Old 07-29-2005, 10:55 AM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 4,499
so talkin' about the rights to wear:

So after reading a few comments from 2 imixers (btw, they both made great points on some level), I thought about what does it mean to have the RIGHTS to wear something? Is it wrong or an offense for a person who's not Rastafarian to wear the colors red, gold, and green? That's a religious aspect, now looking at a political aspect do we remember the Che Guevara shirts, it was a style/fad for some (I mean some people didn't even know who the man was)... Then even with these wrist bands, some people wear them with no thought about it. But anyway... What does all of this mean to you? Do you think about why you wear something and its symbolism to you or is just a fashion statement for some?

Originally Posted by Sencia
rasta isnt about commercialism, its about humilty and understanding whats important in life. your interaction with others, the earth...... when i see this being made into a fashion trend it hurts. i feel mocked.
i think u should have to earn the right to wear those colors, i see too much unrighteous people wearing it.
its like an extremely vocal atheist wearing a jesus t shirt

and

Originally Posted by trinisocaholic1
Nah this thread is not about de rasta religion it is purely about fashion and i do not think that in order to where ice, green and gold that you have to earn the right because i see it as "you dont have to be dred to be rasta" same goes for "ya dont have to be ras to where de colors", and i am sorry if you feel mocked, but if you see it in a bad way then take in a good way, because i honestly believe that this thread is in no way capable of " mocking de rasta man religion".

BLESS
Old 07-29-2005, 10:46 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 5,625
i guess both.

Look at those bands. Some people don't even know where it started... now they making all kinda foolish styles and crap... steups... Some people wear it for what it is the cancers, the AIDS. SOme wear it cause they see it as a fashion statement as it is hip. So it depends on the person... the people that wear it for symbolism would get offended though i know...
Old 07-29-2005, 10:48 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 14,229
who vex loss. yuh cyah tell ppl dey eh have de right to wear certain tings, is america...not de middle east.
Old 07-30-2005, 04:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Baby Luv

Credits: 1,243
sharkbait yea its a free country but i feel if u want to wear the colors that means u know what it represents, and should be able to RESPECT what it represents.
Old 07-30-2005, 04:51 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 14,229
Originally Posted by Sencia
sharkbait yea its a free country but i feel if u want to wear the colors that means u know what it represents, and should be able to RESPECT what it represents.
but who say anyone disrespecting it??