Credits: 4,484
So I watched a Super Skate Board Sweet Sixteen on MTV:
So I'm watching MTV Sweet Sixteen with Pharrell's new act Teyana Taylor and I'm noticing this skateboard style with the scarves around the neck similar to this:
![]() And I was taken back by the whole fashion... I've seen it here and there on BET, on the streets of Brooklyn and Harlem, but I sat down and watch this whole show and was like WOW... I want to know where was I when this fashion trend came to play...was I too much into my costume and TnT carnival for some months! What do you think about it from the sneakers, colorful tops and caps... even the neck scarves! ![]() oh and what did ya'll think about the dress from Heatherette: ![]() |
Here's another article:
Glenn Staley and Kyle Mingo, Party Promoters "But those Afghanistan scarves are kind of hot, so I’m just taking it to the next level." By Amy Larocca ![]() (Photo: Jake Chessum) How do you describe your style? Staley: Urban B-boy, like in the eighties. Mingo:It’s like a B-boy skater. I used to dress hip-hop style, but to me that’s not even style, really. It’s just watching the music videos and wearing what the rappers wear. Where did you get these outfits? Staley: The clothing is from Pharrell, the rapper. He has a brand called Ice Cream, and I got it at Union in Soho. And the sneakers are from the Michael K. store; that’s in Soho also. The bandanna is from Louis Vuitton. Mingo: The shirt I’m wearing I got from my job at Brooklyn Industries. It’s inspired by a Muslim who’s looking for a kind of salvation because his family is poor. And then they’re regular Levi’s— I like hard denim, not too baggy—and sneakers from Kidrobot. I’ve got about 35 pairs of sneakers. The sunglasses I get from this guy at a flea market in Soho. What’s up with the neck scarves? Mingo: I’ve been wearing the Afghanistan ones that they wear in, like, Iraq for a while. I saw this movie from the eighties called Breakin’, and I got inspired from that, like Kid ’n Play and stuff. But those Afghanistan scarves are kind of hot, so I’m just taking it to the next level. Why do you leave the size sticker on your hat? Staley: Some people do that to show how new it is, but then they wear the hat every day. When we do it, it’s just to show that I don’t wear it every day. It’s like I’m saying I have so many hats I don’t even pay attention to whether the sticker’s still on there. Where did you get your fronts done? Staley: Right here, at the Fulton Mall, by a guy named Yuri. A lot of guys like fronts on all their teeth, but I’m proud of my teeth, so I didn’t want them all covered up. What kind of parties do you promote? Mingo: Dance-hall and reggae parties in Brooklyn. We’re looking to do some in Soho, too. Is Brooklyn style different from Manhattan? Mingo: Sometimes I feel like we don’t even belong here. People always stare at us like, What are they? Why do they look like that? But it’s originality. We look more like guys who belong in Manhattan. |
Southern Belle
Credits: 23,301
I'm for it, but if it you do it YOUR way and not how everyone else puts it together.
dE dAmN tInG sElf!
Credits: 619
i actually like to see the skateboard style with a hip hop twist...ah leaving it fuh de young ones, lol, but i like to see the colors and the outfits some of these kids put together...
Wuck up ya waist gyal
Credits: 231
i think its cute and could definitely catch on....
much better than the typical "hip-hop" style |
Credits: 2,888
Undercover
Credits: 283,486
Back from de Canefields
Credits: 258
Credits: 160,097
on the blogs everyone was like is he crazy he looks stupid but a few months later its the rage.... I'm nnot sure if he and Pharell did it the same time
**Life is short. Too young; too soon. Love everyone!** be careful of who you pretend to be, you are who you pretend to be - kurt vonnegut "Mommy, stop waking me up for Kindergarten. You don't see me waking you up for work. You do that because you want to." Ahhh, the joys of parenting :-) - RNH (too funny) :
Credits: 16,337
i actually really liked her dress, it was extra funky. i'm loving the whole "skateboarder" look. i'm not about to rock it though. you might catch me in a hoodie but that's it. i'm too old for that stuff.
For the event I loved her theme and creative concept for opening up her party... The Barbie doll thing reminded me so much of Lil' Kim's video... The dress goes so well with the theme... Actually my first look at the dress I was like WHA DE ARSE, then I saw it on her and when she modeled it, LOVED IT! Taj I actually like when kanye did it... I think now it's interesting to see the whole look of the colorful aspect of it. The way kanye wore it was more like them Clark Gable look, for some reason the way they were it now has a western appeal! |
Credits: 160,097
have stopped from watching sweet sixteen i wud get all pissed off...but mebbe i'll look at this episode
**Life is short. Too young; too soon. Love everyone!** be careful of who you pretend to be, you are who you pretend to be - kurt vonnegut "Mommy, stop waking me up for Kindergarten. You don't see me waking you up for work. You do that because you want to." Ahhh, the joys of parenting :-) - RNH (too funny) :
Btw, I love your Khalil Gibran siggy, I'm a big fan! |
Here to help
Credits: 4,649
Really?!. . .I was rocking scaves/bandanas around my neck back in '93 - '95. (say word!!) I remember hittin' backyard parties hard with that - I'm talkin' the "Gordon 'n' Cynthia" joints (that curry crab was boss), the Volume Two parties (the original one), the Arc (before they tore it down), the Attic - whoa!!
And people would always ask, "what's the deal with the scarf on the neck?" I would say, "It's fa style!" Of course it doubled as a rag (to wave if the vibes were right) or to wipe sweat from the brow. "what goes around comes back around again" |
dE dAmN tInG sElf!
Credits: 619