Old 01-08-2006, 03:25 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 5,801
Size Issues

confuse de shit outta me...i wear whatever fits..

size 8 in gap jeans...size 10 in old navy..size 6 in polo jeans.

stuppsee man just all de size charts be de damn same no matter de maker

Old 01-08-2006, 03:56 PM   #2 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Sugahkhayne

i understand. i wear a 4-6 in GAP and Old Navy depending on the cut.sometimes smaller in Levis

why can't they just have one damn size chart
Old 01-08-2006, 03:58 PM   #3 (permalink)

Originally Posted by vincy_socababy
i understand. i wear a 4-6 in GAP and Old Navy depending on the cut.sometimes smaller in Levis

why can't they just have one damn size chart

skinny biotch...LOL

i soo know that feeling...it would make online shopping sooo much easier

Old 01-08-2006, 04:05 PM   #4 (permalink)

skinny biotch...LOL

i soo know that feeling...it would make online shopping sooo much easier

tell me about it. and i not skinny. but is damn hard to buy clothes online especially dresses cause i bottom heavy and i can wear a size 2 on top depending on the cut so you see my issues. . i have to buy bikinis as seperates
Old 01-08-2006, 07:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wuk Up Novice

Credits: 1,200
It's called "vanity sizing" in the fashion industry. A lot of designers know some women have issues with sizing so they may make a size 6 which could actually be a size 12 when a dressmaker uses a dressform. There really isn't a standard sizing standard within women's wear, which sucks 'cause there should just be a set size standard like in menswear.
Old 01-08-2006, 08:03 PM   #6 (permalink)

Originally Posted by LadyDay005
It's called "vanity sizing" in the fashion industry. A lot of designers know some women have issues with sizing so they may make a size 6 which could actually be a size 12 when a dressmaker uses a dressform. There really isn't a standard sizing standard within women's wear, which sucks 'cause there should just be a set size standard like in menswear.

girl i think if we see a frock that says size 6 and it actually looks like a size 12 we go know it ain't a 6 eh.
Old 01-08-2006, 08:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
SocaLuvinYardieGyal

Credits: 1,318
Originally Posted by LadyDay005
I knew that the fashion industry plays tricks on us. I suspected within the last couple of years. They either size up or down. I wear a size 4-6 in most of my clothes, and an 8 in jeans. I have a suit that I bought as a size 4 a few years ago...buy that same suit today, I can only fit the six (even though I still fit the size 4 suit that I bought a few years ago). Fours were cut bigger a few years ago. Now they're cut smaller (that's my experience). Since women have massive body issues, the industry won't settle on a standard chart. The more we stress about weight, the more clothes we go out and buy.

It's no surprise that many women have different size clothing in their closets. That's just how it is.

Last edited by Caribsun; 01-08-2006 at 08:22 PM..
Old 01-08-2006, 08:54 PM   #8 (permalink)

OOh goodness I KNOW what you mean....I wear size 4Long in Gap, sometimes 2 or 6 in Old Navy, Victoria Secret pants 6 or 8, let's not even go into 7 Jeans or Italian brands.....disgusting......recently I got a pair of jeans size 26...but if I try to squeeze in a 26 in another label is pure torture!!
Old 01-09-2006, 02:14 PM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 2,696
at least they were 3 different brands. i went to old navy and bought 3 pairs of jeans at one time and they were all 3 different sizes.
Old 01-09-2006, 02:25 PM   #10 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Dougla Ting
at least they were 3 different brands. i went to old navy and bought 3 pairs of jeans at one time and they were all 3 different sizes.

i have a size 4 in the skinny jeans and a 6 in the long and lean in GAP bought on the same day.
Old 01-09-2006, 04:28 PM   #11 (permalink)
SocaIrish

Originally Posted by Caribsun
I knew that the fashion industry plays tricks on us. I suspected within the last couple of years.
it's true - i used to be a solid 8, and now in recent years i wear a 5/6 but weight/shape hasn't really changed at all. i think old navy is the worst - 'cause like everyone else in this thread i wear a 4, sometimes a 2!
Old 01-09-2006, 05:21 PM   #12 (permalink)

stupse i ain't care what the number says i am comfortable with my body just get a uniform size chart please

Old 01-09-2006, 05:37 PM   #13 (permalink)
Hot, sweet and spicy.

Credits: 3,039
I wear between 2 and 4 depending on the brand but mostly 2. Lately I have been getting my pants by the waist size. I'm a 26-27
Old 01-09-2006, 06:40 PM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 2,696
stupse i ain't care what the number says i am comfortable with my body just get a uniform size chart please
same here.. i eh care if de size on de pants say 14. i just wanna go in a store and not have to try on every single pants b/c de sizes so different.