Old 03-25-2004, 12:31 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 596
Highlights, Streaks, etc

Is there a difference between the two, highlights and streaks?
And if any has done highlights before, did it break/damage your hair? Can that be prevented by conditioning? I would ask my hairdresser, but she doesnt speak English to well
Old 03-25-2004, 01:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Former IMIX POSTER Child

Credits: 2,701
Re: Highlights, Streaks, etc

Originally posted by Miss SocaBaby
And if any has done highlights before, did it break/damage your hair? Can that be prevented by conditioning? I would ask my hairdresser, but she doesnt speak English to well
I believe there is a difference, if I'm not mistaken, highlights are to lighten your hair in certain places, using a few different colors, whereas streaks, you can make dark or light and are mainly two shades (your natural color and the color you added). I believe there is a difference in the technique used as well.

http://styles101.homestead.com/haircolor5.html
(I was close, I guess, in my definition!!)

http://beauty.about.com/cs/haircoloring/

I guess it all depends on how you maintain your hair once you've colored/bleached it, because coloring is stripping your hair of it's natural...uh ness, yeah naturalness..okay natural nutrients is better You do have to condition it regularly and go to your hairdresser at least once a month, because half the time we doh know what we really doing at home! A hairdresser can assess your hair properly. If your hair is relaxed and then you apply color, you have to be more careful than if your hair is natural...
Old 03-25-2004, 01:36 PM   #3 (permalink)

yes highlights WILL DEFINITELY damage your hair whoever tells you no is lying to you it really don't matter how well or how much you condition your hair, it's going to get damaged
be careful w/ highlights - they are very addictive, once you start you will find it impossible to stop
Old 03-25-2004, 06:18 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 1,098
Originally posted by amprincess

be careful w/ highlights - they are very addictive, once you start you will find it impossible to stop
amen to that...i have ben dying my whole head since last december...and i've done it 3 times already . But my hair is natural, and its still healthy, I think if I had straightened hair, I would have been more cautious, but natural hair is so carefree.
Old 04-07-2004, 01:19 AM   #5 (permalink)
Soca's #1 Fan

Credits: 135
Re: Highlights, Streaks, etc

Originally posted by Miss SocaBaby

I have both. I started out with brown streaks. Then I got auburn highlights. Now my hair color is a mixture of brown, red and orange. It looks very good in the sun. I deep condition my hair every other week though. I have to take care of my hair. I find that since I put the color in my hair, it's growing quicker.
Old 04-07-2004, 05:00 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 596
Re: Re: Highlights, Streaks, etc

Originally posted by TriniMochaTee
I have both. I started out with brown streaks. Then I got auburn highlights. Now my hair color is a mixture of brown, red and orange. It looks very good in the sun. I deep condition my hair every other week though. I have to take care of my hair. I find that since I put the color in my hair, it's growing quicker.

*very excited* @ "grow quicker"...i guess i'll see...absolutely loving the highlights! thanks guys. Sorry AmPrincess, I just had too....
Old 04-08-2004, 02:33 AM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 5,627
Originally posted by Lady Slaughter
amen to that...i have ben dying my whole head since last december...and i've done it 3 times already . But my hair is natural, and its still healthy, I think if I had straightened hair, I would have been more cautious, but natural hair is so carefree.
tek care.. natural hair ent sooo carfree nah... it damages the same way.. tek dat from ME
Old 04-08-2004, 11:59 AM   #8 (permalink)
a.k.a. Buss_Slippers

Credits: 644
A safe alternative is to use weave clips. They are little black clips that you can buy at the beauty supply store. You can sew them on to a strip of colored extension hair and just clip them into your own hair. That's what I do sometimes. Or they have the cheap ready-made ones in some wacky colors like red, blue, blonde, etc.