Old 08-14-2007, 10:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Will work for credits

Credits: 4,884
For Those With Locs

how long was your hair before you started the process?

Just curious cause after seeing everyone's progress in the loc thread I'm tempted to take the piece of hair I have and start. My only fear is that I don't want to walk round the place like I have a set of creepy crawlies inna meh head. Hence forth me waiting till my hair reaches an acceptable length.

Last edited by ~Soca*Train~; 08-15-2007 at 09:45 AM..
Old 08-14-2007, 10:48 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 2,691
don't have locs anymore but when i did, i started at shoulder length b/c i couldn't deal wid de short hair stage with the excessive maintenance.
Old 08-15-2007, 06:24 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 1,115
Originally Posted by ~Soca*Train~ View Post

Just curious cause after seeing everyone's progress in the loc thread I'm tempted to take the piece of hair I have and start. My only fear is that I don't want to walk round the place like I have a set of creepy crawlies inna meh head. Hence forth me waiting till my hair reaches an acceptable length.
like DT i had sholder length hair... but is was not by design. I was natural for a number of years so by the time i loc'd i had a bit of length but it was still short to me
Old 08-15-2007, 08:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Reign of Fire...Judgement

Credits: 1,382
I could braid it long enough to touch my shoulder.

However, when I locked/twisted it it was nearly half as much shorter or less.
Old 08-15-2007, 09:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ęmρ®ëśš VăńєŞŞâ

Credits: 23,853
about 6"
Old 08-15-2007, 09:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
SocaLuvinYardieGyal

Credits: 1,316
Mine was short (3-4 inches). Worked out beautifully.
Old 08-15-2007, 11:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
Will work for credits

Originally Posted by Caribsun View Post
Mine was short (3-4 inches). Worked out beautifully.
That's how long my hair is now (I cut it) but I think I'm going to wait till it reaches 6 inches.
Old 08-16-2007, 12:03 PM   #8 (permalink)
Doh study it!

Credits: 288

I had a short foxy mama cut and I let it grow out. Chopped it all off and wore an afro for about 2 months then I twisted. It took a loooong time for my hair to loc b/c I have to wash my hair. I know plenty ppl who go long w/o washing their hair all kinda 4-6 months..no sa! I cyan do that to this day. I can go 2 weeks tops before I wash my hair. My hair is 6.5 years old. I have been meaning to put pics in the loc thread but I...blah blah...just have no excuse.
Old 08-16-2007, 12:10 PM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 10,438
2 to 3 inches
Old 08-17-2007, 12:32 AM   #10 (permalink)
SocaLuvinYardieGyal

Credits: 1,316
That's how long my hair is now (I cut it) but I think I'm going to wait till it reaches 6 inches.
do what you think is best...but just know...hair grows faster when it's twisted (don't ask my why), and with less hair, the less annoying the changes will be (when your twists convert to locs). With long hair, it's all out there...
Old 08-17-2007, 12:48 PM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 5,797

i started wid 1-2 inches of hair

Old 08-17-2007, 01:10 PM   #12 (permalink)
sexynorass

Credits: 5,983
Originally Posted by Sugahkhayne View Post
i started wid 1-2 inches of hair
same here
Old 08-18-2007, 07:42 PM   #13 (permalink)
Will work for credits

Originally Posted by Caribsun View Post
do what you think is best...but just know...hair grows faster when it's twisted (don't ask my why), and with less hair, the less annoying the changes will be (when your twists convert to locs). With long hair, it's all out there...
That's what I'm going to do. I just wanted to have an idea as to what length did people start and how was it for them.

By the way thanks everyone.