Old 01-06-2008, 02:15 PM   #1 (permalink)

The Kingdom

Great movie!

An Al Qaeda-type Wahabi terrorist cell is springing up in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, and they have both the Americans and the Saudi Monarchy firmly in its sight. The movie begins with an intricately-planned assault on the secured residential compound housing the workers of an American oil company where hundreds are slaughtered in a combined shooting/bombing attack.

The leader of the cell is Abu Hamza, who is more like blind sheik Omar Abdel-Rahman (WTC 1993) than Bin Laden...an aged cleric and former bomb-maker. Jamie Foxx plays Ronald Fleury an FBI special agent in charge of a team comprising Jennifer Garner, Chris Cooper and Jason Bateman (brother of Justine Bateman, Mallory from 'Family Ties' fame). The team is faced with a delicate situation, the Saudis are clearly in over their heads in the investigation of the bombing, but the FBI cannot just rush in and take over. The primary reason why Abu Hamza (and Bin Laden in real life) is upset, is the presence of American troops on muslim land to begin with. Instead, they negotiate a delicate arrangement where the Americans will assist in local Saudi investigation.

On the ground in Saudi Arabia, Fleury and his team have to forge an alliance with the local investigators led by the incompetent Saudi National Guard General Al Abdulmalik. The true hero of the movie is the understated leader of the local police, Colonel Faris Al Ghazi (the exquisite Ashraf Barhom) and his men, particularly Sergeant Haytham (Ali Suliman).

Rather than be your typical shoot-em-up, the movie shows the tenuous situation as it exists in the Middle East today, with many innocent people being caught, literally and figuratively, in the crossfire between the religious extremists, and those committed to stopping them. It does a great job to show the resilience, pride and grace of the ordinary Saudi, intent on not letting his country be overrun by murderers bent on tainting the name of Islam, while not fully capitulating to the arrogant and overbearing Americans. What stands out in the end is the humanity of the people, and the incredible story that is the power of hope in the face of crisis and calamity.

Plenty of action, lots of chases...shoot-outs etc...but a very nuanced story underneath it all. Solid performances by Jamie Foxx and Jennifer Garner...great performance by Ashram Barhof.

out of 5
Old 01-06-2008, 07:32 PM   #2 (permalink)

キングダム / 見えざる敵

Is this what you mean ? it looks so good..seems interesting
Old 01-07-2008, 12:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
The Resident Craig

Originally Posted by Bake n Shark View Post
Great movie!
out of 5
Tek yuh lang enuf stupse.

Bless up doh i drop asleep watching this movie twice (cause i was tired obviously) but it was reaso up to wat i saw. Im watchin shear comedy nowadays doh laughing my tail off
Old 01-07-2008, 02:16 PM   #4 (permalink)

Originally Posted by chie View Post
キングダム / 見えざる敵

Is this what you mean ? it looks so good..seems interesting
Yeah...that's the movie.

Craig...it was good man.
Old 01-07-2008, 03:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
aka Tiny-Winey reppin SIA

over all i think the movie was good but after the attention catching beginning it took a little bit to start going again..in my opinion at least
Old 01-07-2008, 04:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
The Resident Craig

Yeah...that's the movie.

Craig...it was good man.
I still aint watch it back yet, i aint dun laugh since last year banna. If i get time tonight i gun check it out doh
Old 01-07-2008, 07:03 PM   #7 (permalink)

Yeah...that's the movie.

Craig...it was good man.

Thanks, I'll check it .
Old 01-08-2008, 11:45 AM   #8 (permalink)
The Black Knight

very good movie....