Old 02-28-2007, 06:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Sanity Challenged

Credits: 3,636
head wraps

Someone suggested I go to a fabric store to buy cloth for head wraps. MY question is what would be the appropriate measurements for the cloth?
Old 02-28-2007, 08:15 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 1,119
just replying ... i found that i like long ret. shaped cloth and i like stretchy material. i usually go 6-10 inches wide and 2-3 times the lenght my arm. from the sholder to fingers so maybe like 3-4 yards in lenght? mind you its not an exact! i like lots of lenght so i can do pretty buns and thing. hope this helps. P.s i have a large head and lots of Loc's so i like more cloth so if i wanna cover it all (almost like a Hijab) I can
Old 03-01-2007, 08:54 AM   #3 (permalink)
The Divine GIOVANNA

Credits: 206
Originally Posted by AXA_Princess View Post
Someone suggested I go to a fabric store to buy cloth for head wraps. MY question is what would be the appropriate measurements for the cloth?
I used to wear head wraps some time ago.

Depends how big or small your head is. If you have a big head then you will probably need a whole bed sheet
Old 03-02-2007, 11:48 AM   #4 (permalink)
Southern Belle

Credits: 23,305
well since I'm wearing a head wrap right now, I would suggest either going to H & M like I did (bought a pashima 'sp'), or go to the fabric store to get 1/2 yd of fabric (if it's too big you can always lay it flat to trim so of it off).
Old 03-03-2007, 10:59 AM   #5 (permalink)
Sanity Challenged

Credits: 3,636
I don't have locs so I don't need tha much fabric. I think I'll go to 1/2 yard to a yard of fabric at the store. I don't live anywhere close to an H&M. I gotta use cloth shops.

Thanx for all the responses
Old 03-03-2007, 11:49 AM   #6 (permalink)
smoke di herb

Credits: 3,253
I don't have locs so I don't need tha much fabric. I think I'll go to 1/2 yard to a yard of fabric at the store. I don't live anywhere close to an H&M. I gotta use cloth shops.

exactly ah 1/2 tuh 1 yard is all yuh need ah saw someone said 3 tuh 4 i was like wtf is dem mad lol
my friend got dreads and she goes to the fabric store sometime they sell the fabrics for $1/yard,gets all the colors to go with what ever outfit she wears and ah yard is all yuh need and it may be too much just trim it.....
Old 03-03-2007, 12:38 PM   #7 (permalink)
Southern Belle

Credits: 23,305

Oh yeah I don't know about everyone who does it, but when I put my headwrap on I try to protect my hair some way. Like I end up flat-twisting my hair underneath just so it wouldn't snag, but you can also using a stocking cap as well. Benefit of braiding your hair underneath, once you get tired of wearing the wraps you get to wear a braid/twist-out.
Old 03-03-2007, 04:21 PM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 1,119
Originally Posted by Hot_Gal973 View Post
exactly ah 1/2 tuh 1 yard is all yuh need ah saw someone said 3 tuh 4 i was like wtf is dem mad lol my friend got dreads and she goes to the fabric store sometime they sell the fabrics for $1/yard,gets all the colors to go with what ever outfit she wears and ah yard is all yuh need and it may be too much just trim it.....
ahhh no. far from mad i did note i like a lotta fabric to do bigger buns/wraps. plus i have a big head and lots of hair. and to start with as much as the legenth of your arm that should give a good workable length. but hey its all about preference there is no real right or wrong on this
head-wraps-3.gif  

Last edited by DeSocaPrincess; 03-03-2007 at 04:25 PM..