Old 01-11-2006, 01:51 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 4,477
Sooo... This morning I woke up with a thought:

Who remember "door knockers" from the 80's... I loved it, yes I did! (thought was inspired by L.L. Cool J's "Round away girl" video) But what's so interesting is that I thought about a pair of African earrings I bought from the Fulani Tribe (my earrings are much smaller then her piece in the below pic, ) and a thought came to me, I wonder if door knocker earrings were inspired from an African culture. I know that the earring are called door knockers for they are big as a door knocker, but it has to be coming from another inspiration. There's so many cultures were their jewelry plays such a significant role in the fashion culture. Native American Indian jewelry like Turquoise stones or East Indian saris made into pashmina scarves...

Fulani Bride, Mali A Fulani woman displays her bridal wealth in the form of large gold earrings and amber beads adorning her hair. She generally receives this jewelry on the death of her mother or at marriage as a dowry from her husband.
Old 01-11-2006, 02:04 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 2,681
...remember dem?!? u used to hear me coming about a block away wid my doorknockers on.

yes.... dougla had her ghetto fabulous days back in HS.
Old 01-11-2006, 02:35 PM   #3 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Dougla Ting
...remember dem?!? u used to hear me coming about a block away wid my doorknockers on.

yes.... dougla had her ghetto fabulous days back in HS.

I can imagine you playing pan and yuh earrings making another set of noise, lol...Well I had hand me down earrings from my cousin because my mother didn't allow us to wear it... well also because I wasn't in high school at the time but I still loved it, lol...

I think we as a cultural people (from all set of backgrounds) can't help but love big jewelry and big pieces... You know what's weird is that I also caught myself doing this, but at one point I put down the nice gold rope chain my mother gave me or the silver necklaces I wore and opted for the nice lil small chain with diamond pendant with the small earrings and tiffany heart tag given to me as a gift (this was after looking @ my co-workers who looked like they were out of a page of Instyle, lol) ... and it's all good and dandy... but deep down a sista had to rock some hoops and ethnic jewelry, soo I'm baccck, lol
Old 01-11-2006, 04:04 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 2,681
Originally Posted by HoneyEmpress
I can imagine you playing pan and yuh earrings making another set of noise, lol...Well I had hand me down earrings from my cousin because my mother didn't allow us to wear it... well also because I wasn't in high school at the time but I still loved it, lol...

I think we as a cultural people (from all set of backgrounds) can't help but love big jewelry and big pieces... You know what's weird is that I also caught myself doing this, but at one point I put down the nice gold rope chain my mother gave me or the silver necklaces I wore and opted for the nice lil small chain with diamond pendant with the small earrings and tiffany heart tag given to me as a gift (this was after looking @ my co-workers who looked like they were out of a page of Instyle, lol) ... and it's all good and dandy... but deep down a sista had to rock some hoops and ethnic jewelry, soo I'm baccck, lol
When I used to play pan they used to make me and others girls take off our doorknockers when we went on formal playouts and we used to be VEX, lol.

My mother hated them too, she used to try and hide dem from me. She tried everything but I had so many earrings, my older male cousins used to just buy me new ones when she took them away.

My senior year in high school is when I stopped wearing the big jewelry, I would just wear a nice pair of gold hoops or something. A few years later I just stopped wearing gold period and started wearing only silver.
Old 01-11-2006, 04:08 PM   #5 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Dougla Ting
When I used to play pan they used to make me and others girls take off our doorknockers when we went on formal playouts and we used to be VEX, lol.

My mother hated them too, she used to try and hide dem from me. She tried everything but I had so many earrings, my older male cousins used to just buy me new ones when she took them away.

My senior year in high school is when I stopped wearing the big jewelry, I would just wear a nice pair of gold hoops or something. A few years later I just stopped wearing gold period and started wearing only silver.

yeah gold is on occasion... BUT silver is the way to go for me as well...