Old 06-04-2006, 10:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
luk de reel trubble yah

Credits: 1,069
How do I acheive this hairstyle at home??

What size curling iron would i need to use? I only really use the really large barrel one, if i ever add a curl to my hair ...

and most importantly, how do i maintain this style over a few days?

is it something that needs retouching every morning or night? and lawd, how do i sleep/set my hair at night?

tanks ladies
how-do-i-acheive-hairstyle-home-4-tyra-bank.jpg  
Attached Images
File Type: bmp untitled.bmp (253.5 KB, 20 views)
Old 06-04-2006, 11:52 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 1,111
wrap it @ night like a doobie but doh use pins,

take a jumbo barrel curling iron run it flat to the mid point of the hair and then curl the remainder. part it in 12 or more sections and then finger brush the curls. thats how i would do it. and a good wrapping /setting lotion/spray is key to holding curls

or you can do the above but comb/brush your hair in the direction you want it to go and then use the giant pink or purple rollers and sleep with a satin hair net or scarf if you have it.

Last edited by DeSocaPrincess; 06-04-2006 at 11:56 PM..
Old 06-09-2006, 09:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
spring garden I coming

Credits: 1,326
Originally Posted by DeSocaPrincess
wrap it @ night like a doobie but doh use pins,

take a jumbo barrel curling iron run it flat to the mid point of the hair and then curl the remainder. part it in 12 or more sections and then finger brush the curls. thats how i would do it. and a good wrapping /setting lotion/spray is key to holding curls

or you can do the above but comb/brush your hair in the direction you want it to go and then use the giant pink or purple rollers and sleep with a satin hair net or scarf if you have it.
well ur part right if she wrap it she can't leave the wrap to long cause it would flatting it so the best thing is to set ur hair then blow dry the top but don't touch the bottom so the top can be straight and the bottom stay curl
Old 06-10-2006, 12:02 AM   #4 (permalink)
T-dot I gine miss yuh!

Credits: 24,954
I'm thinking a good roller set with XL rollers and then a wrap...you could try Velcro rollers for a few days after to keep the shape
Old 06-10-2006, 12:05 AM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 9,287
Originally Posted by MsEnglishHarbour
What size curling iron would i need to use? I only really use the really large barrel one, if i ever add a curl to my hair ...

and most importantly, how do i maintain this style over a few days?

is it something that needs retouching every morning or night? and lawd, how do i sleep/set my hair at night?

tanks ladies

Damn watching styles like that makes me miss my perm. I used to curl with large barrel curlers and then wrap it for a few minutes. Unwrap my hair, then part it in the direction you want...smooth out the top and then touch up the ends with a barrel curling iron.
Old 06-10-2006, 12:13 AM   #6 (permalink)
T-dot I gine miss yuh!

Credits: 24,954
Originally Posted by Prinzez Diva
Damn watching styles like that makes me miss my perm. I used to curl with large barrel curlers and then wrap it for a few minutes. Unwrap my hair, then part it in the direction you want...smooth out the top and then touch up the ends with a barrel curling iron.
In was thinking the same thing...every now and then i miss my old hair...
Old 06-10-2006, 03:32 PM   #7 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Prinzez Diva

dais why they have remington ceramic straightening irons. my hair rebels on me , but a blow dry with the comb then the ceramic irons does the trick.
Old 06-10-2006, 04:04 PM   #8 (permalink)
The JaM™

Off-topic:

Y'all realise this is one of two threads currently active that eh have nuttin to do wid football?
Old 06-10-2006, 04:18 PM   #9 (permalink)
Im a SEXY B!TCH HATER

Credits: 1,134
Originally Posted by VincyJam82
Off-topic:

Y'all realise this is one of two threads currently active that eh have nuttin to do wid football?
not anymore
Old 06-10-2006, 04:19 PM   #10 (permalink)
The JaM™

Originally Posted by PtHova
not anymore
I now see dat...
Old 06-10-2006, 06:04 PM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 160,079
Originally Posted by VincyJam82
Off-topic:

tru dat

Old 06-10-2006, 06:08 PM   #12 (permalink)
Castle Dweller

Credits: 349
I n response to how you sleep with it, you could also finger roll the bottom with a Bobby pin like they do in the Dominican Salons. I find that keeps your hair curly and its comfortable to sleep in. If you do wrap it at night the finger rolls work in the morning just to put the bounce back
Old 06-10-2006, 06:13 PM   #13 (permalink)
luk de reel trubble yah

Credits: 1,069
Originally Posted by Island Girl
I n response to how you sleep with it, you could also finger roll the bottom with a Bobby pin like they do in the Dominican Salons. I find that keeps your hair curly and its comfortable to sleep in. If you do wrap it at night the finger rolls work in the morning just to put the bounce back
yes I've only seen this like once or twice ...
how they do it again?
take your finger and maybe place it half way on the length of you hair ... roll it around your finger and pin it to your head ???

is this correct??
i don't remember correctly

btw thanks ladies for all the previous comments
Old 06-12-2006, 12:37 AM   #14 (permalink)
Castle Dweller

Credits: 349
Originally Posted by MsEnglishHarbour
yes I've only seen this like once or twice ...
how they do it again?
take your finger and maybe place it half way on the length of you hair ... roll it around your finger and pin it to your head ???

is this correct??
i don't remember correctly

btw thanks ladies for all the previous comments
yeah thats how you do it
Old 07-27-2006, 05:17 PM   #15 (permalink)
Southern Belle

Credits: 23,299
I don't know if anybody has already said this, but I did this style for one of my girls at school. I just used a jumbo curling iron, and set her hair in big pin curls. Afterwards, used a paddle brush to coax the curls in the direction I wanted them to go. I told her to pin curl her hair at night using those extra large bobby pins.