Old 01-16-2006, 12:50 AM   #1 (permalink)
ganja is a herb!

Credits: 86
I quit smoking cigarettes today!

Well i quite smoking cigarettes today and so far I FEEL good, i don't know how long this feeling will last, but right now I feel good. Has anyone stop smoking cigarettes before?? If so, how did you do?? Did you use a patch or anything, pleae come share your stories with me. I must say I have been smoking for a long time and i know this will be journey! Anyone ever stop and been successful with it???
Old 01-16-2006, 01:07 AM   #2 (permalink)
Unregistered User

Credits: 633
I'm not a smoker but....good for you!

Good luck on your journey!
Old 01-16-2006, 01:34 AM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 15,465
Originally Posted by GANJA QUEEN
Well i quite smoking cigarettes today and so far I FEEL good, i don't know how long this feeling will last, but right now I feel good. Has anyone stop smoking cigarettes before?? If so, how did you do?? Did you use a patch or anything, pleae come share your stories with me. I must say I have been smoking for a long time and i know this will be journey! Anyone ever stop and been successful with it???
i quit for the second time 4 months ago. i wasnt ready the first time so a relapsed. i used the patch on both occasions. the patch causes some side effects, read the label. u can have some strange dreams, no shit. the second time i stopped using the patch after 3 weeks because i was going thru some serious mood swings. so for the last 3 months i havent used any smoking aids, i have temptations here and there when i hang out, bored or feeling stressed. so far i havent relapsed again. carnival will be the real test as to how long this will last. will power is the only thing that will carry u thru. damn i want to smoke, its tough. good luck
Old 01-16-2006, 11:33 AM   #4 (permalink)
SocaIrish

it will take about 72 hrs. for the nicotine to exit your system...so depending on the amount you smoked daily and how your system metabolized nicotine you can expect cravings and withdrawl symtoms for about 3 days (although some people who smoke heavily or have strong behavioural "triggers" say this goes on for 3 weeks).

try to drink a lot of water, sleep and keep active during this time. you might also want to think about avoiding situations that you associate with smoking (i.e. drinking, going to a club).

and if you do relapse don't be too hard on yourself - it takes most smokers several attempts and methods before they quit "for good". you should also reward yourself for each day smoke-free - but be careful not to substitute food for cigarettes.

good luck!
Old 01-16-2006, 12:49 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 698
Never been a smoker, but good luck with this decision...I'm proud and happy for you and wish you courage and determination in taking control of your health and your life.

Nygee hinted at something when he spoke of tempations that arise whenever he hangs out...as with any addiction, quitting the substance is but a part of it...changing your lifestyle is probably the more important change for you to consider...doesn't mean that you can't hang out, but you may want to reconsider where and with whom you hang out.
Old 01-16-2006, 12:53 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 5,794
good luck and keep it up

Old 01-16-2006, 12:58 PM   #7 (permalink)

I've never been a smoker....Congrats on your decision. I'm sure it won't be easy, but stick to it. However, after seeing your name Ganja Queen...will you be smoking more of deh HighGrade ?
Old 01-16-2006, 01:04 PM   #8 (permalink)
ganja is a herb!

Originally Posted by nygee
i quit for the second time 4 months ago. i wasnt ready the first time so a relapsed. i used the patch on both occasions. the patch causes some side effects, read the label. u can have some strange dreams, no shit. the second time i stopped using the patch after 3 weeks because i was going thru some serious mood swings. so for the last 3 months i havent used any smoking aids, i have temptations here and there when i hang out, bored or feeling stressed. so far i havent relapsed again. carnival will be the real test as to how long this will last. will power is the only thing that will carry u thru. damn i want to smoke, its tough. good luck
FUNNY YOU SAID THAT! CAUSE I jumped up about 5am cause I thought that someone was cursing me out! lol!
That's the way I was when I got up this morning. But I am doing good. almost 12 hrs! This is the first time I stopped, and I can't really say if it's hard or not yet. But we will see. Good luck to u to!
Old 01-16-2006, 01:05 PM   #9 (permalink)
ganja is a herb!

Originally Posted by SocaIrish
it will take about 72 hrs. for the nicotine to exit your system...so depending on the amount you smoked daily and how your system metabolized nicotine you can expect cravings and withdrawl symtoms for about 3 days (although some people who smoke heavily or have strong behavioural "triggers" say this goes on for 3 weeks).

try to drink a lot of water, sleep and keep active during this time. you might also want to think about avoiding situations that you associate with smoking (i.e. drinking, going to a club).

and if you do relapse don't be too hard on yourself - it takes most smokers several attempts and methods before they quit "for good". you should also reward yourself for each day smoke-free - but be careful not to substitute food for cigarettes.

good luck!
thanks
Old 01-16-2006, 01:06 PM   #10 (permalink)
ganja is a herb!

Originally Posted by Bake n Shark
Never been a smoker, but good luck with this decision...I'm proud and happy for you and wish you courage and determination in taking control of your health and your life.

Nygee hinted at something when he spoke of tempations that arise whenever he hangs out...as with any addiction, quitting the substance is but a part of it...changing your lifestyle is probably the more important change for you to consider...doesn't mean that you can't hang out, but you may want to reconsider where and with whom you hang out.
I will be ok with this, cause I don't hang out! mY BIGGEST PROBLEM may be when I wake up like this morning!
Old 01-16-2006, 01:07 PM   #11 (permalink)
ganja is a herb!

I've never been a smoker....Congrats on your decision. I'm sure it won't be easy, but stick to it. However, after seeing your name Ganja Queen...will you be smoking more of deh HighGrade ?
Old 01-16-2006, 01:08 PM   #12 (permalink)
ganja is a herb!

Originally Posted by Sugahkhayne
good luck and keep it up
Thanks
Old 01-16-2006, 01:08 PM   #13 (permalink)

just a question *yuh ain't answer yet *
Old 01-16-2006, 01:13 PM   #14 (permalink)
Whatever Lola wants...

Credits: 464
I was going to ask the same thing!

Seriously though...Good Luck and Congratulations on your decision! Just take it one day at a time! You can do it!
Old 01-16-2006, 01:28 PM   #15 (permalink)
ganja is a herb!

just a question *yuh ain't answer yet *
I am gonna try not to!