Old 01-21-2004, 05:58 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 3,824
Doubles recipe - a Trinidadian Favorite

Hi Imixers: I always thought "doubles" was somehting else, till I saw the recipe. I love learning new things.

Doubles - Trinidadian Favorite

Doubles

This is a Trinidadian favorite and is very very good. Doubles consists of curried channa (chick peas) between two Baras (a type of bread).

Dough for Bara

2 cups flour
½ tsp. Salt
1 tsp. Saffron powder
½ tsp. Ground cumin (geera)
1 tsp yeast
1/3-cup warm water
¼ tsp. Sugar
Oil for frying
Additional water

In a large bowl combine flour, salt, saffron and cumin (geera). Put aside. In another bowl place warm water, sugar and yeast. Let sit for about 5 min. until the yeast and sugar are dissolved. Add the yeast mixture to the flour mixture with enough water to make slightly firm dough. Mix well. Cover and let rise for about 1-½ hours. Punch the dough down and let it sit for another 10 – 15 min.

To shape Bara, take about 1 tbsp of dough, pat with both hands to flatten to a 5”circle. If dough sticks to hand moisten palms with some water. Fry in hot oil, turning once until cooked. Remove and drain on a paper towel.

Channa Filling

½ lb dried channa (chick peas) soaked overnight
1 ½ tbsp. Curry powder
3 cloves garlic, minced/crushed
1 onion (sliced)
Salt to taste
Hot pepper to taste
1 tbsp. Corn oil
Pinch of ground geera (cumin powder)
Pepper Sauce (to taste)

Boil soaked channa (chick peas) with salt and ½ tbsp curry powder until channa is tender. Drain. Mix 1 tbsp curry powder with ¼ cup water. Heat oil in a large skillet and add the garlic, onion, and curry powder mixture. Sauté for a few min. Add the channa. Stir to coat well with the curry mixture and cook for about 5 min. Add 1-cup water, geera (cumin), salt, and pepper. Cover, lower heat and let simmer until the peas are very soft. Add more water if you need. Channa should be soft and moist. Add more salt if needed.

Finishing – Putting the two together

Put about 2 tbsp. cooked curry channa on a Bara. Cover with another Bara. You can also add mango chutney, tamarind chutney or pepper sauce before putting the second Bara on top.

ENJOY!!!!
Old 01-21-2004, 06:10 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 42,436
Gurl this and some tamrind sauce or chutney alone makes me happy!! Can I have a Pineapple Solo wit dat please, lol....
Old 01-21-2004, 06:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
KingBea....

Credits: 21,183

Printed it
Old 01-21-2004, 07:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
DJ Extrodinare

Credits: 4,133
WOIEEEEEEEEE :p

AH GOING AND BUY A UWI DOUBLES IN D MORNING

DJ Kaotic International
www.kaoticinternational.com
Live every Sunday on www.Carib101Radio.com
6pm - 8pm EST
Sweet Soca Sunday

Old 01-21-2004, 10:10 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 21,217
whey de pholourie???????? empress bring de tambrind sauce n come, i got a nice tall cold glass of mauby
Old 01-22-2004, 05:46 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 9,370
My sense is that yuh could use de same dough tuh make pholourie, just fry de dough as balls, but ah could be wrong.

I will definitely be saving and trying this recipe.

Atlanta Caribbean Unity Festival

Wade Walker Park

RISE NY THE DAY FETE

PULSE 48
Old 01-23-2004, 05:54 AM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 10,762
im still scared to make it cuz somehow i think my barra will come out like fry bake....but its worth a try
Old 01-26-2004, 01:26 AM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 42,436
Originally posted by deoriginalrudeboy
whey de pholourie???????? empress bring de tambrind sauce n come, i got a nice tall cold glass of mauby

I want to cuss you so bad and say you going to Trini so you getting some of de best anyway .. but since I like you, I'll bring a plate in here, lol.... Boy mauby and I don't agree atal, I'll just open a can of Trinidad Grapefruit juice and add a lil essence, lol...
Old 02-01-2004, 10:34 AM   #9 (permalink)
Soca's #1 Fan

Credits: 547

I printed it. Good looking of the recipe
Old 06-14-2009, 10:23 AM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 530
This is the third time I be printing it out... I love this doubles recipe!! I'm wearin' it out! Thanks for sharing it!
Old 10-06-2009, 12:23 AM   #11 (permalink)
Ęmρ®ëśš VăńєŞŞâ

Credits: 67,992
Anybody else ever tried this recipe??? I have an idea for my graduation

"If they were appreciated for their personality in the first place, she would not have been told to get extensions or weave when she started out as a reporter. This whole thing would not have been an issue to begin with if these women were appreciated for what was in their heads and on on top it." - Hello BKLYN

Old 01-27-2011, 03:38 PM   #12 (permalink)
:::*** ~~~~00~~~~***:::

Credits: 596
thinking to try this recipe this weekend...

i thought cucumber was in there too somewhere... maybe?
Old 01-27-2011, 05:06 PM   #13 (permalink)
Registered Abuser

Credits: 615,480
Originally Posted by ~Fleur-De-Lis~ View Post
thinking to try this recipe this weekend...

i thought cucumber was in there too somewhere... maybe?
good luck. it isn't easy to have it come out the way it supposed to
Old 01-27-2011, 05:31 PM   #14 (permalink)
:::*** ~~~~00~~~~***:::

Credits: 596
Originally Posted by Spranga View Post
good luck. it isn't easy to have it come out the way it supposed to
thanks.

yea...i've heard...

but i figure trying it out maybe once or twice won't hurt
Old 01-27-2011, 05:34 PM   #15 (permalink)
Registered Abuser

Credits: 615,480
Originally Posted by ~Fleur-De-Lis~ View Post
thanks.

yea...i've heard...

but i figure trying it out maybe once or twice won't hurt

send a pic...
better yet i'll take mine w/ chicken and pepper