Old 03-28-2006, 05:26 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 275
Angry To Those Who Wear Clothes/Shoes Then Return

I am starting this thread because I was appalled to hear a co-worker of mine say that she has a wedding to attend to in the summer and was going to buy a dress that was $500 then take it back to the store after wearing.

I simply told her that if this was what she was going to do then I don't condone these types of action and that it was EVIL to think and do something like that. She said that, "she didn't think that was evil as she considers herself a "good" person with morals and that she would not do anything to harm others, irregardless, the large department stores can afford it". I then went to the dictionary to define evil for her, and sure enough, it stated "morally incorrect actions".

My deal with this is, if you can't afford to keep a $500 dress, then why buy it and return it for others like myself to buy and wear your "sweat" and non-hygenic articles of clothing that you return. This person could not understand how I could feel so stongly about this.

For those of you that do something like this, my question is WHY? Is it that you want to impress others with the expensive clothes you have so that others can say/think that you have money. Is it that your self esteem is so low that "borrowing" clothes and shoes from the stores makes you feel better? This topic truly ticks me off.
Old 03-28-2006, 05:27 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 6,723
You're sure taking it seriously.
Old 03-28-2006, 05:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ęmρ®ëśš VăńєŞŞâ

Credits: 23,854
Originally Posted by trinidarkie
You're sure taking it seriously.
i agree.....

if it was a bridesmaid dress then i would return it...if it was just a regular dress, and i wasn't a bridesmaid i wouldn't even bother to buy it.
Old 03-28-2006, 06:04 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 2,699
"EVIL" kinda harsh sis....ah mean it aint right, it unsantirary for the next buyer and so on but EVIL....hmmmm
Old 03-28-2006, 07:07 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 1,116
nope im afraid I have to agree. evil is just what it is because not only skin and sweat which is bad enough but possible virus's /fungal infections. think about it. somebody had a rash wears said article of clothes sweats in it etc. returns it... now you get it and get what they have taking it serously would be an understatement for how you would feel
Old 03-29-2006, 11:45 AM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 275
Thanks Princess

This was exactly my point Princess. Is it that people have gotten so used to this common-place practice that it is now viewed as OK? Yet no one has admitted nor responded to the question posed, WHY? Why is it that someone one would do this.

And may I please clarify, that I used EVIL because of the deliberateness of the action. How can one fathom even doing something like that, hmmm as a thought - "I'll go to the store, buy a really expensive dress, wear it to the wedding, then return it and get my money back". How can you possibly think/plot of doing something like that. If that's the case then people should not even bother to buy clothes for their wardrobe, they should buy a week's worth of clothes, wear it to work and then take it back to the store for next week's work wear.
Old 03-29-2006, 12:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
Whatever Lola wants...

Credits: 465
Originally Posted by DeSocaPrincess
nope im afraid I have to agree. evil is just what it is because not only skin and sweat which is bad enough but possible virus's /fungal infections. think about it. somebody had a rash wears said article of clothes sweats in it etc. returns it... now you get it and get what they have taking it serously would be an understatement for how you would feel
Yeah I would have to agree that it is morally incorrect to do this and personally I think it's just plain trifling. It is something that I used to do when I was younger and in college and I was trying to keep up with the trust fund girls on campus. Now, when I look back on it I am disgusted but you live and you learn from your mistakes. I would hate to buy a pretty dress and wear it on my bare skin after somebody funked it all up at the club, which I why I will never do it again.
Sidenote...I always wash my underwear before I wear them the first time. Ya just neva really know!
Old 03-29-2006, 12:38 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lucy-furrr

Credits: 1,082
Originally Posted by socachile
This was exactly my point Princess. Is it that people have gotten so used to this common-place practice that it is now viewed as OK? Yet no one has admitted nor responded to the question posed, WHY? Why is it that someone one would do this.

And may I please clarify, that I used EVIL because of the deliberateness of the action. How can one fathom even doing something like that, hmmm as a thought - "I'll go to the store, buy a really expensive dress, wear it to the wedding, then return it and get my money back". How can you possibly think/plot of doing something like that. If that's the case then people should not even bother to buy clothes for their wardrobe, they should buy a week's worth of clothes, wear it to work and then take it back to the store for next week's work wear.

hmmmm... I think youre on to somethin. :
Old 03-29-2006, 12:42 PM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 6,723
Originally Posted by yanktiguan
hmmmm... I think youre on to somethin. :
Old 03-29-2006, 12:50 PM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 14,230
doh worry, somebody go spill somethin on it and she dey won't take it back
Old 03-29-2006, 01:32 PM   #11 (permalink)
~Dare to be freeeeeee~

Credits: 16,092
That is totally disgusting!!! I can't understand why women do shit like that and some (like your co-worker) proud of the fact that they buy and wear shit they cant afford then return it to the store. Like my mother told me from a young age "do without until you can afford it, and never look at what other people have, cuz i doh know what de ass they did to get it." That's why i rarely shop at those big department stores, cuz folks are notorious for doing that shit. I go to stores that have 7 day exchange/no returns. Sometimes i does be shame to be a woman yuh know.
Old 03-29-2006, 01:45 PM   #12 (permalink)
Lucy-furrr

Credits: 1,082
Originally Posted by Val3nie2debone
That is totally disgusting!!! I can't understand why women do shit like that and some (like your co-worker) proud of the fact that they buy and wear shit they cant afford then return it to the store. Like my mother told me from a young age "do without until you can afford it, and never look at what other people have, cuz i doh know what de ass they did to get it." That's why i rarely shop at those big department stores, cuz folks are notorious for doing that shit. I go to stores that have 7 day exchange/no returns. Sometimes i does be shame to be a woman yuh know.
but au contraire... the dept stores are the best places to shop, because they budget for that shit. They know people nasty, and most of those returned items do not end up back on the shelves. They usually get "damaged out" on the inventory list, and returned to the manufacturers... From there, who knows what happens to them, maybe those are the "factory" brands you find in the outlets and the lesser named stores. The smaller stores with a 7-day policy may not budget for this, and therefore may put the worn clothes back on the shelves.
Old 03-29-2006, 01:50 PM   #13 (permalink)
~Dare to be freeeeeee~

Credits: 16,092
Originally Posted by yanktiguan
but au contraire... the dept stores are the best places to shop, because they budget for that shit. They know people nasty, and most of those returned items do not end up back on the shelves. They usually get "damaged out" on the inventory list, and returned to the manufacturers... From there, who knows what happens to them, maybe those are the "factory" brands you find in the outlets and the lesser named stores. The smaller stores with a 7-day policy may not budget for this, and therefore may put the worn clothes back on the shelves.

hence the reason why i shop at the "non-brand" name stores....cuz dese fools like to wear clothes they cant afford. I'll continue shopping at my no name stores and wearing my clothes...shit some of dem stores expensive too..lol but their return policies are a bit stricter than the department stores
Old 04-02-2006, 06:50 PM   #14 (permalink)
Miss Innocent

Credits: 24,948
I have 2 agree, u should buy the outfits that you can afford instead of trying 2 look "cute" by buying an expensive and taking it back....very tacky

Thank God I can make my outfits
Old 04-02-2006, 08:15 PM   #15 (permalink)

Credits: 160,119
Yeah I've never done it but it seems commonplace in America...I mean how many sitcom episodes have there been about this only to have something spill on the dress or it get ripped creating the dilemma and lesson of what not to do.

I guess its a maturity and morals thing...too concerned about how you appear to others & on the laundry list of "evil" things even though by definition its evil most ppl don't feel that bad about it.