| Voters: 13. You may not vote on this poll | |||
Creole Food VS Indian Food
When i say "Creole" food i'm talking about non-indian food made in the Caribbean. I don't really know whether its called Creole food outside of Trinidad.
Which cuisine do you like better and why? |
I think I like both equally, but if I had to choose one I'd go for 'creole'... I think there's greater diversity there. Indian food almost invariably has some iteration of curry... can't think of any 'Indian' food that doesn't in TnT. Other than dan curry... maybe some kinda bhagi dish.
dais ah real hard one eh..but if i have 2!!! (hope meh granny ent peeping!) i would go with creole food! because nothing can touch ah sunday lunch stew chicken, macoroni pie, shepard pie, calaloo with crab, fry rice and potato salad! and i could be bias because i eat indian food every day!! but so i crave creole food more and there is a better variety in creole food other than just curry!
p.s. bakes what about breakfast foods like tomato choka, bigan chocka, sahinia, pumpkin with saltfish, aloo etc.. dem dont have curry in it eh..but still creole food all the way!! ![]() |
Princess!
I have to go with Indian, as a vegetarian. There are too many Creole foods that aren't options for me, that i wouldn't touch in general.
But yea i'm a creole food fan. Although there's some fusions that i'm getting into. I had a friend from suriname, they do pigfoot like chinese bbq spare ribs. That same sauce they use to cook pigfoot in. And geera pork, could be cooked in Cuba as well, they use a lot of jeera. And idk if this has always been around, but i tried something called a dalh pie or split peas pie. It's like an aloo pie but with a moister, greasier, fluffier, texture, the texture of creole food but the taste of indian food. Also, what do you call curry-iguana? Creole or Indian. Oxtail, pigfoot, pigtail etc are the finest meats PERIOD. But i could eat bahgi every day. And Bahgi has pigfoot too though so... I guess its fair to say that the foods I like are fusion foods. |
President Barack Obama!!!
Both. Most times I eat more creole but I enjoy indian food many times of the year too.
As for the curry iguana, lol... you'd have to give the nod to India on the basis of the curry... but dunno how much 'guana people eat in India, lol I love me some pig tail too... just boil out all de salt... with some stew breadfruit and provision... or in some bhagi or callaloo. Yum : |
Half man - Half beast
Creole would do it for me, There is nothing like eating ah left overs pelau
wow is like de thing does marinate in fridge or something and taste even better the next day. after a while yuh cyah eat curry or else is. ![]() |
Pork Mout
i love curry.....in all shapes and fashion
![]() Basmati rice, Chipatis, nan bread or roti......wid any curry stew...(well except vindaloo thats stuff too damn hott)....with a nice cold lassi ![]() I had an Indian roommate a whole year....I swear I was in heaven... But question I find de curry in TnT a lil different to the one from Indian.....am I the only one As much as i like curry I too love my Bajan food.......I havent really tried much creole food out side Bim.... Cou Cou and salt fish, pudding and souse......and a nice dry pea rice wid a beef stew.... dont talk bout Breadfruit cou cou (wid de salt beef mix in it) swimming in a nice chicken stem.....ok I getting hungry now ![]()
But you're right though... no matter the variation, all the curries I've tasted at authentic Indian restaurants have tasted starkly different from ours in the Caribbean (which itself isn't homogenous in flavor). The curry tends to be 'heavier', for lack of a better term, and tends to be waaaaaaayy oilier. At times in fact they'll bring you the little bowl and like 2-3 teaspoons of oil will be we sitting atop the curry itself, lol |
Princess!
Is fry rice really Creole food? Isn't that originally Chinese? LOL.
Pelau is considered a Creole dish by plenty, but interestingly there is a rice in India called pilau. Makes you wonder about the origin - likely Indian. But over time has probably, like most of our food of Indian origin, taken on a Caribbean uniqueness. Last edited by dollbabi; 09-01-2008 at 07:20 PM. |

wow is like de thing does marinate in fridge or something and taste even better the next day. after a while yuh cyah eat curry or else is.