Empress at large
Credits: 534
Nails, nails, nails
So everyone around me gets their nails done with acrylic tips, etc. I used to do that but then one day I just got tired of getting fill-ins every other week and waiting in the nail shop to get it done, waiting for polish to dry, and then let's not talk about when one breaks or you need a fill-in and ca't go right away and end up sitting on the train hiding your hands. So I went nailess. No more nails for me - I keep them short and natural.
Every now and then I feel like a sore thumb though because everyone's nails look so cute and I am there with my clear nail polish. But every time I think of getting tips I opt not to. I just can't go back. ![]() |
Re: Nails, nails, nails
That's good...Allyuh need to stop making them Koreans rich. By nail polish. |
Brown Sugar
Credits: 450
I used to get acrylic but couldn't be bothered anymore with the nail shop thing every 2 weeks so I decided to go natural. I bought a manicure set and does my own thing at home
Born Again
Credits: 707
Yeah dem nails does cost too mucha money when ya calculate how much ya spendin' a year!!
Since i had me daughter i don't wear dem tings again. But I know how ya feel sometimes Ms Scorpy... when dem nails lookin' pretty pretty and yuh jus watch yuh own and feel kinda shame. I does feel de same way. ![]() |
I used to to the do the nail thing at about $60 a pop.....I ain't go lie i loved how my nails looked but the end result was when the nails came off my natural nails were in a mess so I stopped about a year and a half now.....now I just keep them short and natural
when I see some girls with their nails I do have some flashbacks .....but that only last for about a minute![]() |
Look at where you be in hair weaves like Europeans Fake nails done by Koreans Lauryn Hill " Doo Wop(That Thing) Enuff said: ![]() |
not so happy to be happy
Credits: 188
Re: Re: Nails, nails, nails
Empress at large
Well I am happy to see that I am not the only non-acrylic/glass tip wearin chic out there. |
Dis Girl is POISON!
Credits: 346
i feel the same way sumtimes... but i could do otha things with that money.. |
Empress at large
Re: Re: Nails, nails, nails
Credits: 2,702
I've stopped getting my nails done almost two years now. First of all, that acrylic is NOT healthy for your nails. It causes damage and weakens your nails. When I decided to stop using the acrylic, I said OK I'll just get a manicure to keep my nails in good shape. You know what de Korean lady do? She file meh nails and put on nail polish? I said this is a manicure???? Because I thought a manicure was to buff, cut cuticles, put some cuticle cream, put some oils and stuff on meh hands....
Those Koreans are only concerned about getting PAID. They have no interest in keeping our nails healthy. We need to stop giving them our money just because our nails lookin "cute". I can't see how anyone's nails can be healthy after years and years of acrylic. Dem tips and acrylics could only lead to long term damage down de road. I doh feel bad at all when I see other females with their nails lookin all cute wid acrylics. I will stay wid my nails short and healthy. Every week, I cut my cuticles, buff my nails, shape dem, put on a little neutrual colored nail polish every once in a while. We'll see who hands will be looking nicer 10 years from now. Last edited by Dougla Ting; 04-15-2004 at 09:21 AM.. |
Credits: 1,106
im growing mine now, im not really into all those out the way desings for anils anyway. i french manicure and im good to go.
Empress at large
Well Dougla dat is de damn ting self. 10 years from now so many women will be complainin about the damage and infections of their cuticles and nail bed. Seems to me that it just cost tooo much money and requires way too much maintenance. And let's not talk about when you break one or hit it against something - dat shite hurts like crazy.
Credits: 131
I used to get my nails done faithfully, but I realized how much money and time I was wasting, and how weak it made my nails. I have been without tips for almost two years now.
Credits: 217
I grow my own nails. I keep them at an average length as I do not like very long nails anymore. I also can't stand nails long and short so when one nail break I would cut all and start over. There are good nail strenghteners out there, try growing your own.

.....but that only last for about a minute