Old 03-17-2006, 12:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Home

Credits: 2,008
wheening off starch

I need to cut back on my starch intake

but how do i do it with out shocking the crap out of my body.
i dont want to cut it out completely.
Old 03-17-2006, 12:59 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 24,369
Originally Posted by WadadliEmpress
I need to cut back on my starch intake

but how do i do it with out shocking the crap out of my body.
i dont want to cut it out completely.
yup i am fiend for potatos rice and white bread..
Old 03-17-2006, 01:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Home

Originally Posted by Oneshot
yup i am fiend for potatos rice and white bread..
Thanks for the help

Old 03-17-2006, 01:11 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 24,369
Originally Posted by WadadliEmpress
Thanks for the help

anytime just dooing my duty
Old 03-17-2006, 01:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Crucian fuh eva!

Credits: 702
Ent easy atal......it was suggested dat instead of going cold turkey try eating yam or sweet potatoe instead of white potato, brown or long grain wild rice instead of white rice and of course grain breads....like whole grain, rye or pumpernickel.
Old 03-17-2006, 01:32 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 4,497
Originally Posted by St. Croix Mami
Ent easy atal......it was suggested dat instead of going cold turkey try eating yam or sweet potatoe instead of white potato, brown or long grain wild rice instead of white rice and of course grain breads....like whole grain, rye or pumpernickel.
Instead of potato chips I've had yucca chips... I believe this is a yam or what they call Cassava back home. it's hard to let go of starches but I've taken my time with it. I've slowly let go of potatos... even breads, if I have to I go with nut/grain breads.
Old 03-17-2006, 01:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
Crucian fuh eva!

Credits: 702
Originally Posted by Ancientwomyn
Instead of potato chips I've had yucca chips... I believe this is a yam or what they call Cassava back home. it's hard to let go of starches but I've taken my time with it. I've slowly let go of potatos... even breads, if I have to I go with nut/grain breads.

I have seen the cassava chips but have not picked them up yet. This starch and better eating thing has been super hard for me, but I know it has to be done. Deh hardest thing for me is giving up the rice wid almost every meal <grin>. I doh eat a lot of bread, but the rice and the sweets is a major problem for me.
Old 03-17-2006, 02:03 PM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 4,497
Originally Posted by St. Croix Mami
I have seen the cassava chips but have not picked them up yet. This starch and better eating thing has been super hard for me, but I know it has to be done. Deh hardest thing for me is giving up the rice wid almost every meal <grin>. I doh eat a lot of bread, but the rice and the sweets is a major problem for me.

You can make dem chips too! But I know how it goes to pick up a skillet, lol, so try and pick up the bag. What I love to use as dip is some hummus. I also tried a different approach when it comes to changing my eating habits 360... I tried it with time and also added the things I love to eat with healthy foods. Instead of rice, have you tried couscous and if you come to Brooklyn you should try some ital/veggie spots. They have jerk tofu and this salmon (soy) dish that I love. But veggies is my bigger problem, so I've tried many spices to my dishes to give a meat like flavor appeal.
Old 03-17-2006, 04:22 PM   #9 (permalink)
Home

Originally Posted by Ancientwomyn
You can make dem chips too! But I know how it goes to pick up a skillet, lol, so try and pick up the bag. What I love to use as dip is some hummus. I also tried a different approach when it comes to changing my eating habits 360... I tried it with time and also added the things I love to eat with healthy foods. Instead of rice, have you tried couscous and if you come to Brooklyn you should try some ital/veggie spots. They have jerk tofu and this salmon (soy) dish that I love. But veggies is my bigger problem, so I've tried many spices to my dishes to give a meat like flavor appeal.
I have never had Ital. i like salmon. I figure more natural starches would be healthier.
Thanks guys