Old 12-29-2005, 10:48 AM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 16,180
Phytospecific Products

I was considering switching relaxers and I just realised that Phytospecific has a relaxer line that appears to cater to Black people.

Anyone ever try it? Or any of thier other products?

I am looking for recommendations from Black people with African texture hair. No Indians, European Latinas, Douglas, etc.
Old 12-29-2005, 10:50 AM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 14,220
never even heard of the company, but yuh have hard hair??

what are you using right now?
Old 12-29-2005, 10:55 AM   #3 (permalink)

Originally Posted by sharkbait
never even heard of the company, but yuh have hard hair??

what are you using right now?

My natural hair is like brillo pad that has been wet and left to dry for a year.

I use Mizani relaxer but I have been reading some good things about this relaxer and I looking to change up regime and see if that stimulates more hair growth (run on sentence)
Old 12-29-2005, 10:56 AM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 745
my beautician wanted to use it on me last year, but I was not paying her $110 to relax my hair with that stuff!!!!! I'm not sure if the actual relaxer is expensive, but I told her that I'll stick with Mizani (easier on my pockets)
It has good reviews (check below link)
http://www.hairboutique.com/tips/tip1250.htm
Old 12-29-2005, 10:57 AM   #5 (permalink)

Originally Posted by socadiva05
my beautician wanted to use it on me last year, but I was not paying her $110 to relax my hair with that stuff!!!!! I'm not sure if the actual relaxer is expensive, but I told her that I'll stick with Mizani (easier on my pockets)
It has good reviews (check below link)
http://www.hairboutique.com/tips/tip1250.htm

Yeah, my stylist will not charge anywhere close to that. I have been using Mizani for some years now and it not really doing anything for me.

As you mention this link, I just pull it up on google. Thanks!
Old 12-29-2005, 10:59 AM   #6 (permalink)

Originally Posted by XtasyReds
My natural hair is like brillo pad that has been wet and left to dry for a year.

I use Mizani relaxer but I have been reading some good things about this relaxer and I looking to change up regime and see if that stimulates more hair growth (run on sentence)
yeah i use the mizani sensitive and it's only $5 more, so i eh mind. cuz my hair is not hard, but rastafari dis shit is thick. the new growth is like a forest and i only let the owner of the shop do my hair, young gyuls CANNOT tackle it.

it annoys me though, cuz i get it done like every 8/9 weeks and in week 7 and 8 i jus hate life, de ting does be outta control!!
Old 12-29-2005, 11:00 AM   #7 (permalink)

Yeah, my stylist will not charge anywhere close to that. I have been using Mizani for some years now and it not really doing anything for me.

As you mention this link, I just pull it up on google. Thanks!
yeah, yuh hair gettin to use to it. it is time for a change, ever try dr. miracle's line?

i got a relaxer kit from my aunt for xmas, but i eh like dat "feel de tingle" slogan he have. i try to avoid de tingle at all costs!!
Old 12-29-2005, 11:02 AM   #8 (permalink)

yeah, yuh hair gettin to use to it. it is time for a change, ever try dr. miracle's line?

i got a relaxer kit from my aunt for xmas, but i eh like dat "feel de tingle" slogan he have. i try to avoid de tingle at all costs!!
did it "tingle" or did it burn? I don't like the slogan of that product line...

xreds: have you tried affirm with fiberguard? that's another good one....
Old 12-29-2005, 11:04 AM   #9 (permalink)

did it "tingle" or did it burn? I don't like the slogan of that product line...

xreds: have you tried affirm with fiberguard? that's another good one....
i jus got it fuh xmas! i eh know

but i debating whether or not to use it next time i go to the salon, i eh really want anything gettin in the middle of me and mizani

my mom got some doo growth formula from de same person, and it smells disgusting, but mih cousin have some one of his split ends treatments that sting, but she claims it works
Old 12-29-2005, 11:37 AM   #10 (permalink)

yeah i use the mizani sensitive and it's only $5 more, so i eh mind. cuz my hair is not hard, but rastafari dis shit is thick. the new growth is like a forest and i only let the owner of the shop do my hair, young gyuls CANNOT tackle it.

it annoys me though, cuz i get it done like every 8/9 weeks and in week 7 and 8 i jus hate life, de ting does be outta control!!
I hear you because only the owner doing my hair. I do not play that at all!!!

I get mine relaxed about every 3-4 months. I actually just start to use the Dr. Miracle's antibreakage hair creme. It tingles. My cousin, who is a hairdresser in Toronto, swears by the hair crme and grease.

Socadiva, I was using Affirm but then BAM, it just stopped working.

I go give this a shot in Feb.
Old 12-29-2005, 11:41 AM   #11 (permalink)

I hear you because only the owner doing my hair. I do not play that at all!!!

I get mine relaxed about every 3-4 months. I actually just start to use the Dr. Miracle's antibreakage hair creme. It tingles. My cousin, who is a hairdresser in Toronto, swears by the hair crme and grease.

Socadiva, I was using Affirm but then BAM, it just stopped working.

I go give this a shot in Feb.
how much does it cost? i eh want to buy it and know i'll only use it for the first 3 -4 weeks after i relax mih hair
Old 12-29-2005, 11:45 AM   #12 (permalink)

how much does it cost? i eh want to buy it and know i'll only use it for the first 3 -4 weeks after i relax mih hair
sephora has it for $60 for the kit....,
http://www.sephora.com/browse/produc...categoryId=B70
Old 12-29-2005, 11:51 AM   #13 (permalink)

sephora has it for $60 for the kit....,
http://www.sephora.com/browse/produc...categoryId=B70
no tanks, cuz it'll come out to be nearly de same amt your hairdresser was askin for...

$60 fuh de ting plus $55 fuh labor? no tanks.
Old 12-29-2005, 11:53 AM   #14 (permalink)

no tanks, cuz it'll come out to be nearly de same amt your hairdresser was askin for...

See, I have a really nice hairdresser. I use my own shampoo and my own conditioners. She will most likely charge me about $35.00 for relaxer that I bring in myself. And she will make the thing stretch for at least two applications. Which means six months for me.

I will report in February on how it looks. Wish me look.
Old 12-29-2005, 11:54 AM   #15 (permalink)

I'm a little skeptical because it claims to straighten your hair with egg and soya (did you read the ingredients?).
Can I break an egg and add soya and put in my hair for less?

If I'm going to spend that much on hair products, it should last me for a couple of months (get to re use it often)