Old 04-14-2004, 06:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Pimptress

waxings...

anybody ever have a bad experience with waxings?

@ de waxing lady
Old 04-14-2004, 06:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
trini49

girrllll listen ......one time one of those messed up my eyebrows just when I was going to miami for the carnival....took me a good 2 months before they looked normal again
Old 04-14-2004, 10:20 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 598
I had some folks mess up my brows and then I had an allergic reaction after my last brazilian. Just no words.
Old 04-15-2004, 09:32 AM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 2,684
I've have had bad experiences at one place that I've gone to. I've been there about 3 or 4 times. The first time I went there, I noticed the area around my eyebrows broke out. I didn't think anything of it because I know that I have sensitive skin. That wasn't the only place that I would go to. I would go there and then the next time somewhere else. Then, I noticed that it was only happening when I went to this one particular place. The last time I went, the breakout was even worse, so that was definitely my LAST time. I don't know if it's the type of wax they use or what, but I will not be going back there.
Old 04-15-2004, 01:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
a.k.a. Buss_Slippers

Credits: 641
The lady screwed up my brows and I ended up looking surprised and confused at the same time they gave me my money back one time
Old 04-15-2004, 01:19 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 1,743
I wax my brows all the time i go to the same person and the results are always good...........its when im in a rush and go to someone new its a problem

Have you tried threading??? I did it before for the experience, it was good took the hair out very easily
Old 04-15-2004, 01:26 PM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 16,200
Originally posted by trini_chic

Have you tried threading??? I did it before for the experience, it was good took the hair out very easily [/B]

Trini_chic,

Where in NY can one get to their eyebrows threaded? I had it done once it To and I loved the outcome. I just don't like the sound of the hair coming off.
Old 04-15-2004, 01:42 PM   #8 (permalink)

Originally posted by xtasyreds
Trini_chic,

Where in NY can one get to their eyebrows threaded? I had it done once it To and I loved the outcome. I just don't like the sound of the hair coming off.
IN Manhattan, on Fulton Street in the downtown area
Old 04-15-2004, 02:15 PM   #9 (permalink)
Pimptress

Originally posted by trini_chic
I wax my brows all the time i go to the same person and the results are always good...........its when im in a rush and go to someone new its a problem

Have you tried threading??? I did it before for the experience, it was good took the hair out very easily
i wanted to get threading but de lady laugh at me and tell i dont have enuff hair
Old 04-15-2004, 03:51 PM   #10 (permalink)

Originally posted by Pimptress
i wanted to get threading but de lady laugh at me and tell i dont have enuff hair
oh oh yuh should let them grow out some then try threading them, I still love to wax though
Old 04-15-2004, 04:04 PM   #11 (permalink)
TAUREAN WOMAN...nuff said

Credits: 1,667
so when allyuh have a bad wax experience, like you doh like the job they did, what do you tell them? and how do you go about not paying for their bad wax job??? i ask because there have been many times i have not been happy with the outcome of my eyebrows but i feel bad about saying anything, especially not paying...
Old 04-15-2004, 04:09 PM   #12 (permalink)
Vexation X Infinity

Credits: 219
If they did a crappy job with me I would pay them but not tip them....note this is a risky behaviour esp. if there are not a lot of them in your area....Personally I get my eyebrows threaded....I don't like the sound of the ripping wax!
Old 04-15-2004, 05:09 PM   #13 (permalink)

Originally posted by hotandgroovy
so when allyuh have a bad wax experience, like you doh like the job they did, what do you tell them? and how do you go about not paying for their bad wax job??? i ask because there have been many times i have not been happy with the outcome of my eyebrows but i feel bad about saying anything, especially not paying...
tell them about it let them try and fix it up especially if they have you looking suprise.............most of the times the just need to even it up but i still pay and as missmasala say don't give them no tip and find a next salon
Old 04-15-2004, 05:40 PM   #14 (permalink)
Empress at large

Credits: 528
Oh I had an absolutely terrible experience. I developed a little bump over my brow that wouldn't go away. come to find out it was some type of wart. It didn't hurt and it small, small, small but nevertheless when the Dr. told me what it was and how I got it I was very upset and I went to the same place all the time so I knew exactly where it was from.

So. . .. NEVA, NEVA, NEVA, NEVA, NEVA again will I get my eyebrows waxed or even consider allowing a Korean to touch my face.

The only person who is allowed to touch my brows is Zion, a barber on Church Avenue. Meh boy does hook me up just how I like it every single time.
Old 04-15-2004, 09:02 PM   #15 (permalink)
thick P.O.S. dumplin'

Credits: 207
i like waxing my eyebrows but i've never waxed them since i came over here....i have sensitive skin...so i'm very wary about the products i use on my skin...