islandmix.com register | Connect with Facebook islandmix rss feed | Contact Us | Static Radio Live
Old 10-13-2011, 08:19 AM   #1 (permalink)
Anonymous

Credits: 17,445
The Story of Lover's Rock

This is not only entertaining but informative...

BE PATIENT. The CHANGE within YOU make take a lifetime to find. Don't wait for acceptance. The world will catch up later. We must go create the future. Live your dreams. Say this: Yesterday I was UNSTOPPABLE, today I'm INVINCIBLE. Don't stop, keep going. We must stay ahead of time. We are ONE. Everything is possible.

Old 10-13-2011, 09:30 AM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 23,719
Originally Posted by Riley Escobar View Post
This is not only entertaining but informative...
Indeed. I went to see this and thoroughly enjoyed it. "Men in those days really knew how to make women feel special" according to my mother and her friends. From seeing this docum-movie I cannot disagree with them.

Its such a shame what music and dancing has succumbed to nowadays.
Old 10-13-2011, 12:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Anonymous

Originally Posted by Jaymaca View Post
Indeed. I went to see this and thoroughly enjoyed it. "Men in those days really knew how to make women feel special" according to my mother and her friends. From seeing this docu-movie I cannot disagree with them.

Its such a shame what music and dancing has succumbed to nowadays.
Glad you thoroughly enjoyed it... I had the fortunate pleasure of meeting Menelik at the premiere... He's a cool and humble dude... It'd be nice if TSOLR could be shown globally...

BE PATIENT. The CHANGE within YOU make take a lifetime to find. Don't wait for acceptance. The world will catch up later. We must go create the future. Live your dreams. Say this: Yesterday I was UNSTOPPABLE, today I'm INVINCIBLE. Don't stop, keep going. We must stay ahead of time. We are ONE. Everything is possible.

Old 10-13-2011, 12:39 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 28,193
I want to see if possible . thanks for information
Old 10-13-2011, 03:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
Mommy Dearest

Credits: 179,872
yes where in the states can one view it. Like all the great Caribbean stuff always end up in London first and then here

Link me on fassbook http://www.facebook.com/#!/SocaDivaChandelle
2 Sweet 2 B 4Gotten:)

Old 10-14-2011, 09:26 AM   #6 (permalink)
Anonymous

Originally Posted by **Vincy-Soca-Diva** View Post
yes where in the states can one view it. Like all the great Caribbean stuff always end up in London first and then here
I can talk to him and ask if he plans on having his docu-movie shown in the States!!!

Old 10-14-2011, 01:27 PM   #7 (permalink)

Dont know about other Caribbean things appearing in London first but Lovers Rock was a South London thing, hence the reason why its understandable to release it here first in London. It derived from Reggae but became so distinguished as a British thing that it deserved its own genre and name.
Old 10-14-2011, 05:58 PM   #8 (permalink)
LGN
Phuck arf nuh man!!

Credits: 8,715
Examples?

You lot get good things but you probably don't realise it, your spoilt out there in NY world.

Last edited by LGN; 10-14-2011 at 07:26 PM..
Old 10-14-2011, 05:59 PM   #9 (permalink)
LGN
Phuck arf nuh man!!

Credits: 8,715
I can talk to him and ask if he plans on having his docu-movie shown in the States!!!
De connection man! yuh bettah dan de Nokia people, oui!
Old 10-15-2011, 06:20 AM   #10 (permalink)
Anonymous

Originally Posted by LGN View Post
De connection man! yuh bettah dan de Nokia people, oui!
I don't know about that bit but thanks...

Old 11-02-2011, 12:15 PM   #11 (permalink)
Potty Mouth

Credits: 61,216
how did I miss this
Old 11-02-2011, 12:49 PM   #12 (permalink)
Anonymous

Originally Posted by Mrs.Bravo View Post
how did I miss this
It's not too late Mrs.Bravo...

The Story of Lovers Rock

**Vincy-Soca-Diva**, I'm still awaiting for Menelik's response...

Old 11-05-2011, 12:24 PM   #13 (permalink)
Potty Mouth

Credits: 61,216
gonna wait for the DVD
Old 11-05-2011, 03:50 PM   #14 (permalink)

It's not too late Mrs.Bravo...

The Story of Lovers Rock

**Vincy-Soca-Diva**, I'm still awaiting for Menelik's response...
Do you know about "Burning an Illusion"? I think Menelik was involved in that aswell. He is very fond of seventies afro-caribbean Britain.
Old 11-07-2011, 11:59 AM   #15 (permalink)
Anonymous

Originally Posted by Jaymaca View Post
Do you know about "Burning an Illusion"? I think Menelik was involved in that aswell. He is very fond of seventies afro-caribbean Britain.
Yup... Got all of Menelik's works...