Credits: 47
Loc Comb Out...
hey there. Does anyone have experience with combing out locs? I am thinking about taking my locs out and I would rather not cut them off. TIA!!!
Credits: 2,699
i did it before, it took about 2 days. wash your hair, and use a deep conditioner. put on a plastic cap and/or go under a dryer. keep the conditioner in.. this will help soften the locs for you to comb them out, use a metal rat tail comb. you'll lose a lot of hair but don't be alarmed, that's just hair that was supposed to fall out but couldn't because your hair was locked.
Last edited by Dougla Ting; 07-11-2007 at 01:36 PM.. |
Credits: 1,263
Yeah thanks.. i am considering doing this also LOL
it's in my DNA
Credits: 1,012
i am going through the "ugly phase" with my hair right now and everytime my hair starts to grow out i want to just perm it. it has not locked yet but i now know how to take them when they do if i decide to take them out.
it's in my DNA
Credits: 1,012
Credits: 4,517
Dougla, thanks!!! Question, when you say a lot of hair- how much yuh talking? LOL. Like if my locs are to my shoulder in length, will I have about that much to work with? Also, as a result of the poc process, is our hair damaged at all? weak? What type of styles should I not jump right into? |
you won't lose any hair length-wise. you remember before you locked your hair when you combed it a little hair would come out in the comb sometimes? .... well all that hair that couldn't fall out because your hair was locked will come out. but it's not like your hair is gonna be thin. when i took mine out even though a lot of hair came out, my hair was very very thick and long.
So I did it Dougla. Not the comb out but the cut off. I will be joining you in the natural hair forum. Thanks for your advice.
Credits: 4,517
The creator only knows!! but I've been thinking about it for some time. I remember the easy experience I had with short hair and I really enjoyed my hair short, this time I'm thinking of a medium fro' that I can wash and twist who knows!
embrace the changes dahlin'! I cannot do the same thing for too long. I think that is my problem, I always want a different look. Going from short to long is so versatile so I know there will be constant new looks. I will post in the forum so you can see my progress.
Congrats on your new change
nice! as long as you're happy with it. i think that's my problem too. i love versatility and change when it comes to my hair. although i loved my locs, i felt i needed a change at the time. who knows... maybe i'll grow it back again someday. |