Old 04-21-2005, 11:08 AM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 4,498
Working out @ Work...

At-Work Workout
From Cooking Light Magazine
Most of us spend a lot of time working, and at the end of each day, we find ourselves scrambling to get everything else done -- laundry, dinner, bills. What to do? Well, I can't give you more hours in a day, but I can give you some exercises to fit into your busy schedule. Find an empty stairwell and get started.

Warm up by walking up and down the stairs for 5 minutes. Then make sure to stretch your quad, chest, back, and hamstring/calf muscles, holding each one for 15 seconds. Next, alternate 5 minutes of cardio (jumping jacks, marching, stair climbing) with the below 1-minute strength moves. Perform 10 to 12 reps of each strength exercise. Cool down with 5 minutes of easy walking and stretching.

Triceps swing-backs. Sit on bottom step (use towel if steps are dirty), with legs extended to front; keep knees slightly bent to protect back. Grip step with hands slightly wider than hips, fingertips forward. Lift up and to front of step, straightening arms. Slowly lower hips toward ground, keeping elbows bent to back and hips close to front of step. Press with your arms, raising back up until arms are extended. Then swing hips back through arms until legs are straight and hips brush over top of step. Bring hips back to front of step, with arms straight and knees bent. Slowly lower in front of step to begin second rep.

Bent-knee push-ups. Stand at bottom of stairs, about 3 feet from bottom step. Bend forward, placing hands on second step and keeping feet on floor with knees bent (but not resting on ground). Slowly lower chest toward step, then slowly push back up. Engage core torso muscles to target abs as well as chest.

Rows. Standing at top of stairs, grasp stair post hand over hand, or wrap a towel around post and grasp ends of towel with both hands. With feet hip-width apart and positioned 2 feet from stair post, sit back into squat position. Flex elbows, and pull chest toward post, working biceps and back. Slowly release.

Bent-over leg extensions. Standing at top of stairs, grasp top of stair post with both hands; feet should be about 2 feet away from bottom of post. Lean forward from hips. Lift one leg to the back and slightly to the side diagonally. Curl heel to buttocks. Straighten leg, and slowly lower. Perform 10 to 12 reps on one side before switching to opposite side, or alternate legs between each lift.

Gin Miller, a fitness expert featured in numerous workout videos and dvds, is the creator of step training and was named one of the 25 fittest people in the world by People magazine in 1994. For more information, visit her web site at www.ginmiller.com.

This article appeared in similar form in the October 2001 issue of Cooking Light magazine.

© 2001 Cooking Light magazine

Offer From Cooking Light Magazine

http://aolsvc.aol.com/dietfitness/fitness/toner8.adp
Old 04-21-2005, 11:14 AM   #2 (permalink)
IslandGem

Credits: 773
Originally Posted by HoneyEmpress
At-Work Workout
From Cooking Light Magazine
Most of us spend a lot of time working, and at the end of each day, we find ourselves scrambling to get everything else done -- laundry, dinner, bills. What to do? Well, I can't give you more hours in a day, but I can give you some exercises to fit into your busy schedule. Find an empty stairwell and get started.

Warm up by walking up and down the stairs for 5 minutes. Then make sure to stretch your quad, chest, back, and hamstring/calf muscles, holding each one for 15 seconds. Next, alternate 5 minutes of cardio (jumping jacks, marching, stair climbing) with the below 1-minute strength moves. Perform 10 to 12 reps of each strength exercise. Cool down with 5 minutes of easy walking and stretching.

Triceps swing-backs. Sit on bottom step (use towel if steps are dirty), with legs extended to front; keep knees slightly bent to protect back. Grip step with hands slightly wider than hips, fingertips forward. Lift up and to front of step, straightening arms. Slowly lower hips toward ground, keeping elbows bent to back and hips close to front of step. Press with your arms, raising back up until arms are extended. Then swing hips back through arms until legs are straight and hips brush over top of step. Bring hips back to front of step, with arms straight and knees bent. Slowly lower in front of step to begin second rep.

Bent-knee push-ups. Stand at bottom of stairs, about 3 feet from bottom step. Bend forward, placing hands on second step and keeping feet on floor with knees bent (but not resting on ground). Slowly lower chest toward step, then slowly push back up. Engage core torso muscles to target abs as well as chest.

Rows. Standing at top of stairs, grasp stair post hand over hand, or wrap a towel around post and grasp ends of towel with both hands. With feet hip-width apart and positioned 2 feet from stair post, sit back into squat position. Flex elbows, and pull chest toward post, working biceps and back. Slowly release.

Bent-over leg extensions. Standing at top of stairs, grasp top of stair post with both hands; feet should be about 2 feet away from bottom of post. Lean forward from hips. Lift one leg to the back and slightly to the side diagonally. Curl heel to buttocks. Straighten leg, and slowly lower. Perform 10 to 12 reps on one side before switching to opposite side, or alternate legs between each lift.

Gin Miller, a fitness expert featured in numerous workout videos and dvds, is the creator of step training and was named one of the 25 fittest people in the world by People magazine in 1994. For more information, visit her web site at www.ginmiller.com.

This article appeared in similar form in the October 2001 issue of Cooking Light magazine.

© 2001 Cooking Light magazine

Offer From Cooking Light Magazine

http://aolsvc.aol.com/dietfitness/fitness/toner8.adp
This is really helpful....thanks!

IF we did one of the above for every post, we all would be in tipy top shape...I say we made a rule that yuh cyah post unless you complete this exercise....or how about for every post we drink a glass of water
just kidding
Old 04-21-2005, 01:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Brown Sugar

Credits: 450
Useful Info but it sounds like I would be returning to my desk looking and feeling sweaty..