So who does perm their own hair?
No this isn't a spin off from any thread....I really wanna know....
I started doing it in August and it's working out ok so far... prob gonna put in braids after this perm grows out just to give my hair a lil break.... |
Peace, Love & Unity
not me, my shite will be on the ground
forever hungry!
i do it myself...i dont trust salons to put in perms for me.
da ladi dey call JazEPooh
I do, not a big fan of going to the salon to do my hair (not texlaxing anymore). I just know to follow up with a protein treatment (Motions CPR) right after relaxing, and I'm good.
ste madeline posse!
I used to..when I had a perm. I started perming my hair myself when I was 14. My mom took too long to come home one evening so I did mine and my sister's. After she 'buse meh she said, "buh it lookin good yuh know"
OBAMA 4 President!
i don't...i'm sure i could if i put my mind to it but i rather just go to the salon. i walk with my own relaxer tho.
I tried once in college...no money for the hairdresser.
With my big head by the time I got to the middle my hand was tired. I must have taken 2 hours to finish the whole thing with all my breaks in between. Never again. |
Bajan&TriniTogetherAsOne
I am seriously considering doing this. When I had locs I did them myself so I don't see why I can't with relaxed hair. Only problem I foresee is cutting. I like my hair in short hairstyles. I gave it a trim last week cause it was getting too long and I couldn't get to the hairdresser. Except for a little patch at the back of the head
(which is hardly noticeable), it looks pretty good.I just need some more practice. |
when i had a relaxer i used to do it myself. i hated sitting in the shop to do my hair so i just started doing it at home. i used to trim/color/relax/braid/weave it myself.
yep...it saves so much time and money to know how to do these things for yourself. you gotta have patience tho but it's worth it. i did my own weave once...it was sooooooo time consuming...i think thats the only thing i wont do on my own ever again....
I'm hungry
i do everything my self....i been perming since i was in hs. I've always been a 'try it my self' kinda person....you never really know your talent until you start doing these things yourself. First i started with perming, then styling, then coloring, trimming bangs/ends etc. Last year is when i realized that i can put my own extensions in! many times i would not finish cuz it would take me a day to put in braids to my whole head, but i never knew i can braid until i tried...Then i started doing my nails my self, eyebrows, eyelashes, everyting! don't be scurred to perm your hair yourself. just follow the instructions and be sure to follow the time!...over processing is a biatch!...a perm should NOT stay in your hair for more than 20 min. Anything after 20 min you looking for trouble....the only thing i would not do is cut my hair in a short style like how i have it now....the only time i go to the barber/hairsalon is to shape up my edges and cut my hair, other than that, straight self-styling for me...my pockets have never been happier :)
Ah woman we name.........
I would do all styles in my hair, now i do my daughter's hair and my friends...I watch them girls braid as well and I do that for myself and my daughter..... now i just have to learn to give myself a tape for my edges now that i cut all my hair and i'll be good to go..
Ah woman we name.........
ARMY REGULATION states that DREADS r not allowed . . . .
Riddim driven fall & winter sample sale

(which is hardly noticeable), it looks pretty good.