Old 04-20-2009, 01:04 PM   #31 (permalink)

Credits: 5,165
Originally Posted by mz_JazE View Post
nope, they're just semi-permanent/rinses...so nothing that will change the structure of your hair like permanent colors.
You sure? Because I find right when I started using the hairline products of Doo Gro, my hair grew and got thicker and healthier looking but my hair became extremely dry and lets not talk about dandruff (well I had the dandruff a lil time before but it only got worse). I blamed it on the Doo Gro because I figured all the ingredients in it to make my hair thicker was also drying it out too....... but after reading this thread and seeing all the comments about keeping your hair moisturized after coloring, it clicked that I did put a Jazzing cherry cola rinse in my hair 2 wks after I first started using Doo Gro.
Old 04-20-2009, 01:22 PM   #32 (permalink)
Southern Belle

Credits: 23,302
Originally Posted by G.T. socalova View Post
You sure? Because I find right when I started using the hairline products of Doo Gro, my hair grew and got thicker and healthier looking but my hair became extremely dry and lets not talk about dandruff (well I had the dandruff a lil time before but it only got worse). I blamed it on the Doo Gro because I figured all the ingredients in it to make my hair thicker was also drying it out too....... but after reading this thread and seeing all the comments about keeping your hair moisturized after coloring, it clicked that I did put a Jazzing cherry cola rinse in my hair 2 wks after I first started using Doo Gro.
rinses just coat your hair, permanent color actually lifts your hair color using ammonium/ peroxide and then deposits the color of choice. Reason why I usually dye my hair once a year, and if I want a different shade I do a rinse. How were you styling your hair?
Old 04-20-2009, 01:31 PM   #33 (permalink)

Credits: 5,165
rinses just coat your hair, permanent color actually lifts your hair color using ammonium/ peroxide and then deposits the color of choice. Reason why I usually dye my hair once a year, and if I want a different shade I do a rinse. How were you styling your hair?
Regular wash and set with rollers, rarely used curling irons and stuff but at the time the weather was warming up so maybe it could of been the humidity.
Old 04-20-2009, 01:39 PM   #34 (permalink)
Southern Belle

Originally Posted by G.T. socalova View Post
Regular wash and set with rollers, rarely used curling irons and stuff but at the time the weather was warming up so maybe it could of been the humidity.
maybe, especially if were retouching with the curling iron (humidity can ruin a perfectly good roller set).
Old 04-20-2009, 09:38 PM   #35 (permalink)
ste madeline posse!

Credits: 9,536
you could always use the aphogee 2-step protein treatment, and they have them at sally's in the one time pack for like $3. I use this Generic Value Products - GVP Hair Reconstructor: Compare to Joico K-Pak as my weekly treatment since I'm transitioning. It's cheaper than the original Joico K-Pak reconstructor, which is over $15 (I end up saving about $10-11). Just make sure to follow up with a good moisturizing conditioner like the hydrating balm (also bought the GVP brand). I did buy the actual Matrix Biolage Hydrating Balm for coarse hair, and it was $18 (yeah never again lol). Now if you want to do it yourself, get some suave humectant conditioner, add a lil' castor oil, and egg you've got a homemade protein conditioner. Have sit for 25 mins with cap under the dryer (or 1hr w/o heat), rinse and follow with a regular rinse out conditioner (or add castor oil let it sit and rinse). Do this like 2x a month, and your hair should be fine within two months. Also did you get a trim?

*I bought this before, and my cosmetologist friend recommends it Aphogee - ApHogee Intensive Two Minute Keratin Reconstructor
thanks!
no I didn't get a trim...I have been thinking about getting one though...should I?
Old 04-20-2009, 09:55 PM   #36 (permalink)
Southern Belle

Originally Posted by southern chic View Post
thanks!
no I didn't get a trim...I have been thinking about getting one though...should I?
no problem , and yes might as well cut off the parts that are damaged.
Old 04-21-2009, 04:58 PM   #37 (permalink)

Credits: 160,107
Red face Here's how it came out thanks for all the suggestions.

Ok so ummmmmm

I used the box but ummmmm it only did like 1/2 my hair and the only other box I had was a hot red.....so I put it in anyway from my crown go back.
I kept it on my hair for 1hr and of that hr 20mins below a dryer.
My hair feels okay... not weak but of course drier than before. I deep conditioned it with a heatcat for an hr with Relaxed and natural conditioner hair mask? At that point I but some big twists in my hair and washed out the conditioner with it in that state. I put some oil and Relaxed and Natural Mosturizing Creme in my hair and let it air dry.
Pics are the result of undoing the bigass twists.

