Old 07-05-2005, 05:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Temptress

Credits: 1,035
Help..dying a dress..

I have a dress that i would like to wear...but it is not the right color and i would like to dye it... can this be done?..and if so..does anyone have any info as to how i could go about doing it?
Old 07-05-2005, 05:14 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 14,235
what color yuh want to dye it?
Old 07-05-2005, 05:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Temptress

Originally Posted by sharkbait
what color yuh want to dye it?

well it has blue in it..so i figured blue.
Old 07-05-2005, 05:23 PM   #4 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Taina
well it has blue in it..so i figured blue.
and what are the other colors? what type of material is this?
Old 07-05-2005, 05:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Tall Legg

Credits: 173
It is very easy, buy your desired color. get a big pot add dye to put with some salt and put clothing in pit to boil when done let stand until water is cold then rinse in cold water and wallaaaaaa
Old 07-05-2005, 05:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
Temptress

and what are the other colors? what type of material is this?

if i'm not mistaken the dress is cotton...and the actual dress is a very light blue..with flowers in a range of blues. the darkest blue is indigo...i would like to dye the dress indigo blue..i don't like floral stuff.
Old 07-05-2005, 05:30 PM   #7 (permalink)
Temptress

Originally Posted by cocoyeababy
It is very easy, buy your desired color. get a big pot add dye to put with some salt and put clothing in pit to boil when done let stand until water is cold then rinse in cold water and wallaaaaaa

really? is that easy??????

where can i buy the dye? and is there a certain brand i should use??
Old 07-05-2005, 05:30 PM   #8 (permalink)

if i'm not mistaken the dress is cotton...and the actual dress is a very light blue..with flowers in a range of blues. the darkest blue is indigo...i would like to dye the dress indigo blue..i don't like floral stuff.
well yuh could try and see how it come out, i tend to only dye things that i sure will take de color....but yuh could only learn form mistakes

dye it.
Old 07-05-2005, 05:31 PM   #9 (permalink)

really? is that easy??????

where can i buy the dye? and is there a certain brand i should use??
wiki tiki
Old 07-05-2005, 05:32 PM   #10 (permalink)
Temptress

well yuh could try and see how it come out, i tend to only dye things that i sure will take de color....but yuh could only learn form mistakes

dye it.

yeah i guess that would be a good trial and error
Old 07-05-2005, 05:32 PM   #11 (permalink)
Temptress

wiki tiki

Old 07-05-2005, 05:34 PM   #12 (permalink)

watch yuh laffin and yuh eh know de joke

wiki-tiki was de brand name in trinidad dat we used to use to dye anyting....from tye-dye to dying we shoes. dat ting used to come in one setta colors and we used to buy it by k chang general store
Old 07-05-2005, 05:35 PM   #13 (permalink)
Temptress

wiki-tiki was de brand name in trinidad dat we used to use to dye anyting....from tye-dye to dying we shoes. dat ting used to come in one setta colors and we used to buy it by k chang general store

oh gosh
Old 07-05-2005, 05:41 PM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 6,727

For DC carnival we wanted to dye our school shirts in rascalz. My friend from NY pull out a whole bag ah wiki tiki yes. I almost died. Still ent know where she find that.
Old 07-05-2005, 05:44 PM   #15 (permalink)

Credits: 6,727
I have a dress that i would like to wear...but it is not the right color and i would like to dye it... can this be done?..and if so..does anyone have any info as to how i could go about doing it?
Try dyeing a small swatch (as they say in Jimmy Aboud) first to see if the material will take the color. You can take down a part of the hem, cut off a little piece then hem it back.