Old 04-19-2005, 11:47 AM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 4,515
Makeup Dilemmas: Shades for women of color...

I've noticed this for some years, that with the difference in seasons that I have to change my foundation or powder... Another thing is that I had to learn a trick, I don't stick to one shade. WHY?? Well our skin as black women are so in between at times, like I'm dark skin but I have red undertones.. So... a trick is that I work with a my regular MAC Studio fix shade and mix in with another shade that has a reddish tone to even my skin tone... Anyone else have this problem when it comes to shades of makeup??
Old 04-19-2005, 12:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Dreamweaver...

Credits: 439
I have yellow undertones....very different (I heard) for a woman of color (I blame my mom for this), so it was difficult to find a shade (in any product) that worked for me.....at first. Empy, like you, over the last few years I've been using MAC studio fix. 2 different shades actually - I during the winter months and another for the warmer months (usually June - Sept/Oct). I really like it, and most times folks can't tell that I'm wearing any makeup - which is exactly the look I go for.

Old 04-19-2005, 06:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
T-dot I gine miss yuh!

Credits: 25,264
How do you know what undertones you have?
I use Mac Studio fix in N9 ( not sure if its still called that) but its the darkest one they have but I find the makeup tends to look very "red" on my skin after awhile, same thing with Iman make up. Any other good brands out there?
Old 04-19-2005, 08:00 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 602
Loreal has a chart that you can use to determine your undertones. It is really good. I am sure the other manufacturers have them too.

I really like Loreal true match. I find they have the most shades for folks of color, at the best price. Prescriptives and Mac are also good, both Estee Lauder products.