Colour kinda mixup and uneven but I can live with it and in some places in the back my roots or entire strands not completely dyed (you can see the jet black) and thats okay with me jus incase my hair start to fall off at least i won't be completely bald

Allyuh think it come out real bright?
I think it look red , some of my friends saying it brown esp to the front.
home-hair-colouring-tips-img_0018.jpg   home-hair-colouring-tips-img_0020.jpg  

Old 04-21-2009, 07:00 PM   #38 (permalink)
Southern Belle

Ok so ummmmmm

I used the box but ummmmm it only did like 1/2 my hair and the only other box I had was a hot red.....so I put it in anyway from my crown go back.
My hair feels okay... not weak but of course drier than before. I deep conditioned it with a heatcat for an hr with Relaxed and natural conditioner hair mask? At that point I but some big twists in my hair and washed out the conditioner with it in that state. I put some oil and Relaxed and Natural Mosturizing Creme in my hair and let it air dry.

Colour kinda mixup and uneven but I can live with it and in some places in the back my roots or entire strands not completely dyed (you can see the jet black) and thats okay with me jus incase my hair start to fall off at least i won't be completely bald

me likey, and it's perfect for your skin tone tajjy! just make sure that you do at least one protein treatment this month (and about 2 months afterwards) you should be fine.
Old 04-22-2009, 08:08 PM   #39 (permalink)
ste madeline posse!

it looks great Taj! my hair is like that color.
anyone kow where I can get castor oil? I got the humectanat shampoo but I can't find castor oil, I checked cvs but they didn't have any.
Old 04-22-2009, 08:37 PM   #40 (permalink)
Ęmρ®ëśš VăńєŞŞâ

Credits: 23,852
Ok so ummmmmm

It looks hot Taj!
Old 04-22-2009, 08:57 PM   #41 (permalink)
Southern Belle

it looks great Taj! my hair is like that color.
anyone kow where I can get castor oil? I got the humectanat shampoo but I can't find castor oil, I checked cvs but they didn't have any.
walgreens, wal-mart or target should have them

hold up, you bought the shampoo? did you buy the conditioner?
Old 04-23-2009, 01:27 PM   #42 (permalink)

Credits: 160,107
Surprise surprise I went my the asian beauty island by school and they had aphogee products even tho on their site it says only sold at Sallys.
But of course you know skullduggery goin on is a bonus pack 4oz 2step protein treatment 8oz balancing moisturizer for 9.99. I'm sure it was offered free with something else originally and not for resale BUT the price was right and I'll be doing it tonight mz_jaze

Also southern chic I think she may have been recommending the Suave Humectant Conditioner for you to either do a conditioning treatment or try the no-poo (shampoo) method of washing you hair which is just as effective unless you have a lot of dirt. If you have a bed bath and beyond near you I suggest you get it from there cos I was in there the other day and the big bottle was like 1.99 I don't know if thats the regular price but its wayyyyyy cheap and i've heard a lot of girls on the net say they like the conditioner esp for co-washes.

Old 04-23-2009, 08:27 PM   #43 (permalink)
ste madeline posse!

walgreens, wal-mart or target should have them

hold up, you bought the shampoo? did you buy the conditioner?
yeah i bought both.

what's the no poo thing? just conditioning?
Old 04-23-2009, 09:06 PM   #44 (permalink)
Ęmρ®ëśš VăńєŞŞâ

Credits: 23,852
yeah i bought both.

yes....washing ur hair with conditioner only "co-wash"
Old 04-23-2009, 10:10 PM   #45 (permalink)
Southern Belle

Surprise surprise I went my the asian beauty island by school and they had aphogee products even tho on their site it says only sold at Sallys.
But of course you know skullduggery goin on is a bonus pack 4oz 2step protein treatment 8oz balancing moisturizer for 9.99. I'm sure it was offered free with something else originally and not for resale BUT the price was right and I'll be doing it tonight mz_jaze
cool, just making sure my research, and digging my best friend for info doesn't fall on blind eyes (we don't need all of that beautiful hair of your's to fall out)

Also southern chic I think she may have been recommending the Suave Humectant Conditioner for you to either do a conditioning treatment or try the no-poo (shampoo) method of washing you hair which is just as effective unless you have a lot of dirt. If you have a bed bath and beyond near you I suggest you get it from there cos I was in there the other day and the big bottle was like 1.99 I don't know if thats the regular price but its wayyyyyy cheap and i've heard a lot of girls on the net say they like the conditioner esp for co-washes.
oh Tajjy you're good! lol
Originally Posted by Libralove83 View Post
yes....washing ur hair with conditioner only "co-wash"
yeah i bought both.

pretty much what Taj and LL83 said, but here's a vid to help you out
*I love the Paramore in the background, but you can still hear what she's trying to explain.*
YouTube - What the Heck is a Cowash???
You can still use the shampoo though, haven't heard anything bad about it.
Black Hair Media Hair Forum: HAS ANYONE TRIED THE NO SHAMPOO METHOD