Old 04-21-2004, 01:34 AM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 2,672
Summer Hair

Do you have a different hair routine in the summer time? I can't wear my hair long and have it straight in the summer time unless I'm going to a formal affair. The heat is just too much for me and I don't like feeling any kind of hair on my neck or face in the summer. I usally wash it everyday and wear it naturally curly in the summer time. It's so much easier to maintain and it's carefree.

I usually cut my hair short about every 3 years and this year happens to be that time. I'm still debating whether or not to do it. I love having short hair in the summer because I can style it up when going out and feel comfortable or just wear it natural. The only thing that I don't like about it is when the weather starts getting colder and I can't wet it and go outside. Then when it starts growing out you have to go through that "in between" stage when your hair is too short to put up and too long to wear a nice short style. I swear, we women have it so hard... Men just get a hair cut, shave it bald, or go dread.
Old 04-21-2004, 01:52 AM   #2 (permalink)

im in the same predicament..
i hate long straight hair in the summer..
cutting most off is a serious option..
but in the meantime, i plan on doin the 'wet & go' deal
leave- in conditioners are real important and ive yet to come across the perfect one
i tried this paul mitchell product once but cant find it anymore
if i do decide to cut ..i will probably leave a couple inches so by sept it will have enough length that i can wear dry and not look funky in that 'in between' stage.
Old 04-21-2004, 02:01 AM   #3 (permalink)
trini49

Summer Hair

Oh how I love summer hair styles.......I can't wait for it to warm up some more so I can add some color to my hair and get some really funky hairstyles. I keep my hair very short in the summer time and usually go to hairdresser to get it wash and style every week.
Old 04-21-2004, 08:47 AM   #4 (permalink)

Originally posted by keezii
im in the same predicament..
i hate long straight hair in the summer..
cutting most off is a serious option..
but in the meantime, i plan on doin the 'wet & go' deal
leave- in conditioners are real important and ive yet to come across the perfect one
i tried this paul mitchell product once but cant find it anymore
if i do decide to cut ..i will probably leave a couple inches so by sept it will have enough length that i can wear dry and not look funky in that 'in between' stage.
I've been using Infusium leave-in conditioner for years and it works great! There are different formulas, the best one I think is the moisturizing formula. My stylist was telling me about Pantene Pro-V leave-in conditioner. I'm going to try it and see how that one works.
Old 04-21-2004, 08:53 AM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 1,074
seein that my hair is in 2strand twists/plats for the majority of the year, summer is when i take it all out and actually style it. nothing too complicated, but jus something to give me a different look
Old 04-21-2004, 08:57 AM   #6 (permalink)

Originally posted by Lady Slaughter
seein that my hair is in 2strand twists/plats for the majority of the year, summer is when i take it all out and actually style it. nothing too complicated, but jus something to give me a different look
In England allyuh doh get very hot and humid weather in the summer right?
Old 04-21-2004, 11:52 AM   #7 (permalink)
He loves me!

Credits: 729
im bald:freak
Old 04-21-2004, 12:22 PM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 16,179
Seeing as I very weak relaxed hair. I wear the same stupid rollerset all the time until I got to BIM, then I wear it wavy. I use a lot more conditioner in the winter than summer.
Old 04-21-2004, 01:13 PM   #9 (permalink)
not so happy to be happy

Credits: 186
Re: Summer Hair

Originally posted by Dougla_Ting
Do you have a different hair routine in the summer time? I can't wear my hair long and have it straight in the summer time unless I'm going to a formal affair. The heat is just too much for me and I don't like feeling any kind of hair on my neck or face in the summer. I usally wash it everyday and wear it naturally curly in the summer time. It's so much easier to maintain and it's carefree.

I usually cut my hair short about every 3 years and this year happens to be that time. I'm still debating whether or not to do it. I love having short hair in the summer because I can style it up when going out and feel comfortable or just wear it natural. The only thing that I don't like about it is when the weather starts getting colder and I can't wet it and go outside. Then when it starts growing out you have to go through that "in between" stage when your hair is too short to put up and too long to wear a nice short style. I swear, we women have it so hard... Men just get a hair cut, shave it bald, or go dread.
mine is nappy year round. i may twist time and time again, but for the most part it just stays nappy.
Old 04-21-2004, 01:44 PM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 1,074
Originally posted by Dougla_Ting
In England allyuh doh get very hot and humid weather in the summer right?
yes and no...last july it was averaging 30-34 degrees, lots of people died from the heat...then when it was carnival time (august month end) it was about 18 degrees. strange ennit
Old 04-21-2004, 02:04 PM   #11 (permalink)
Brown Sugar

Credits: 450
these days I feel like screaming, I started going back to the gym and my perm and roller set sweats out. I thought about braiding but it breaks the hair around my edges and weave itches my scalp too much. So I am killing pony tails these days.
Old 04-21-2004, 03:35 PM   #12 (permalink)
Dis Girl is POISON!

Credits: 345
i miss my longgg and thick natural hair... now it permed n breakin like crazy.... every summer i seem to die it some bizarre color and cut it, its always wavy n crimped type look.....i love it cuz my hair cant stay in the wash/set mode for one day in the heat... too damn thick it does PPOOFFF

((not easy bein mixed...))
Old 04-21-2004, 03:54 PM   #13 (permalink)
not so happy to be happy

Credits: 186
Originally posted by SweetPea
i miss my longgg and thick natural hair... now it permed n breakin like crazy.... every summer i seem to die it some bizarre color and cut it, its always wavy n crimped type look.....i love it cuz my hair cant stay in the wash/set mode for one day in the heat... too damn thick it does PPOOFFF

((not easy bein mixed...))
i got the remedy for that.natural hair
Old 04-21-2004, 06:31 PM   #14 (permalink)
De original night nurse!

Credits: 207
i used to cut my hair every summer and add color to it but i dont think i'll cut it this year. i miss my long hair
My hairdresser said i should try that wet n wavy look since my hair is naturally curly but its so thin i dont think it would look nice. any suggestions? i want something new. not really a fan of braids and i luv ponytails but dont like it all the time.
Old 04-22-2004, 10:59 AM   #15 (permalink)
Dis Girl is POISON!

Credits: 345
Originally posted by MrsSocaflex
i got the remedy for that.natural hair
its gonna take too long for my hair to grow out...i want to go natural...i usually perm my hair 3-4 times a yr, i try to let it grow out but i get so fed up...