The Sound of Music- 40th Anniversary DVD
Yeah...it's an oldie, but man what a classic. First time watching it since I was about ten...and now that I'm older I can appreciate so much more about it.
The story of course is about the Von Trapp family (who in real life eventually migrated to the US and settled in Vermont where the descendants still live today) led by the patriarch Georg Von Trapp (Christopher Plummer), a decorated WWI veteran of the Austrian Navy. Captain Von Trapp is left widowed by his deceased wife to raise their 7 kids, and has recently recruited Maria (Julie Andrews), a young noviate from the nearby abbey. Maria injects life and levity back into the household with her defiance of Captain Von Trapp's stodgy militaristic rules, and with her singing and general joie de vivre. Soon the kindlings of a romance start to develop between Captain Von Trapp and the effervescent Maria...and soon enough they marry. All is not well however, as Nazi Germany is on the rise and Hitler is insistent on the formation of one country of all Germanic peoples...which includes the annexation of Austria (the Anschluss). Von Trapp is soon called upon to take the Germans up on an offer he cannot refuse (literally)...join the German military...no need to state the alternative. The family instead decides to risk danger and escape over the Alps and into Switzerland. All of this is set to a backdrop of music, much of which we're all familiar with, and which still sounds great after nearly 50 yrs. Thanks to a choir teacher in Standard Three who clearly was enamored with the music of Rodgers and Hammerstein (as well as Abba ) I had my first introduction to classics such as the title track, "The Sound of Music", "Climb Ev'ry Mountain", "Maria", "So Long, Farewell", "Do-Re-Mi''...and my personal favorite, "My Favorite Things". As many versions of this song as I've heard over the years, from the original in the movie, to Vanessa Williams, to John Coltrane...I can never get enough...and The Sound of Music is a holiday tradition which you'll definitely enjoy reliving once again ![]() Last edited by Bake n Shark; 12-26-2007 at 01:22 PM. |
The story , film is great !
but your age is that old, isnt it.. |
I think eventually I'll get the DVD. |
so..? let me see what if you were or not.. ![]() and after all , you'll do.. ok,.. I hope you will tell how so nice one the movie are. Dont worry ,.. I'll never say about you as a cute boy. ![]() |
i know every song in dat movie word fuh word lol.
![]() Yuh ent shame? lol I ent see it in so long I clean fuhget how much songs ah did know... The opening vistas were stunning in Hi-Def...make me want to check out Austria. |

) I had my first introduction to classics such as the title track, "The Sound of Music", "Climb Ev'ry Mountain", "Maria", "So Long, Farewell", "Do-Re-Mi''...and my personal favorite, "My Favorite Things". As many versions of this song as I've heard over the years, from the original in the movie, to Vanessa Williams, to John Coltrane...I can never get enough...and The Sound of Music is a holiday tradition which you'll definitely enjoy reliving once again 

.. boy.