Old 12-16-2005, 09:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
SocaIrish

xmas sorrel recipes

i make it with dried sorrel and dark rum, plus sugar and spices,
but i know some people do white rum and wine, or use the fresh sorrel where you can get it.

please post your recipes and hints up i am doing a few batches this year and want to experiment!
Old 12-16-2005, 09:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
I Like Drinkin Rum

Credits: 1,511
I use dried sorrel. I boil it with ginger - let it steep overnight. Strain. Add sugar and dark rum.
Old 12-16-2005, 11:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Dreamweaver...

Credits: 657
What's this rum thing y'all keep talking about?

Old 12-18-2005, 08:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
SocaIrish

Originally Posted by LSK
yea i was taught by a jamaican to add appleton or any dark rum...but hey i'm irish so what do i know. we make cream of sorrel soup for st. paddy's...
Old 12-19-2005, 12:00 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 243
There are three ways to prepare sorrel, check recipes below:

Sorrel
Ingredients
1 oz. dried sorrel or roselle sepals
3 inch piece of cinnamon stick
3 x 1 inch strip of orange peel
3 cloves, whole
1½ cups sugar
2 quarts boiling water
¼ cup medium-dark rum
½ teaspoon ground cinnamon
¼ teaspoon ground cloves

Preparation
Place the sorrel sepals, cinnamon stick, orange peel, whole cloves and sugar in a large jar and pour a boiling water over them. Cover with foil or plastic wrap, and set aside at room temperature for 2 or 3 days.
Strain the liquid through a fine sieve, return it to the jar, and stir in the rum, ground cinnamon and ground cloves. (Discard the spices left in the sieve).
Let the liquid stand at room temperature for another 2 or 3 days.
Strain through a fine sieve lined with cheesecloth and refrigerate until thoroughly chilled.
Serve in chilled glasses with or without ice.

Sorrel Drink
Ingredients
2 pt dried sorrel
6 pt water
Sugar to taste
2 small pieces of mace

Preparation
Cut petals from the sorrel and sun-dry for about 3 days.
Measure 2 pints of the dried sorrel petals and put in a jar.
Sweeten the water to taste and pour over the dried sorrel. Add mace.
Cover jar and let stand for 2 - 3 days.
Strain, bottle and store in a refrigerator.
Cranbery punch is very similar in taste and appearance to sorrel drink.

Sorrel Wine
Ingredients
2 pt dried sorrel
2 lb sugar
4 pt water
3 - 4 pcs mace

Preparation
Pick sorrel and dry in the sun for 3 days. Measure 2 pints of the dried sorrel and put into a clean jar.
Add sugar, water and mace and stir until the sorrel is dissolved.
Cover tightly and leave to sit for 21 days.
Strain and bottle off.
Old 12-19-2005, 03:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
SocaIrish

thanks gtdonna! i don't have 21 days but will try maybe 3-6 days.
Old 12-20-2005, 01:08 PM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 243
Ya welcome. Hope it comes out great.
Old 12-20-2005, 01:13 PM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 3,632
Originally Posted by LSK

I put some rum in my sorrell also....about 2 capfulls per gallon, to me it enhances the flavor.
Old 12-22-2005, 06:48 AM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 25,412

Okay...so I am very shame....

I put my sorrell 2 soak from since thanksgiving and haven't had time to deal wit it...allyuh feel it still good? Or should I just throw it out and make a next batch?
Old 12-22-2005, 08:39 AM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 3,632
Originally Posted by 1trini-gyal
Okay...so I am very shame....

I put my sorrell 2 soak from since thanksgiving and haven't had time to deal wit it...allyuh feel it still good? Or should I just throw it out and make a next batch?

since thanks giving....you tryning to make wine .....nah but i did that one time, left it soaking for about 4 weeks*ah was lazy*.....it still tasted good
Old 12-22-2005, 08:43 AM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 7,025
Originally Posted by limergirl
I put some rum in my sorrell also....about 2 capfulls per gallon, to me it enhances the flavor.
My family does too....it is the best