Old 05-24-2006, 10:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Tantalizing Tee

Credits: 1,329
Locs - Oil Moisturizers, Shampoos, Conditioners

I need a good oil moisturizer, shampoo and conditioner for my man. He has dreads and it's becoming a bit dry. He goes to get it professionally done once every 3 weeks. What can he use in between visits? What can make his hair grow?

PLEASE HELP ME

THANK YOU IN ADVANCE
Old 05-24-2006, 10:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
elq
Cleophus aka pupah lashie

Credits: 1,036
go to any store that sells hair products
there are a bunch of products available for locs.
Old 05-24-2006, 10:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
F.G.I de cupcake criminal

Location: if yuh want 2 lock meh up ill be by de kiss cake truck!
Credits: 592
Originally Posted by elq
go to any store that sells hair products
there are a bunch of products available for locs.

You of all people come to answer lawd fadda....

umm Carols Daughters hav nice products and HerbnLife products are very good.
Old 05-24-2006, 11:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
SocaLuvinYardieGyal

Credits: 1,316
Folks in the loc thread swear by Jamaica Mango Lime products...check them out....I use Root Stimulator Olive Oil Spray....he should tie his head at night with a satin scarf or sleep on a satin pillowcase. Cotton products will absorb the oil out of his hair. he should probably get a hot oil conditioner (depending on how mature his locs are). In the end, he should tell his loctician...she might be able to do something about the dryness.
Old 05-25-2006, 01:51 AM   #5 (permalink)
elq
Cleophus aka pupah lashie

Credits: 1,036
Originally Posted by trini2bk

umm Carols Daughters hav nice products and HerbnLife products are very good.

i use jamaican mango lime products

guess who en keh...
Old 05-25-2006, 10:54 AM   #6 (permalink)
xtremeintl.com

Credits: 11,422
Originally Posted by trini2bk
what in the world is that suppose to mean??

Anyways, I use a shampoo and a conditioner from "jamaican mango & lime", a braid spray from "let's dred" (a lil hard to find), and for hair grease, african royale's mink oil gel.
Old 05-26-2006, 12:23 AM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 170
I use the Lets Dred shampoo and braid spray, i also use the Botanicals Moisturizing Braid Spray, it smells so nice and then to twist Jamaican mango & lime products
Old 05-27-2006, 12:44 PM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 9,298
As far as oil I use Palmer's Extra Virgin Olive Oil and I love it. I also use the Roots Stimulator Sheen that I think someone else mentioned.
Old 05-27-2006, 03:47 PM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 5,621
Originally Posted by Mystic Xtremist
what in the world is that suppose to mean??

Anyways, I use a shampoo and a conditioner from "jamaican mango & lime", a braid spray from "let's dred" (a lil hard to find), and for hair grease, african royale's mink oil gel.
Yuh ent find de conditioner hard to wash out??
Old 05-29-2006, 01:55 PM   #10 (permalink)
xtremeintl.com

Credits: 11,422
Originally Posted by RenzePenze
Yuh ent find de conditioner hard to wash out??
It's the only one I've ever used, so I prolly don't know any much better.......really, I'm serious, if there's easier out there I wouldn't know lol
Old 06-02-2006, 10:59 AM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 2,687
Originally Posted by Caribsun
Folks in the loc thread swear by Jamaica Mango Lime products...
That stuff leaves build up in your hair. I had a friend that used it for years and she stopped using it a few monthly ago because she started to realize that it was leaving build up in her hair.

A lot of people with locs don't realize that you don't need all those gels and waxes to twist your hair. All you need is a good oil or pomade to keep it moist and some clips to keep the twists tight until it dries and the twists stay just as good as if you used gel but without all the buildup. I use Nu Ade oil in my hair and that's it. I use Dove shampoo and conditioner.
Old 06-03-2006, 07:52 AM   #12 (permalink)
Tantalizing Tee

Credits: 1,329
Originally Posted by Dougla Ting
That stuff leaves build up in your hair. I had a friend that used it for years and she stopped using it a few monthly ago because she started to realize that it was leaving build up in her hair.

A lot of people with locs don't realize that you don't need all those gels and waxes to twist your hair. All you need is a good oil or pomade to keep it moist and some clips to keep the twists tight until it dries and the twists stay just as good as if you used gel but without all the buildup. I use Nu Ade oil in my hair and that's it. I use Dove shampoo and conditioner.
Exactly. I noticed that with that loc and twist gel. It makes his scalp itch and then flakes start to appear after a couple of days.

I'm going to look into that oil. Thank you.
Old 06-04-2006, 10:48 PM   #13 (permalink)
ganja is a herb!

Credits: 86
Originally Posted by MissLusciousTee
Exactly. I noticed that with that loc and twist gel. It makes his scalp itch and then flakes start to appear after a couple of days.

I'm going to look into that oil. Thank you.
I must agree with this! Man when I first started almost a year ago, that's all I used, and I swear, that my scalped stayed itchy! Now all I use is the Olive oil sheen spray. When I twist, i used to use the black beeswax, but I CAN'T STAND THAT SHYTE EITHER, MAN, I HAVE MESSED UP MANY PILLOW CASES AND ALL! So now, I am in search of some new products to! I think I am gonna try Carol's daughter products, to see what happens.