Old 01-25-2007, 02:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Southern Belle

Credits: 23,299
I'm feeling a little lazy

I can't cornrow, but I need to give me a hair rest from the daily combing, and every other day curling (my hair can't hold a curl unless I roller set it, and my hours have changed on my for my work week). I'm so burnt out running errands for the family that by Sunday I wonder where my weekend went. I need a quick way to braid my hair aka extensions. Any quick braiding suggestions that it won't take me the entire weekend to my hair, or at least where I want just worry about the main parts (front, sides and back) so I can work on it during the week?
Old 01-25-2007, 03:00 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 160,080
Originally Posted by mz_JazE View Post
I can't cornrow, but I need to give me a hair rest from the daily combing, and every other day curling (my hair can't hold a curl unless I roller set it, and my hours have changed on my for my work week). I'm so burnt out running errands for the family that by Sunday I wonder where my weekend went. I need a quick way to braid my hair aka extensions. Any quick braiding suggestions that it won't take me the entire weekend to my hair, or at least where I want just worry about the main parts (front, sides and back) so I can work on it during the week?
meen know u asking for a hookup or what to tell the braider when u go to the salon?

Old 01-25-2007, 06:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Southern Belle

meen know u asking for a hookup or what to tell the braider when u go to the salon?
chile i'm talking about doing by myself, i'm too broke to go see a pro-fess-ional or "hood stylist."
Old 01-25-2007, 06:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
SocaLuvinYardieGyal

Credits: 1,312
chile i'm talking about doing by myself, i'm too broke to go see a pro-fess-ional or "hood stylist."
I was going to suggest getting someone to do it for you. That way, you'd get it done and it would last you a while...so you wouldn't have to think about your hair. Doing braids with extensions can take a while...
Old 01-25-2007, 08:20 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 160,080
so u can do ur own hair with extentions so u only wanna know what style?

Old 01-26-2007, 01:48 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 2,675
but u said u can't cornrow. u betta go and pay to get ur hair done before u go outside lookin a hot mess doing it yuhself.

the only other option is boxbraids but if u do that yourself, it will probably take you all weekend to do.

Last edited by Dougla Ting; 01-26-2007 at 01:50 PM..
Old 01-26-2007, 02:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
CQ
sexy thang

Credits: 3,023
Originally Posted by Dougla Ting View Post
but u said u can't cornrow. u betta go and pay to get ur hair done before u go outside lookin a hot mess doing it yuhself.
the only other option is boxbraids but if u do that yourself, it will probably take you all weekend to do.
LOL

Jaze doing yuh own hair is pressha! girl hit yuh chest and go and get it down rite.
Old 01-26-2007, 02:06 PM   #8 (permalink)
Kiz

Credits: 14,041
come cross the bridge leh me do it for you
Old 01-26-2007, 02:10 PM   #9 (permalink)
Southern Belle

so u can do ur own hair with extentions so u only wanna know what style?
yup that's it
Originally Posted by Dougla Ting View Post

thank you, girl I already know it'll take me all weekend, and I want it to last for at least a month (that's usually how long I keep my braids in). I don't have the $$$ (big difference btwn $5.25 for 3 packs of hair vs $200+ ) to waste for my hair to be braided for only month, it's not that hard for me to braid my hair though. Plus it's on my schedule, and not me having to go around when I can get a ride to the place. The longest it had taken me to braid my hair was 12hrs, but I was learning how to do kinky twists (naw I pass on doing those my arms couldn't take it). Box braids are a good choice, and plus I do my braids really small that's the only reason why it'll take me the entire weekend (braiding it small like that prevents me from wanting to take them out in 2 weeks.

Last edited by mz_JazE; 01-26-2007 at 02:13 PM..
Old 01-26-2007, 02:22 PM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 7,279
why not get a wig…u can braid ur own hair underneath and put de wig over.
Old 01-26-2007, 02:24 PM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 2,675
yup that's it

thank you, girl I already know it'll take me all weekend, and I want it to last for at least a month (that's usually how long I keep my braids in). I don't have the $$$ (big difference btwn $5.25 for 3 packs of hair vs $200+ ) to waste for my hair to be braided for only month, it's not that hard for me to braid my hair though. Plus it's on my schedule, and not me having to go around when I can get a ride to the place. The longest it had taken me to braid my hair was 12hrs, but I was learning how to do kinky twists (naw I pass on doing those my arms couldn't take it). Box braids are a good choice, and plus I do my braids really small that's the only reason why it'll take me the entire weekend (braiding it small like that prevents me from wanting to take them out in 2 weeks.

well if you're going to box braid it, I would not suggest using dat 5.25 for 3 pack hair. that hair is for cornrows NOT BOX BRAIDS. if you want your box braids to look good then you should use human hair but it may be pricey... BUT you can wash the human hair and reuse it. i have a friend that reuses her human hair at least twice because she pays A LOT for it and it always looks good. using that cheap hair for box braids doesn't look good atal in my opinion and it doesn't last as long (neatness) as the human hair.
Old 01-26-2007, 03:32 PM   #12 (permalink)
Southern Belle

Originally Posted by Trinikiz View Post
come cross the bridge leh me do it for you
are you playing with my emotions?
Originally Posted by luvlee View Post
why not get a wig…u can braid ur own hair underneath and put de wig over.
I did think about, but more for like the summer time in between my roller sets.

DT--I've done them before using kanekalon (sp), and they came out nice. Last time I had human hair braids, they kept slipping out (was told I should've had them spritz my hair to death, and try to not waste it, just keep adding hair oil and braid spray)
Old 01-26-2007, 03:40 PM   #13 (permalink)
XTC Inc.

Credits: 8,307
I dont know if u are natural or not.... but if you are you can just twist your hair and leave it like that for awhile
Old 01-26-2007, 03:59 PM   #14 (permalink)
Southern Belle

Originally Posted by carib_xtc View Post
I dont know if u are natural or not.... but if you are you can just twist your hair and leave it like that for awhile
yup did that before (those were over 70 twists, that I did myself in about 4.5 hrs)

kryst I might just skin my head again like I did a few years ago with my "man" head , and go natural again. Even though it still wasn't that easy for me (my 'fro would never stay in place; one strong wind, lopsided 'fro).

*stole Val's pic*

I've done these before with kanekalon before, just did the hot water thing at the ends of my hair. Most of the time it was in a bun though

Last edited by mz_JazE; 01-26-2007 at 06:16 PM..
Old 01-29-2007, 10:37 AM   #15 (permalink)
Southern Belle

how I spent my Saturday evening, and entire Sunday

I took these pix around 5something this morning, before I got ready for work. They're not as clear as I would like them to be, but you get the idea of what I did. I'm not finished just yet, I have some more to do in the middle, but I got tired.

Last edited by mz_JazE; 01-29-2007 at 10:41 AM..