Old 01-14-2006, 08:02 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 5,166
Lipstick and Chapped Lips...

Can or do lipstick cause your lips to chap?
Old 01-14-2006, 10:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Whatever Lola wants...

Credits: 465
Originally Posted by G.T.socalova
MAC Lipstick and glosses make my lips and my sister's lips chapped. I think there are drying ingredients such as alcohol in some of these products that make your lips dry...just like they can do to your skin but the skin or your lips is much thinner. Also a lot of those long-wearing lipsticks (such as Revlon Colorstay) make your lips dry because of whatever ingredient they use to make it wear-proof. I recently purchased Dior Addict Lip gloss and it keeps my lips super soft.
Old 01-14-2006, 10:24 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 104
Originally Posted by G.T.socalova
i once got a chapped lips and a rash from a cheap gloss...so im really careful with what i buy now...
Old 01-15-2006, 05:57 PM   #4 (permalink)

Originally Posted by GoldenBrown
MAC Lipstick and glosses make my lips and my sister's lips chapped. I think there are drying ingredients such as alcohol in some of these products that make your lips dry...just like they can do to your skin but the skin or your lips is much thinner. Also a lot of those long-wearing lipsticks (such as Revlon Colorstay) make your lips dry because of whatever ingredient they use to make it wear-proof. I recently purchased Dior Addict Lip gloss and it keeps my lips super soft.
Ok, good. I believe it's the lipstick I'm using... cuz within a few hours after applying lipstick wit lipgloss my lips would start to chap but, if I use my lipgloss alone it doesn't chap so I started believe it was the lipstick dat was causing it.

I would look into purchasing a Dior Lipgloss... thanks for the info.
Old 01-15-2006, 05:59 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 1,116
the answer is yes so get somethng with a moisteriser in it i perfer a good lipgloss with a colour tint like i use mentha lip tint by co biggalow @ bath & body thats my winter/cold day lip m.o.
nice tingle to get the cells going great spearment aroma (as advertised great to camo bad breath) and nice shine and lip colour and if i want to go darker i just add a lip pencil on top and blend no hard work
Old 01-15-2006, 06:03 PM   #6 (permalink)

Originally Posted by DeSocaPrincess
the answer is yes so get somethng with a moisteriser in it i perfer a good lipgloss with a colour tint like i use mentha lip tint by co biggalow @ bath & body thats my winter/cold day lip m.o.
nice tingle to get the cells going great spearment aroma (as advertised great to camo bad breath) and nice shine and lip colour and if i want to go darker i just add a lip pencil on top and blend no hard work
Thanks... I knew it, but ah just wanted to mek sure.
Old 01-15-2006, 06:31 PM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 1,116
any time
Old 01-16-2006, 01:23 PM   #8 (permalink)
December Baby

Credits: 521
Try

Carol Daughter Lip gloss $4.50 at 125st Manhattan or the new lip infusion buy Blistex work great I have really bad chap lips.
Old 01-16-2006, 01:27 PM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 5,799
wear lipbalm under your lipglass or lipsticks