of play will help us keep hold of the ball and get some good results." ![]()
Last edited by Lieutenant; 07-29-2009 at 10:31 AM.. |
Above and Beyond
Man City set to seal Toure deal
By Chris Bevan Toure made 29 Premier League appearances last season Manchester City are set to complete the signing of Arsenal defender Kolo Toure for about £15m, BBC Sport understands. The 28-year-old has travelled to Manchester for a medical and the deal could go through later on Wednesday. City boss Mark Hughes, who failed to lure Chelsea centre-back John Terry to Eastlands last week, has long admired the Ivory Coast international. Toure was first linked to a move to City in January but the Gunners insisted then that he was not for sale. He has been with Arsenal since 2002 but failed to hold down a regular starting place last season. Toure played for Arsenal on Monday night in a pre-season friendly in Hungary, but Gunners boss Arsene Wenger said: "We will see what's happening in the next 24 hours, nothing is decided yet. BBC SPORT | Football | My Club | M | Man City | Man City set to seal Toure deal

: Music is my passion : http://www.imeem.com/airmanpromo