Location: I’m from a place where you can find a Black girl getting her hair done by Dominicans while wearing Chinese slippers, eatin Jamaican food and an Italian ice..BROOKLYN BABY
Peeps with locs and their hair line receding
I'm starting to notice alot of ppl with locs and their hairline receding. Im not to sure if it is because of breakage, locs to long/heavy, or the retwisting method pulls the hair too tight...I just dont want dat tuh happen to me! How can one prevent that from happening?
http://www.studiomuseum.org/target-free-sundays/ Studio Museum in Harlem has free admission every Sunday between 12 and 6 PM, with free programs and events geared to all our different audiences. From hands-on family workshops to theater performances, whatever their age or interest, visitors will find something to love at Target Free Sundays at the Studio Museum |
so i wash it deep condition it wid something that has teatree and some kinda vitamin and dry it and not use to much heat and some times all i do it seperate it i dont always retwist after a wash my babies seem to like that routine.
i think it has a lot to do with "over-styling" too. all that constant pulling can damage the hairline. while i love many of the styles i see, i tend to wear mine down (curly or crinkled) simply because i can't imagine having my hair pulled back so severely.
Doh study it!
It's the jell (if they use), the tight finished look some ppl want all of the time, and the weight or poition of your bun or ponytail pulling on your crown.
They get breakage at the crown when it's too tight leaving them short fine hairs and eventually the locs fall out. Personally, I used to twist my hair with jell, but stopped b/c I find my hair only getting small small small. I only twist with grease now and finish it with some olive oil sheen. I wash my hair once a week on average, so that also contributes to the tightness. But any ways...I would say if you like the finished tight look give it a rest for awhile, mix it up a little. Do a relazed twist...just do a soft twist with your hand not tight but just enough to give the root a form. |
SocaLuvinYardieGyal
too many people pulling on their hairline with these styles, and when they twist. I twist once every 4 to 6 weeks, and I'm careful not to wear too many styles that make me have to pull my hair back. If I pull my hair back, my roots are usually loose...I just use some Garnier Fructis Sleek n' Shine, a little water, and smooth down the hair (wear a scarf for a few minutes or few hours when I sleep). Does the trick.
I used to think folks were wierd for wearing loose roots when I started out. now I understand why. Some stylists (including "Locticians") treat locs like they're relaxed hair and pull the life out of it when they twist and style. I like having a hairline, and want to make sure I have one when I'm 50. |
but true ting eh, i have learned to walk aroung a bit "fuzzy" and not worry so much. ah lil tea tree oil and ah drop ah olive oil works wonders and i dont pin up my hair to much and some times i go as much as 2.5 months b/4 retwisting (my hair holds well) especially noticing my hair get thicker it got thinner to me. i thought of starting over and making them just a bit thicker but ill ride it out ![]()
Hot, sweet and spicy.
I think it's a combination of all these. I had locs for about seven years and have only pulled it up or had it stayled about 30 times the most and I was having that problem For me I think it was the constant twisting and re-twisting over the years. Plus I have very fine hair so that didn't help. so I cut mine off because I figured with hair like mine, that is always going to be a problem.