Old 08-30-2007, 02:05 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 2,675
My nails! My nails

i've posted before about this..... i need some kind of nail polish or treatment that will protect my nails from breaking and polish from chipping. many people suggested sally hansen.. well i bought the base coat and the top coat and IT DOESN'T WORK. my nails still break and my polish still peels/chips. PLEASE HELP!
Old 08-30-2007, 02:11 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 745
I love the Essie 3Way Glaze. It's base coat, strenthner and top coat in one.
My manicures last for 6 days with all my typing,handwashing, dishwashing, etc.
I just put a fresh coat on every night.
I bring it with me when I go for my manicures

they sell it in Ricky's or at GOOD nail salons.
Old 08-30-2007, 02:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
The JaM™

Originally Posted by Dougla Ting View Post
i've posted before about this..... i need some kind of nail polish or treatment that will protect my nails from breaking and polish from chipping. many people suggested sally hansen.. well i bought the base coat and the top coat and IT DOESN'T WORK. my nails still break and my polish still peels/chips. PLEASE HELP!
The chipping and weakness could possibly be the sign of a fungal infection. I read about a product called nail-it the other day... Nail-it - The DIY Solution for damaged nails... or could possibly be nail-it.org. Only thing is it's a company based in the UK.
Old 08-30-2007, 02:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
who Jah bless no man cus

Credits: 563
have you tried:Hard As Nails by Sally Hansen-features a broad range of colors and a tough formulation that covers your nails with a hard, smooth, chip-resistant surface. plus it's convience you can pick it up anywhere if that dosent work go to Sallys and ask them what they recommend....
Old 08-30-2007, 06:06 PM   #5 (permalink)

Originally Posted by The JaM™ View Post
The chipping and weakness could possibly be the sign of a fungal infection. I read about a product called nail-it the other day... Nail-it - The DIY Solution for damaged nails... or could possibly be nail-it.org. Only thing is it's a company based in the UK.
It's definitely not a fungal infection. I wash my hands constantly throughout the day so it softens my nails. I need something that will keep them hard and protect from breakage.
Old 08-30-2007, 06:08 PM   #6 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Soca_Diva76 View Post
I love the Essie 3Way Glaze. It's base coat, strenthner and top coat in one.
My manicures last for 6 days with all my typing,handwashing, dishwashing, etc.
I just put a fresh coat on every night.
I bring it with me when I go for my manicures

they sell it in Ricky's or at GOOD nail salons.
there's a ricky's down the street from where i work... i'll see if i find it.
Old 08-30-2007, 10:24 PM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 2,878
Are you eating properly as well? Keeping your hands and nails moisturized?
Old 08-31-2007, 12:22 PM   #8 (permalink)

Originally Posted by JAHTEE View Post
have you tried:Hard As Nails by Sally Hansen-features a broad range of colors and a tough formulation that covers your nails with a hard, smooth, chip-resistant surface. plus it's convience you can pick it up anywhere if that dosent work go to Sallys and ask them what they recommend....
like u eh read de first post, lol. i used the sally hansen it doesn't work
Old 08-31-2007, 12:25 PM   #9 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Rummy View Post
Are you eating properly as well? Keeping your hands and nails moisturized?
yeah, i'm a pretty healthy eater, take multi-vitamins and i use lotion on my hands several times a day. my nails don't break as often as they used to but the polish always chips.. dat sally hansen hard as nails just doesn't work for me... and i usually don't even use color on my nails, i just use the sally hansen base coat and top coat.
Old 09-04-2007, 05:55 PM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 8,191
i see you didn't listen to me. just try it nah
my-nails-my-nails-nail.jpg  
Old 09-04-2007, 06:32 PM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 38
yah Nailtique is good stuff, pricey though - its like 20$ ent?

Try ORLY - works much better than Sally Hansen, and most of their products are around 8-10.00.

Orly Professional Strengtheners: Calcium Shield® Nail Armor® Nail Defense® Tough Cookie®

I use the 'Nail Armour' ("Liquid silk nail wrap strengthens nails while Ridgefiller smoothes the surface for a flawless finish.")

and 'Won't-Chip' - ("Orly's super bond forms a tough polymer shield that gives manicures protection and shine. Helps prevent chipping and peeling for up to two weeks.")

here's a few you might like:

"Nail Defense" ("Protein and gelatin enriched to fortify weak nails. Bonds nail layers together, sealing the free edge to prevent peeling and chipping")

or "Tough Cookie" "(Strengthens soft, brittle nails with unique compound that slows keratin breakdown so nails grow long, strong and smooth. Unique formadehyde-free formula contains okoume tree extract.")

Last edited by MissBlue; 09-04-2007 at 06:39 PM..
Old 09-05-2007, 03:24 PM   #12 (permalink)

Originally Posted by CARAMELSISTA View Post
i see you didn't listen to me. just try it nah
Ok I'll look for it today!
Old 09-05-2007, 03:46 PM   #13 (permalink)

Originally Posted by MissBlue View Post
yah Nailtique is good stuff, pricey though - its like 20$ ent?

Try ORLY - works much better than Sally Hansen, and most of their products are around 8-10.00.

Orly Professional Strengtheners: Calcium Shield® Nail Armor® Nail Defense® Tough Cookie®

I use the 'Nail Armour' ("Liquid silk nail wrap strengthens nails while Ridgefiller smoothes the surface for a flawless finish.")

and 'Won't-Chip' - ("Orly's super bond forms a tough polymer shield that gives manicures protection and shine. Helps prevent chipping and peeling for up to two weeks.")

here's a few you might like:

"Nail Defense" ("Protein and gelatin enriched to fortify weak nails. Bonds nail layers together, sealing the free edge to prevent peeling and chipping")

or "Tough Cookie" "(Strengthens soft, brittle nails with unique compound that slows keratin breakdown so nails grow long, strong and smooth. Unique formadehyde-free formula contains okoume tree extract.")
I'll look for these also and decide which one will be best.
Old 09-05-2007, 04:27 PM   #14 (permalink)
Smarty Skirt

Credits: 1,540
Also try increasing your daily calcium intake. I would suggest coral calcium but it can be expensive.
Old 09-05-2007, 04:47 PM   #15 (permalink)

Credits: 8,191
Originally Posted by Dougla Ting View Post
Ok I'll look for it today!
make sure you apply it every 2-3 days because regular soap/dishwashing liquid breaks down nail polish. i apply mine on top of my manicures and my nails last nearly a week and a half with no chipping, the most you'll see my nails growing out from the cuticle.