Old 12-13-2007, 12:20 AM   #1 (permalink)

Doom

Just watched it on DVD...decent movie

I wasn't all that psyched to watch it since I was never a fan of the game...which itself more or less pioneered the first-person shooter games of today. I have to admit though, I was pleasantly surprised...the storyline was very good and the B-list cast of actors, headlined by The Rock did a good job.

The Rock plays 'Sarge' leader of a crack Space Marine team, sent to check on an emergency signal broadcast from the Martian research station Olduvai. Sarge and his team, which includes Reaper (Karl Urban, "Bourne Supremacy"), Destroyer, Goad and The Kid, team up with a scientist on the colony to get behind the missing scientists and what triggered the alarm.

What they find is a tale of secret government-sanctioned genetics research gone awry, and the result is a colony overran by demonic monsters, seemingly from a portal to hell. Battling not only the monsters which hunt them, but treachery amongst their own ranks, the team must find a way to persevere in their mission, contain the threat from getting back to Earth...and escape with their lives.

Altogether, not a bad movie and a half out of 5
Old 12-13-2007, 01:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
Badness outta style!!

It was not a bad movie... It was very enjoyable.
Old 12-13-2007, 02:05 AM   #3 (permalink)

Originally Posted by ~Ragga~ View Post
It was not a bad movie... It was very enjoyable.
Yeah, I really liked the little twist at the end, and that battle scene between Destroyer and the Demon in the holding pen was sick. The movie kinda reminded me of Aliens a little bit mixed in with Resident Evil.

One of the better parts was when Reaper took the C-24 and woke up in first person shooter mode...I thought that was a nice directorial touch, paying a little homage to the video game.
Old 12-13-2007, 02:10 AM   #4 (permalink)
Badness outta style!!

Originally Posted by Bake n Shark View Post
Yeah, I really liked the little twist at the end, and that battle scene between Destroyer and the Demon in the holding pen was sick. The movie kinda reminded me of Aliens a little bit mixed in with Resident Evil.

One of the better parts was when Reaper took the C-24 and woke up in first person shooter mode...I thought that was a nice directorial touch, paying a little homage to the video game.

Yeah when the Black guy fought the Demon that was sick!!!!

The movie was much better than i expect to be honest because i heard it sucked. The story was good to..

I cant Believe you didn't like the game though......The game was state of the art at the time.........Perhaps it was to violent for you
Old 12-13-2007, 02:22 AM   #5 (permalink)

Originally Posted by ~Ragga~ View Post
Yeah when the Black guy fought the Demon that was sick!!!!

The movie was much better than i expect to be honest because i heard it sucked. The story was good to..

I cant Believe you didn't like the game though......The game was state of the art at the time.........Perhaps it was to violent for you
Nah wasn't that...at the time I just wasn't into computer games. I'd play some Nintendo or some Sega (doh even think PlayStation was out when Doom first came out nearly 15 yrs ago). It was violent and gory and all, but I juss couldn't see myself sitting down in front the PC using the control keys and space bar and shit, lol.

then as I got older I just never got into the console versions. I like first person shooter games, but the stealth/recon types..not really the horrorcore stuff.
Old 12-13-2007, 10:14 AM   #6 (permalink)
The Resident Craig

Yea if yuh know the game yuh would like the movie not love jus like cah all dem b list actors almost mek it flop.

Nice yuh giving review doh. I already saw this christmas, bootleg of course but i gotta see it again cleaner before i give my review, me nah seh nutten now, nabady nuh ask me nutten
Old 12-13-2007, 06:55 PM   #7 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Bake n Shark View Post
Just watched it on DVD...decent movie

I wasn't all that psyched to watch it since I was never a fan of the game...which itself more or less pioneered the first-person shooter games of today. I have to admit though, I was pleasantly surprised...the storyline was very good and the B-list cast of actors, headlined by The Rock did a good job.

The Rock plays 'Sarge' leader of a crack Space Marine team, sent to check on an emergency signal broadcast from the Martian research station Olduvai. Sarge and his team, which includes Reaper (Karl Urban, "Bourne Supremacy"), Destroyer, Goad and The Kid, team up with a scientist on the colony to get behind the missing scientists and what triggered the alarm.

What they find is a tale of secret government-sanctioned genetics research gone awry, and the result is a colony overran by demonic monsters, seemingly from a portal to hell. Battling not only the monsters which hunt them, but treachery amongst their own ranks, the team must find a way to persevere in their mission, contain the threat from getting back to Earth...and escape with their lives.

Altogether, not a bad movie and a half out of 5

ok, thank you.
Old 12-15-2007, 01:57 AM   #8 (permalink)

Yeah the movie was good. I liked how the rock played the bad guy this time. I also liked the part when one of the monsters got him through the door and he said "I was not supposed to die", i thought it was funny. The fight scene between him and Karl Urban when he started changing was good too. Even though he looked and sounded crazy in a funny way at times, i liked the difference. All in all it was a pretty good movie.
Old 12-15-2007, 02:15 AM   #9 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Darkus View Post
Yeah the movie was good. I liked how the rock played the bad guy this time. I also liked the part when one of the monsters got him through the door and he said "I was not supposed to die", i thought it was funny. The fight scene between him and Karl Urban when he started changing was good too. Even though he looked and sounded crazy in a funny way at times, i liked the difference. All in all it was a pretty good movie.
See, I didn't want to give away too much, lol...but yeah that fight scene was boss, although I prefered the one between the monster and Destroyer (the big black dude) down in the electrified holding cell.

That part when he got grabbed was funny though...