Ball-in-Hand
Credits: 3,804
thinking about switching hairdressers...
Im really thinking if you should switch hairdressers or not. I go to thie Dominican place, the price is right and my hair grows steadily. But the workers there have attitudes, they don't speak english they're always talking about the clients and especially the owner. I see a drastic change in her personailty...I don't really let it bother me tooo tooo much, but I was referred to this place and Im considering switching. Only thing is that the prices are almost 3-4 times the price Im paying now.
I've only had a few issues with the place that I go to now. My hair looks good but its not fabulous. In terms of length, they've done wonders for me. My perms really last, I only perm my hair every 3 months. But at times the communication thing bugs me, like for example, my ends are kinda thin and when i want to talk to them about a specific issue, its hard to get through to them. How much do you guys pay to do your hair...basic stuff, like a wash, perm, press, blow or whatever it is that you do to your hair? Under what condition would you consider leaving your long time hair dresser? Last edited by Hotgirl11226; 10-19-2006 at 11:22 PM.. |
Credits: 14,233
![]() it CT it's very expensive. i pay $60 for a perm (reg is $55, but i get the extra sensitive mizani and that's +$5). and her wash and set (roller wrap or somethin) is $30!!!! steupssssssss. that's why everytime i in ny, i go get a lil wash for friggin $12 WITH treatment!!! the dominicans out here charge me $80 to do my hair (perm) because of length, though since i cut it down (about 4 inches) i think they'll charge me less.
Ball-in-Hand
typo, lol...its every 3 months i meant. But yea...those are the prices that i hear this salon charges. im thinkin the friggin ppl better have their BA or Masters in doing hair...for that much money. Last edited by Hotgirl11226; 10-19-2006 at 11:22 PM.. |
Credits: 14,233
well try it out once see if you like it. by the looks of it, i eh tink dem spanish go miss yuh a fart.
Credits: 2,717
lawd in Miami it is expensive...
I just spent $302 for color and highlights... ![]() |
Doux Comme Sucre
Credits: 4,814
Trinibaje: Wow, just color and hightlights? Good lord!
I've been growing out my hair for the past 2 yrs so its in its natural state and I was thinking about locing but Shandy posted this Curly Pudding thread (thank god) and I am going to get a Silkener and it cost $300 (and that's just the minimum...the cost of the cut and the treatment eh even added yet) but dammit I fell in love with the end results I saw. |
.::Lioness::.
Go to both! My friends go to the more expensive salons for perms, trims, and specific things. They only go to the Dominicans for maintenance, weekly blowouts...
Southern Belle
Credits: 23,304
you relax your hair 3x a month, good gracious! See I just do my hair, sick of these chicks who I pay $30 for a blow-out who don't know sh!t, and then style my hair a different way the what I want. Damn if I'll trust them with my touch-ups
. Now I still haven't done the dominican switch since they're on other side of MD, but will be eventually just buying the products online. Either that or get my friend from Panama to bring me some back when she goes home. I'm cheap ![]()
AKA Dimeout
Credits: 990
Don't Watch Me, Watch TV
Credits: 204
Thank god I have locs.
Credits: 1,118
Ball-in-Hand
Southern Belle
Credits: 23,304
oh okay, I was going to say stay with them if you hair could that
![]() thank goodness I'm about to buy my hair, even hard to find a good weaveologist these days smh
Doux Comme Sucre
Credits: 4,814
I know, I want it mostly becuz it makes your hair so much more manageable and you won't have to spend too much time on styling your hair. I think its expensive because there is demand for it. That place was booked solid for the entire month of October and most of November, I was lucky to get an appointment for end of November. |

. Now I still haven't done the dominican switch since they're on other side of MD, but will be eventually just buying the products online. Either that or get my friend from Panama to bring me some back when she goes home. I'm cheap