Old 03-07-2007, 02:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Your Royal Sexiness

Credits: 127,796
Imix professionals with locs

y'all know that for the last 3 months I've been going through the transitioning process (back to natural hair) but I've also been toying with the idea of locing my hair. I have not yet decided on that because I love the feel of the comb in my hair.

I do have a couple questions for those of you with locs in the corporate/professional world.

Are you looked at any differently a work,because of your hair?

How do you wear your hair to work?

Have your supervisor made any negative comments re your hair?

Did you have a harder time securing professional employment because of your hair?
Old 03-07-2007, 02:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mrs. S

Credits: 834
Smile

i want 2 loc my hair but meh mother goin b like meh father is ah indian give me good hair and i gonna put doh doh loc in meh hair
Old 03-07-2007, 02:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
~Dare to be freeeeeee~

Credits: 16,077
Originally Posted by Val View Post
y'all know that for the last 3 months I've been going through the transitioning process (back to natural hair) but I've also been toying with the idea of locing my hair. I have not yet decided on that because I love the feel of the comb in my hair.

I do have a couple questions for those of you with locs in the corporate/professional world.

Did you have a harder time securing professional employment because of your hair?
at my previous job my boss didnt have any problems with my locs.
I used to wear it down, but it was always neatly done.
My supervisor never made any comments about my hair, he actually complimented me a lot about it. (I guess cuz he's black)

I interviewed numerous times for positions in hotels and one b!tch asked me if i was willing to comply with the grooming standards they have for their employees. At the time the interview was going great, I answered all her questions wonderfully and I was confident I had the job. Then she threw this monkey wrench, I said, sure I'm always well groomed. Is only after the interview i realized what she was really getting at. I was so damn turned off by the whole thing, i didnt bother to interview for any other positions at that hotel and I eventually cut my locs for employment reasons, as well as others.

Trying to get into corporate america as an African American woman is difficult (most times). Having locs in my opinion, draws attention to you and most times negatively. It's sad, but reality. The way I feel about this whole hotel industry right now is i'm not even sure if it's the field I wanna pursue. But i'm not going to give up until I've exhausted all my resources.

My advice will be to keep your hair neat at all times. When you're going in for interviews, make sure your hair is pulled back in one, away from your face. Don't give them a reason to blank you. Btw, my hair was pulled back in one for the interview.
Old 03-07-2007, 02:34 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 5,607
Originally Posted by lizzietrin1 View Post
i want 2 loc my hair but meh mother goin b like meh father is ah indian give me good hair and i gonna put doh doh loc in meh hair
Is only bad hair people does lock dey hair??

1. No I am not.

2. In a pony tail or open. Practically how i wear my hair at any time...lol. Coloured bright or sometimes in black.

3. No negative comments at all from my boss. Even when i'm in that "need to take a wash and tighten" mode.

4. I don't think I would. I hardly have my hair in a state that I think would affect the outcome of a job interview.

One time i interviewd and the bank and got the job and the local supervisor asked me to cut it off!!!
Old 03-07-2007, 02:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Southern Belle

Credits: 23,301
Originally Posted by Val3nie2debone View Post
at my previous job my boss didnt have any problems with my locs.
I used to wear it down, but it was always neatly done.
My supervisor never made any comments about my hair, he actually complimented me a lot about it. (I guess cuz he's black)

I interviewed numerous times for positions in hotels and one b!tch asked me if i was willing to comply with the grooming standards they have for their employees. At the time the interview was going great, I answered all her questions wonderfully and I was confident I had the job. Then she threw this monkey wrench, I said, sure I'm always well groomed. Is only after the interview i realized what she was really getting at. I was so damn turned off by the whole thing, i didnt bother to interview for any other positions at that hotel and I eventually cut my locs for employment reasons, as well as others.

Trying to get into corporate america as an African American woman is difficult (most times). Having locs in my opinion, draws attention to you and most times negatively. It's sad, but reality. The way I feel about this whole hotel industry right now is i'm not even sure if it's the field I wanna pursue. But i'm not going to give up until I've exhausted all my resources.

