Old 04-07-2004, 11:59 AM   #1 (permalink)
Champion!

Credits: 4,327
Question Natural Sistas

WHICH AND HOW MANY OF YOU LADIES DOES WERE NATURAL HAIR OR LOCK YOUR HAIR FOR STYLE OR CONSCIOUS AND CULTURAL REASONS AND WHY?
Old 04-07-2004, 12:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
not so happy to be happy

Credits: 188
Re: Question Natural Sistas

Originally posted by SUGABUMBUM
WHICH AND HOW MANY OF YOU LADIES DOES WERE NATURAL HAIR OR LOCK YOUR HAIR FOR STYLE OR CONSCIOUS AND CULTURAL REASONS AND WHY?
not for cultural reasons. just for style and i luv it. and you?
Old 04-07-2004, 12:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Champion!

Re: Re: Question Natural Sistas

Originally posted by MrsSocaflex
not for cultural reasons. just for style and i luv it. and you?
CONSCIOUS
Old 04-07-2004, 12:14 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 4,532
not for conscious reasons, but yes for a way of living and style! As Mrs. Socaflex stated and you?
Old 04-07-2004, 01:03 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 5,809
little bit of both

Old 04-07-2004, 01:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
not so happy to be happy

Credits: 188
Originally posted by Sugahkhayne
little bit of both
to what degree is it related to cultural reasons.
Old 04-07-2004, 02:56 PM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 1,109
simply for me, this (twists/plats) is the most care free way to wear my hair. dreds need ALOT more care than i thought, and chemically processed hair prvents you from doing certain things.
i hate combing my hair, so i put some twists in it and wear it for about 4 months, tidying it every month or so.
Old 04-07-2004, 04:36 PM   #8 (permalink)
He loves me!

Credits: 760
steupss...no reason..
just fed up with the damn perm
Old 04-07-2004, 04:57 PM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 597
For the most part, majority of the people I'm around either have locs or wear their hair natural. So after awhile, I decided I was going to do the same, just to try something new. As time passed, it began to mean something to me. I can say now it is conscious, its somewhat hard to explain and I think most people wont truly understand (especially when dey see a gyul with a wrap, sayin she conscious). But I feel more aware of myself and secure with myself. I honestly feel more beautiful and confident.

It's so funny that how when I was younger, I would be so fed up when the front of my hair would frizz up and beg my mother to relax my hair. Now when I see dem "frizzies", hmm, I does be like "Gyul yuh lookin too sweet!"..LOL

I love it!
Old 04-07-2004, 06:32 PM   #10 (permalink)
It's ah"G&amp ;amp;amp ;quot; thing

Credits: 107
Simply for style.
Old 04-07-2004, 06:43 PM   #11 (permalink)
领导失

Credits: 2,000
natural.....ah get lazi with it...so one rubberband...and ah good to go..
Old 04-07-2004, 06:56 PM   #12 (permalink)
sagal

For both reasons! Our hair is so unique and beautiful!
Old 04-07-2004, 07:07 PM   #13 (permalink)

Credits: 4,532
Originally posted by sagal
For both reasons! Our hair is so unique and beautiful!
very true to that! OUr hair can hold some braids in and make beautiful coils!!! I LOVE OUR HAIR!
Old 04-07-2004, 07:14 PM   #14 (permalink)
sagal

To add! No other culture of women have our hair! Our hair has a story! You can tell what we are going through by our hair....it tells a story! I know mine does!
Old 04-07-2004, 07:28 PM   #15 (permalink)
Champion!

Originally posted by sagal
To add! No other culture of women have our hair! Our hair has a story! You can tell what we are going through by our hair....it tells a story! I know mine does!
VERY TRUE

BUT THE REASON WHY I SAY CULTURE IS BECAUSE LOCKS IS A

SYMBOL OF ROYALTY AND OUR HAIR IS OUR STRENGTH,

ALOT OF PPL DO NOT REALIZE THAT GROWING LOCKS IS A

SPIRITUAL (SOME MIGHT DIS AGREE BUT ANYWAY) THERE IS SO

MUCH HISTORY BEHIND IT.

*I HOPE I DONT HIT A NERVE IN THIS POST*