Old 03-25-2004, 09:10 AM   #1 (permalink)
He loves me!

Credits: 746
Red face so im thinking about...

locking my hair:)....but ahm..say..sometime down the line IF i get fed up of it (which i dont intend to BUT..) would i have to bald meh head.. ...
or..just leaving it to grow w/o going to the hairdresser and re-twisting it..
BUT..not going and re-twist it...would the roots LOCK while growing out....
Old 03-25-2004, 10:32 AM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 8,193
Re: so im thinking about...

Originally posted by bagolicious
locking my hair:)....but ahm..say..sometime down the line IF i get fed up of it (which i dont intend to BUT..) would i have to bald meh head.. ...
I think you should just do it! I don't think you would get fed up and if so there are weaves and braids. don't worry I will lock the roots for you
Old 03-25-2004, 10:52 AM   #3 (permalink)
Doh study it!

Credits: 288

I am not ging to say 'DO it' or 'Don't do it' because it is all about your mind set. The beginning stage is the hardest as you may already know and maintenance can be a pain in the a$$. I don't know what type of environment that you work in but that should be taken under consideration too.

If it is a style and not a culture ting for you then there is a chance that you may get fed up of your locs, but sh!t if you tired ah dem change dem up...styles..color, etc. last resort Cut them off. If you do decide to go back to a perm or a natural do..I think you have to cut them off not necessarilly to the root (bald) but an inch or so of new growth. I have hear of ppl combing out deh dread but I don't think it would result in a healthy head of hear after you go through all that combing out...too much dead hair...but it also depends on how tight your hair is locked.
Old 03-25-2004, 10:58 AM   #4 (permalink)
He loves me!

Re: Re: so im thinking about...

Originally posted by ÇARAMË£§I§TA
I think you should just do it! I don't think you would get fed up and if so there are weaves and braids. don't worry I will lock the roots for you
trust u to say "do it" eh ...we'll see..

Jami..jinx...i hear yuh
Old 03-25-2004, 11:38 AM   #5 (permalink)
not so happy to be happy

Credits: 187

that is one thing i'm scared to do, but would like to do it. i saw this lady on the train dis mawning wit dreds up in one. but the roots were all combed out while the ends were dred. i guess she is trying to grow out the dreds instead of cutting them. i think that is a good idea for when or if you get tired of them. stop twisting the roots and keep combing it out. i'm getting ahead of myself, u didn't even dred it yet, and i'm teling u how to get rid of them. hehehe. but i go rock the natural for a little while longer.
Old 03-25-2004, 12:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
He loves me!

Re: Re: so im thinking about...

Originally posted by MrsSocaflex
that is one thing i'm scared to do, but would like to do it. i saw this lady on the train dis mawning wit dreds up in one. but the roots were all combed out while the ends were dred. i guess she is trying to grow out the dreds instead of cutting them. i think that is a good idea for when or if you get tired of them. stop twisting the roots and keep combing it out. i'm getting ahead of myself, u didn't even dred it yet, and i'm teling u how to get rid of them. hehehe. but i go rock the natural for a little while longer.
ok..well how about a make and app. to come and have u cornrow it for meh :) the PUFF gehing tooooo long to stay up...now i have to revert to making it into ah BUN..
Old 03-25-2004, 06:25 PM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 1,094
we on the same path lic. i am considering it, i had actually locked it a few weeks ago, got fed up of waiting, and loosed out each and every last one. then last sunday, i pressed it all i guess its simply bcuz i, so impatient that i cant have one. also, i like to change my look ever so often (twists, plats, canerows, pressed), and dreds dont accomodate for that. PLUS, something i DID NOT KNOW...dreds need CARE! whereas i could leave my twists for 3 months and still look like ppl, u cant really do that with dreds. plus they become heavy after a while...

recently, i spoke to my rastafarian friend and told her about my plans and she didnt like it. why? because rastafarians believe that if u have dreds as a fashion statement, that u are ridiculing thier religion. i know in the end that it is ur choice, but that is just something to consider.

i think i'll stick to my to my twists for a while longer,they are the best option for me right now. good luck to u tho
Old 03-26-2004, 01:34 AM   #8 (permalink)
He loves me!

Originally posted by Lady Slaughter
we on the same path lic. i am considering it, i had actually locked it a few weeks ago, got fed up of waiting, and loosed out each and every last one. then last sunday, i pressed it all i guess its simply bcuz i, so impatient that i cant have one. also, i like to change my look ever so often (twists, plats, canerows, pressed), and dreds dont accomodate for that. PLUS, something i DID NOT KNOW...dreds need CARE! whereas i could leave my twists for 3 months and still look like ppl, u cant really do that with dreds. plus they become heavy after a while...

recently, i spoke to my rastafarian friend and told her about my plans and she didnt like it. why? because rastafarians believe that if u have dreds as a fashion statement, that u are ridiculing thier religion. i know in the end that it is ur choice, but that is just something to consider.

i think i'll stick to my to my twists for a while longer,they are the best option for me right now. good luck to u tho
yeh yeh yeh...blah blah...:p...whey u see something name "CANEROWS" is "CORNROWS"...dias..for correcting..meh with zabuka..

BTW..ah hear yuh..
Old 03-26-2004, 02:39 AM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 5,624
just double twist yuh head and leave it and try doh budda me
Old 03-26-2004, 12:40 PM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 1,094
yeh yeh yeh...blah blah...:p...whey u see something name "CANEROWS" is "CORNROWS"...dias..for correcting..meh with zabuka..

BTW..ah hear yuh..
ahem, both cane and corn are grown in straight lines and that is where the name of the hairstyle originates from. so either will work. thank you
Old 03-26-2004, 02:19 PM   #11 (permalink)
He loves me!

Originally posted by bunjigarlindarlin
just double twist yuh head and leave it and try doh budda me
bunjiiiii nooooooo

slaughter...u just need to hush

zabuka..and zaboca...oor wha de ass...same pronounciation..think HOMOPHONES....geezzz