Question for all those with LOCS....
How did you start off?
If you had a perm did you grow it out, or did you just loc it? Did you start with twists and eventually locs? Did any of you have any regrets? |
Sweet Pea
Credits: 180
Good morning.
The first time i had locs i cut the perm out completely and started the locks really short. My hair grew about shoulder length and then i just cut it off one day. The main reason i cut it off i think was that i wanted to rock an afro for a while. Ok so now i loc'd my hair again. This time i wore my hair natural for a good 15 months. My sis started my hair with double strand twists in early january and now it is already locing. I'm happy with the way it is growing this time. I don't think i'll cut them off anymore |
Credits: 1,266
Even though I had not permed my hair for like 3 years prior to locking it.....I had to cut it all off anyways.....so my hairdresser did that, and she started it with the comb....and here I am 6 years later.....been doing it on my own since 2003......and never once regretted the decision to start it.....sometimes I see the "in" hairstyles and i'm like thank goodness for my locs!!
The Original Diva
Credits: 2,870
i'll let the boss answer yuh and hey we could start together
Credits: 16,340
T-dot I gine miss yuh!
Credits: 25,263
grew my hair out and started my locs just above my shoulders with 2 strand twists. No regrets so far although it has its frustrating moments its worth it.
strength, courage, wisdom
Credits: 2,324
first time i grew them, my hair had been natural for about 5 years and it was down to around my chin...so no perm hair to cut. I went to a loctican and he started them with single twists and it locked from there....no regrets even though my dad didn't like em....
this time my hair is much shorter, but again i'm startin with single twists with the intention to loc...only time i may regret anything is when i have to wash and twist em cause the process can take a while if i want em to look good... you thinkin of lockin your hair? |
Credits: 1,266
see thats the beauty of chemicals....my hair was so damaged cause prior to cutting it, I only braided my hair.....so in an effort to have completely and even locs....that was the only solution......but I did have traces of the perm in my hair still.... |
Fam Congo
Credits: 13,958
well i tried locs for about five times and each time i didn't like how the looked and cut them off. i usually went back to breading. i had my hait natural for about 3-4 yrs, and i didn;t want to go try locs again. i tried some texturizer that just didn't work out. i grew it out and decided that i will try locs one more time. so i grew my hait for about one year, went to the same loctician, she was getting really fed up with me cutting her work and asking to start over. so she told me this would be the last time she will start them for me, because it is not only about the money, but it is also her energy and minds she puts into it. (she is very involved spiritually with the locking process)
so she cuts the parts of my hair that still had texterizer and started the locs really short. it's been one year and it is the first time i keep them so long. i don't know if it is because of the lil pressure she gave me, but i find my locs looking reall good and they growing real fast too. of course they are hard times, but i really like them 99.9% of times. |
Credits: 152
I wore braids for about a year then I cut of my perm, then I rocked two-strand twists for a year, then I started my locs with the comb twists. It's been about 9 months since then and I am still fuzzy
(but I have no regrets) |
Credits: 1,117
[QUOTE=Trini Exhibitionist [COLOR=SeaGreen]How did you start off?[/COLOR] I had went natural for (wow cant believe it) 3 going in to four yrs. i loved the texture of my unprocessed hair but it was a transitition
If you had a perm did you grow it out, or did you just loc it? I grew it out Did you start with twists and eventually locs? yep my loctition did two strand twists with a comb that seemed loose at the time but are tightening up nicely Did any of you have any regrets? yeah that it took me almost 16 yrs to get to this point, seeing as i have a different hair style every 3 weeks or so I thought I couldnt do this but man this is the most free i have ever been inside and out, but i Laugh to see the new hair routine i have developed b/c of them to see my started locs i think its on pg. 123 or 124.oh yeah i cut an 1& 1/2 b/c i still had permed ends
Recognize The ORIGIONAL, There Can Be Only ONE! Last edited by DeSocaPrincess; 03-14-2006 at 05:22 PM.. |
SocaLuvinYardieGyal
Credits: 1,318
My hair is growing super fast, and I locked after 4 months. Last edited by Caribsun; 03-14-2006 at 07:53 PM.. |

(but I have no regrets)
to see my started locs i think its on pg. 123 or 124.