Old 05-24-2006, 09:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Will work for credits

Credits: 4,885
So I'm Thinking About Going Natural

This is real huge for me because I'm one of those gurls who just loves her perm. You know....... that feeling you get when you leave the salon after getting your 'hair did'. Walking down the street and your hair is bouncy, flyng all over the place got you feeling like you're puerto rican. Anyhoooooooo umm I need help finding a braiding salon in or near Brooklyn that does hair really really well (I'm picky) for a reasonable price.
Please help me cause last time I got my hair braided it started coming out the next day and I had a wedding to go to. steeeeeeeuuuuuuuups.

Yeah so Thank you guys in advance
Remember your support is very much needed because I might go and perm my hair once I get frustrated.

Last edited by ~Soca*Train~; 05-25-2006 at 01:15 AM..
Old 05-24-2006, 10:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ęmρ®ëśš VăńєŞŞâ

Credits: 23,861
Where are you located?

I used to go to harlem to get my hair braided. I would normally pay $180. Next time you go tell them to tie that little not at the end of the braid. Maybe one of the other imixers can suggest some cheaper places.
Old 05-25-2006, 01:17 AM   #3 (permalink)
Will work for credits

Thank you. They did tie a knot but I guess it wasn't tight enough. Where in Harlem did you get your hair braided?
Old 05-25-2006, 04:14 AM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 1,119
i was one of those too and i went natural for 4 years... nam the best thing i ever did... I learned so much bout my hair in that state im in the bx and theres an excellent spot called aramatu and they do exceptionally good work and not rediclously expensive at all and they work quick I can give you all dey info? but I know there are quite a few good shops in and around nevins & schermerhorn
aramatu ive been going to for at least 7yrs but b/4 I was a harlem girl...
now I do have info for FANTA african hair braiding
prices start @ 20 & up she on 46 nevins 2nd floor bet livingston & schermerhorn 718-858-4954 & she posted several other #'s lemme know if you want them.. & good luck on your natural journey
Old 05-25-2006, 05:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
StillDisBajanSweetFuhDays

Credits: 214
Originally Posted by ~Soca*Train~
Thank you. They did tie a knot but I guess it wasn't tight enough. Where in Harlem did you get your hair braided?
I go to 125th to get my hair braided....every1 in that small salon does wonderful work

I pay 80 for kinky twist and 100 if i want them long

I may 80 for micro braids

30-60 for cornrows and flat twists*

u just need to buy your own hair!

If you need the lady that does my hair phone # PM me
Old 05-25-2006, 05:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
Going home soon...

Credits: 5,426
Originally Posted by ~Soca*Train~
This is real huge for me because I'm one of those gurls who just loves her perm. You know....... that feeling you get when you leave the salon after getting your 'hair did'. Walking down the street and your hair is bouncy, flyng all over the place got you feeling like you're puerto rican. Anyhoooooooo umm I need help finding a braiding salon in or near Brooklyn that does hair really really well (I'm picky) for a reasonable price.
Please help me cause last time I got my hair braided it started coming out the next day and I had a wedding to go to. steeeeeeeuuuuuuuups.

Yeah so Thank you guys in advance
Remember your support is very much needed because I might go and perm my hair once I get frustrated.
Hmmm, I guess the bigger question is, if you love your perm so much, do you think you will be able to adjust to natural hair. It's not easy, and I am not tryin to discourage you, but it definately is not easy........ but worth it!
Old 05-26-2006, 02:52 AM   #7 (permalink)
M.B.I male body inspector

Credits: 230
Originally Posted by Nisha7
Hmmm, I guess the bigger question is, if you love your perm so much, do you think you will be able to adjust to natural hair. It's not easy, and I am not tryin to discourage you, but it definately is not easy........ but worth it!
ok since u're right on de topic i need tuh ask .....
now ... i haven't relax meh hair since last august .... and it seems tuh be doin fine ... a little breakage but daz cause i am damn near not takin care of it sometimes cause i'm stressed so dat part is my fault but fuh de most part it's doin well .... ah little straighten wit de flat iron 2 or 3 times or so ah month and i'm good, and i use ApHogee inbetween goin tuh de hairdresser ....... iz dat ok ?...........the pic below is how it looks now (well meh bangs grow out even though i just got them a few wks ago )

Last edited by trinigyul4; 05-26-2006 at 02:55 AM..
Old 05-26-2006, 11:32 AM   #8 (permalink)
Going home soon...

Credits: 5,426
Originally Posted by trinigyul4
ok since u're right on de topic i need tuh ask .....
now ... i haven't relax meh hair since last august .... and it seems tuh be doin fine ... a little breakage but daz cause i am damn near not takin care of it sometimes cause i'm stressed so dat part is my fault but fuh de most part it's doin well .... ah little straighten wit de flat iron 2 or 3 times or so ah month and i'm good, and i use ApHogee inbetween goin tuh de hairdresser ....... iz dat ok ?...........the pic below is how it looks now (well meh bangs grow out even though i just got them a few wks ago )
so i dont understand the question exactly...at one point are u planning on cutting all of it out? is your hair texture consistent?

if so that make sit a lot easier. mine is not, so there is more work involved in maintenance.
Old 05-26-2006, 02:47 PM   #9 (permalink)
M.B.I male body inspector

Credits: 230
so i dont understand the question exactly...at one point are u planning on cutting all of it out? is your hair texture consistent?

if so that make sit a lot easier. mine is not, so there is more work involved in maintenance.
oh
i think it's consistent .... it doen't seem tuh be givin any trouble
i was plannin on takin ah short bob cut like i did 2 yrs ago but i dunno if i wanna do dat anymore.... but i guess as long az de texture ent bad i have nuttin tuh worry bout ?
Old 05-26-2006, 03:52 PM   #10 (permalink)
Will work for credits

Well i've been thinking about it for a while. I've had a perm for about 7 years and I've debating with myself for 3 yrs on when is the best time for me to go natural. I just figure it's now or never. Don't worry I'll be consulting with my hair dresser on how to take care of my hair. Thanks for your concern