Credits: 146
Support Minority Designers
Theres a lot of new fashion designers along with the old ones in the industry that we continue to support and we do not know what there really about.
For instance, does anyone know that the owner of Timberland is a very prominent member of the KKK, or that Von Dutch was a white supremist. We need to be a little wiser in our choices when it comes to putting hundreds of dollars in to the pockets of people who fought hard to make sure that minorities have a hard time in this country. There are lots of designers that we could support like FUBU(FOR US BY US),Rocawear and Sean John just to name a few. Now thats just my ![]() |
Credits: 1,093
I don't believe that these people are racists/white supremists simply because all that I've heard isn't enough to make an impact. People make it seem that every white designer is either gay, hates blacks or a combination of both.
I will support "our own" designers, but that doesn't mean I'm gonna abandon all the others. |
Credits: 2,690
Bob Marley's daughter Cedella has a very nice clothing line called Catch A Fire. It rhel nice but oh geeeeez de ting expensive. A top could cost $100
Sorry but I'm not payin dat kind of money for nobody TOP. I think the problem with minority designers is that their prices are way toooo high. One Rocawear outfit costing $110 for the pants and $80 for the jacket!!! By the time you add tax, you payin over $200 for one outfit and that is not including a top to go underneath de jacket. Sorry, but dat is not in my budget for ONE outfit.Last edited by Dougla Ting; 04-03-2004 at 02:30 PM.. |
Credits: 2,699
i find that a lot of minority designers cater the to hip hop urban still... what about conversatives who just want a proper fitting pants and top?
strength, courage, wisdom
Credits: 2,313
I understand what you're saying but that could apply to anything you buy at all...i.e. MetLife who was one company that insured slaves...but like baje said, i doh dress the part of rocawear so I choose not to buy the clothes
oh, and didn't Fubu sell a few years ago??? |
I 1 2 B D 1 2 4 Q
Credits: 644
Credits: 600

Sorry but I'm not payin dat kind of money for nobody TOP. I think the problem with minority designers is that their prices are way toooo high. One Rocawear outfit costing $110 for the pants and $80 for the jacket!!! By the time you add tax, you payin over $200 for one outfit and that is not including a top to go underneath de jacket. Sorry, but dat is not in my budget for ONE outfit.