Old 01-10-2006, 10:49 AM   #1 (permalink)
aka Karl Logan

Credits: 872
Question I-mix women, serious question here!

I was with my woman lastnight and she had some Jergens lotion, which came with a free trial version of some type of "Natural Glow" creme!
Now, I'm looking at this thing and supposably from what I'm looking at this stuff is suppose add a "hint of color" to your skin (totally confused at this point).

So of course I did my due diligence and went to Jergens website. I was really shocked by what I saw. Questions such as the on below:

Will I get too dark? Will the color be even?
After one week of daily use, your skin should be about one shade darker. Continue to use the product daily or every other day, so that the color will be maintained and skin tone will remain even.
JergensŪ natural glow Daily Moisturizer gradually darkens only the very top layers of your skin. And since the top layers of skin cells naturally exfoliate to expose new skin cells, your skin color will naturally reach a plateau. Regular use of JergensŪ natural glow Daily Moisturizer ensures evenness of skin color.
The one thing that I'm thinking about when I see these white women "photoshoped" to look like my people is "Why WE the displaced people with so many issues when THEY want to be like us so badly?!?!"

Am I over-reacting or is this a thought shared by others as well?
Old 01-10-2006, 10:57 AM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 5,791
Originally Posted by kevlocks
I was with my woman lastnight and she had some Jergens lotion, which came with a free trial version of some type of "Natural Glow" creme!
Now, I'm looking at this thing and supposably from what I'm looking at this stuff is suppose add a "hint of color" to your skin (totally confused at this point).

So of course I did my due diligence and went to Jergens website. I was really shocked by what I saw. Questions such as the on below:

The one thing that I'm thinking about when I see these white women "photoshoped" to look like my people is "Why WE the displaced people with so many issues when THEY want to be like us so badly?!?!"

i been asking myself this question too. for instance i remember when i was younger and i wanted to perm my hair my dad looked at me and said...you see how white ppl does come here and get their hair cornrow like yours but it don't come out right b/c their hair lacks the texture and kinkiness yours has. why do you want to remove what you have naturally and others trying to imitate what you have. well i still went and perm my hair anyway it was not until 1999 that i stopped perming my hair. guess it too 7 years for that to sink in.

Old 01-10-2006, 11:04 AM   #3 (permalink)
aka Karl Logan

Originally Posted by Sugahkhayne
i been asking myself this question too. for instance i remember when i was younger and i wanted to perm my hair my dad looked at me and said...you see how white ppl does come here and get their hair cornrow like yours but it don't come out right b/c their hair lacks the texture and kinkiness yours has. why do you want to remove what you have naturally and others trying to imitate what you have. well i still went and perm my hair anyway it was not until 1999 that i stopped perming my hair. guess it too 7 years for that to sink in.
I just found it amaing how they're trying to push this product by giving it away as a free sample. this society we live in amazes me at times and this is one of them times
Old 01-10-2006, 11:08 AM   #4 (permalink)
who Jah bless no man cus

Credits: 564
Funny on one site jahpikeney posting bout why deh bleach the sugar and now you with this question.

I so often wonder about this cause you know we as " black ppl" go through a transformation or such where in the 80's it was all about being light skinned ,then in the 90's black was right.

I say all of this to get to your point are we as "black ppl" truly comfortable with our color or is it because our color is now so popular that we can feel comfortable with it?

Might be a little off topic I dont know just things that I think about to be dark is in "white ppl" tanning and got glow creams and we using dem too just makes ya think......
Old 01-10-2006, 11:15 AM   #5 (permalink)
aka Karl Logan

Originally Posted by JAHTEE
Funny on one site jahpikeney posting bout why deh bleach the sugar and now you with this question.

I so often wonder about this cause you know we as " black ppl" go through a transformation or such where in the 80's it was all about being light skinned ,then in the 90's black was right.

I say all of this to get to your point are we as "black ppl" truly comfortable with our color or is it because our color is now so popular that we can feel comfortable with it?

Might be a little off topic I dont know just things that I think about to be dark is in "white ppl" tanning and got glow creams and we using dem too just makes ya think......
We're all facked with regards to skin color and complexion issues. Somc eof it is VERY sumbliminal. We're called black people and white's are WHITE. I was reading Malcom X's book and when he made reference to reading the definitions of these both, it really lets you know how we are looked upon as being negative. so with that being the case, why they want to be what it is they view as being negative?
Old 01-10-2006, 11:19 AM   #6 (permalink)
She

Credits: 741
Originally Posted by kevlocks

No you are not over reacting. I say this all the time. They scorn us and all kind of thing, but they tan their skin to damn near look like us! Madness, that is why we must love our skin and start to love each other more and teach each other!

Jahtee and Sugahkhayne...you guys bring up some good points!
Old 01-10-2006, 11:23 AM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 1,076
Not to take away from the point you are trying to raise..But honestly I just think at this point it is human nature that people are not satisfied with what they are given and want what they do not have..

Those with straight hair want wavy hair..those with wavy hair want straight hair...those that are light would like color and those that have color want to be light...
Old 01-10-2006, 11:28 AM   #8 (permalink)
who Jah bless no man cus

Exactly!!!