My advice will be to keep your hair neat at all times. When you're going in for interviews, make sure your hair is pulled back in one, away from your face. Don't give them a reason to blank you. Btw, my hair was pulled back in one for the interview.
And that is why I gave up being natural...it was either be natural with my 'fro, or relaxed (my hair can't take the heat of a pressing comb on a weekly basis, along with a curling iron to tame the poof).
Old 03-07-2007, 02:39 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 1,263

Well I been locing after I got this job and I have had no problems at all.
I wear my hair down, or whatever style the hairstylist put in it
Old 03-07-2007, 02:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
Your Royal Sexiness

Credits: 127,796
what is "good hair"?

some people cannot get over that still huh
Old 03-07-2007, 02:44 PM   #8 (permalink)
~Dare to be freeeeeee~

Originally Posted by RenzePenze View Post

One time i interviewd and the bank and got the job and the local supervisor asked me to cut it off!!!
Gyul why even bother to ask that question? No offense to her mom, but a lot of west indian parents are caught up in this good hair/bad hair bs.

Them folks back home does come straight to your face and ask you to cut your hair, it happened to one of my girlfriends. She told the supervisor what she could do with the hair on her head

Originally Posted by mz_JazE View Post
And that is why I gave up being natural...it was either be natural with my 'fro, or relaxed (my hair can't take the heat of a pressing comb on a weekly basis, along with a curling iron to tame the poof).
Well I'm keeping my hair natural, I already made up my mind that I won't be putting any perm in my hair again. I will loc it back, but when I secure a position somewhere that I plan on staying for a while and offer room for growth.

Originally Posted by Calor View Post
Well I been locing after I got this job and I have had no problems at all.
I wear my hair down, or whatever style the hairstylist put in it
that's what i plan to do, loc it after I get the job.
Old 03-07-2007, 02:46 PM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 4,480
Originally Posted by RenzePenze View Post

!!!
I seein plenty white, asian and Indians wit locs lol.. I've heard worse though! lol
Old 03-07-2007, 02:46 PM   #10 (permalink)
who Jah bless no man cus

Credits: 563
what exactly is "good hair" ????
Old 03-07-2007, 02:50 PM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 4,480
Gyul why even bother to ask that question? No offense to her mom, but a lot of west indian parents are caught up in this good hair/bad hair bs.

Them folks back home does come straight to your face and ask you to cut your hair, it happened to one of my girlfriends. She told the supervisor what she could do with the hair on her head

Well I'm keeping my hair natural, I already made up my mind that I won't be putting any perm in my hair again. I will loc it back, but when I secure a position somewhere that I plan on staying for a while and offer room for growth.

that's what i plan to do, loc it after I get the job.
I love your hair short too... It makes me miss my short style myself... But to be honest like I told a girlfriend who's leaving Law School, and knowing what she's been told about her locs, if she really wants this she can either cut it and get into the field and grow it back or stick to your rights of wanting to keep your locs and find a firm that accepts you, loc and all... Sometimes we have to make sacrifices...
Old 03-07-2007, 02:58 PM   #12 (permalink)
~Dare to be freeeeeee~

Originally Posted by Empressdududahlin View Post
I love your hair short too... It makes me miss my short style myself... But to be honest like I told a girlfriend who's leaving Law School, and knowing what she's been told about her locs, if she really wants this she can either cut it and get into the field and grow it back or stick to your rights of wanting to keep your locs and find a firm that accepts you, loc and all... Sometimes we have to make sacrifices...
I love the short natural look the most, it's an afro now, since I've been braiding it for the past couple of months, if I only go and cut it again, nuff peeps will hang me

When it comes to careers you're right, sacrifices have to be made. For me the locs was more for vanity than anything else, I mean I loved my locs, they showed part of who I am, but when I thought about if it was worth possibly losing out on a job that I can benefit from, I decided that I can make the sacrifice and cut it. I haven't regretted my decision, but I do look forward to the day where I can grow my locs again.
Old 03-07-2007, 02:58 PM   #13 (permalink)
who Jah bless no man cus

Credits: 563
I started my locs when I was well into my profession so I never had any problems the only thing that really gets under my skin is when ppl say to me......

1.You have a "good grade of hair" which just happened yesterday

or

2. you keep your hair so nice and neat all the time "not like some"
Old 03-07-2007, 03:07 PM   #14 (permalink)
xtremeintl.com

Credits: 11,421
I know one girl, mid-20s, who works in Hotel Management (I forget the chain), and she has locs. So that may not be the case across the whole industry per se.

Besides, which what bout locs, all you had was lil baby twists
Old 03-07-2007, 03:15 PM   #15 (permalink)
CQ83...Rasta P83...

Credits: 5,012

Well I come in with my hair wrapped up everyday. come to think of it, they actually like it. Never any negative comments, if anything they are lobbying to get me to take it down so they can see what it looks like.