I was thinking the same thing you know the part in Malcom X (movie)when the White woman ask him what can a white person do to help you and he says nothing ,not in those words but you get the jist of it that is my favorite part.we can not look fa dem to do for us we have to do for ourselves.

see they take the good out off everthing and transform it into what they think is better,so they might want the asian nose/w/the black ppl lips and complexion.....but in reality they are not happy with themselves thats why they are forever trying to change...(appreance)
Old 01-10-2006, 11:29 AM   #9 (permalink)
Crucian fuh eva!

Credits: 701
No, yuh no over reacting. It is interesting tuh see how ppl do to simulate that that they see as negative. Its in darkening skin, enlarging body parts, perming hair (for curliness), etc. Es crazy to see how some ppl lay and bake in de hot sun all damn day to get dark! Dem go end up wid de worse skin cancer!
Old 01-10-2006, 11:39 AM   #10 (permalink)
aka Karl Logan

Originally Posted by Brown Eyes
Not to take away from the point you are trying to raise..But honestly I just think at this point it is human nature that people are not satisfied with what they are given and want what they do not have..

Those with straight hair want wavy hair..those with wavy hair want straight hair...those that are light would like color and those that have color want to be light...
I agreed with the concept of humanity seeking and needing more, however when looking at this particular product and who it is being marketed to and for what reasons, I'm just amazed at the hows and why behind it that I read when going to the site. The thing is there to make white people darker. Plain and simple.

Now this doesn't excuse what's on the other spectrum either with our people a bleaching creams, however with that notion comes the constant baggering of what it is to be black in this society:

Definitions of the word black from meriam-websters dictionary:
a:thoroughly sinister or evil : WICKED <a black deed>

b : indicative of condemnation or discredit <got a black mark for being late>

c: connected with or invoking the supernatural and especially the devil <black magic>

d: very sad, gloomy, or calamitous <black despair>
e: marked by the occurrence of disaster <black Friday>
Old 01-10-2006, 11:40 AM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 4,483
I think with this, it's also how we as a people can help "OURSELVES" move forward as a people. For example I look at the label's name ForUsByUs... I think we need to start supporting our people from he foods, the products, using natural prodcuts (like shea butter and the earth), stop putting money in THEIR pockets. You see I realize that in a world like this, as long as the tv and media is to play there is a mental brainwashing of what looks good or what is right. For years they told us to straighten our hair, lighten our skin, slenderize our shape, buy our clothes, eat the snacks and process foods... and what does it end up being: OUR HAIR BEING FRIED, OUR SKIN BEING BURNED, CLOTHES THAT DON'T FIT OUR NATURAL SHAPES, OBESED COMMUNITIES... It's time to move on from these products that are not for us and it's time for us to support what is for us.
The 70's was a moment where black people were NATURAL, FREE, and just glowing in their Natural selves... I look at the days now and I see that perhaps we are getting some where with natural living and going back to the days of who were...
Old 01-10-2006, 11:44 AM   #12 (permalink)
who Jah bless no man cus

Originally Posted by buss up shot
No you are not over reacting. I say this all the time. They scorn us and all kind of thing, but they tan their skin to damn near look like us! Madness, that is why we must love our skin and start to love each other more and teach each other!
Jahtee and Sugahkhayne...you guys bring up some good points!
I so agree with you on that point!!
Old 01-10-2006, 11:48 AM   #13 (permalink)
aka Karl Logan

Originally Posted by HoneyEmpress
I think with this, it's also how we as a people can help "OURSELVES" move forward as a people. For example I look at the label's name ForUsByUs... I think we need to start supporting our people from he foods, the products, using natural prodcuts (like shea butter and the earth), stop putting money in THEIR pockets. You see I realize that in a world like this, as long as the tv and media is to play there is a mental brainwashing of what looks good or what is right. For years they told us to straighten our hair, lighten our skin, slenderize our shape, buy our clothes, eat the snacks and process foods... and what does it end up being: OUR HAIR BEING FRIED, OUR SKIN BEING BURNED, CLOTHES THAT DON'T FIT OUR NATURAL SHAPES, OBESED COMMUNITIES... It's time to move on from these products that are not for us and it's time for us to support what is for us.
The 70's was a moment where black people were NATURAL, FREE, and just glowing in their Natural selves... I look at the days now and I see that perhaps we are getting some where with natural living and going back to the days of who were...
VERY good point!!! sometimes I wonder why there isn't a Black own clothing store that makes suits?!??!? If I could by a nice suit made with good quality from black people, I would do it!!!!
Old 01-10-2006, 12:01 PM   #14 (permalink)
She

Credits: 741
I love to put money in our black people's pocket, but some of the clothes are tacky and overpriced. Lets take FUBU as a example, their name is all over their clothes and I feel that looks tacky! Another thing, some of the clothes and procducts our people offer for us are ridiculously expensive. I am talking about 90.00 to 300.00 a shirt and all kind of madness! I would not buy a white person's clothes if it was that expensive either. I dont know, probably I am cheap!
Old 01-10-2006, 12:05 PM   #15 (permalink)
who Jah bless no man cus

We are going back to this way of life cause we realize that everthing the old ppl where saying is true it just that we have to learn for ourselves.

The other day my mother law made me some bush tea and some cercey bush and said thats fa you and ya husband take a dose of that once ta twice a week the old ways are the best ways ! they call this alternative med now......